We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not really a 4 Star Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is not really a 4 Star Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Room not as described on late rooms as we were expecting our own patio, description crossed over with Orangery and Coach House. When I mentioned this at Reception was told Receptionist had spoken to Management lots of times about complaints like this. Had to lay on the floor to plug in room kettle as lead was not long enough to plug into socket! Blind in Bathroom was broken and we did not have expected views, in fact we had none. The room is overlooked by other Coach House rooms so you need to have curtains shut, even when going to the loo!! Paper that I ordered for the morning was not delivered. This was the Executive Room, No. 52 in the Coach House and we paid £125 for one night. The pluses were lovely breakfast, although the member of staff who signed us in for breakfast snapped at me when I asked if we could have breakfast outside (was really a really beautiful morning and warm) that "We dont serve breakfast outside". The views from the grounds are outstanding. The bed was extremely comfortable and our Receptionist on arrival could not have been more helpful.

Would we recommend or stay again, probably not which is a shame as we were really excited to be staying in this part of the Country.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask whether you are in the Orangery, with private patio or Coach House which does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceebs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    456
    225
    101
    59
See reviews for
178
845
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast package for one night including a glass of sparkling wine on arrival booked through Great little breaks.
Very good value. The hotel is a lovely old building and our room was in a more modern extension as we're most of the other rooms. The room itself was very large with a nice modern bathroom. It had a large very comfortable bed and I cannot criticise it for size and fitting. It was one of the hottest days and nights of the year and there was no air conditioning. Even though we we on a corner and had double aspect windows to open we found it oppressively hot. There was no fan provided which we had the previous night in a hotel near Stratford. The lack of air conditioning or at least a fan was a problem to me. The corridor outside the room was like a sauna and the gent toilet in the common area was like a sauna only hotter. I know it is an old building but cannot understand the lack of air con in the more modern areas.
Ignoring the lack of air con we had a lovely break. Fantastic setting on the side of a hill. The outside area of the hotel were very well furnished.
The evening meal was a delight. Excellent quality, very tasty with attentive service all held in a lovely dining room. Breakfast the following morning was also very, very good.
All in all we had a great experience at the hotel and would stay thee again. Would be even better at a less hot time of year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyt2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed for two nights with the Great Escapes package - one table d'hote dinner and one cream tea included. Excellent location, very comfortable executive room and good food. Will certainly return in the future and will recommend to others.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are in the old stable block - very good size and away from the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights with Dinner, Bed and Breakfast.
The hotel is simply lovely and is set in gorgeous grounds with terrific countryside views.
We stayed in Orangerie rooms which are large, attractively decorated,very comfortable and away from the main building, making them both quiet and private. The bathrooms are also large and well set out.
The staff are excellent - professional, friendly and helpful,with nothing too much trouble for them.
The food in the restaurant was really very,very good and imaginative - especially at dinner.The restaurant itself is beautifully laid out with a choice of two rooms. Staff in the restaurant were also very helpful and attentive.
The small Spa is modern and nicely laid out, although we didn't get chance to use it on this occasion.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and have already booked a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackell
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Went to Wyck Hill house for my Mothers 70th Birthday, were not told that the chav wedding from hell was taking place, paid full price for 4 rooms, took 2 hours to get a drink, could not sit in the bar due to the Chav Wedding overtook everywhere, Deputy Manager on duty (spoke little english) showed no customer service skills or concern. Was boiling hot, but the radiators were at full blast, my husband tried to turn them down but they were locked on, staff did not care, made to wait for everything, but the wedding based in Balckburn (who will never return) took first place, If you do decide to go here, make sure they have fixed their heating problems and that there is no wedding going on, as mark my words you will be ignored!!!!!!

Room Tip: in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank toastie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights a couple of months ago, and we cannot praise this hotel enough. Our room was upgraded on arrival to a wonderful large characterful, almost a suite size room, with wonderful views. The breakfasts and dinners we looked forward to were perfect with little added taster courses from the Chef. Although there was not any refreshments in the room, we were able to order pots of tea etc at any time (24 hrs!) and at no extra cost, and far better than a kettle and sachets. Also included was a cream tea; not tiny finger sandwiches and bite size cake pieces, but a full 3 tier tray. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful too, so we really were made to feel so welcome. We have stayed at many hotels and guest houses in England etc, and both of us thought this was the most enjoyable. I was just about to find another hotel in the same chain but felt I should write a review on Wyck Hill House Hotel (I don't normally). We did not use the fitness centre due to a busy trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Wyck Hill House and we weren't disappointed. Rooms are spacious and big still have cost feel. Breakfast and Dinner are a real highlight- and would definitely recommend. Receptionists are helpful and friendly. Would definitely think about coming back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UkMo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing