We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

very nice hotel in lovely grounds. Staff very helpful and friendly. Food very good. Room in basement. . no view but otherwise lovely, Hot power shower and spacious bathroom , bedroom also roomy, Had twin beds but had a double duvet folded in half on my single bed!! not seen that before, heavy and hot so it spent most of the night on the floor. I would recommend this hotel but be sure not to be put in basement room.

Room Tip: do not get a room on -1 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    485
    246
    103
    59
See reviews for
188
893
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We rang in the morning for a room that night & got a £20 discount.
The gentleman on reception was very welcoming & our initial reaction to the hotel was lovely & not over pretentious. Our room was in the attic space with velux windows giving us a lovely view. The room was clean & spacious. I would have given it 5 stars but the plug for the kettle meant I had to boil it on the floor & the shower over the bath was weak & kept changing temperature. Also the room didn't have air con or a fan & it was quite hot but being high up & opening the velux gave us a fab breeze. The beds were very comfortable.
The best bit about this hotel was the food our evening meal was superb & good value & our breakfast in the conservatory was equally as delicious.
This is a lovely country hotel which is not at all stuffy & we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz33London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed one night and the dinner was fantastic, the hotel had lovely grounds and the views were idyllic, with bunny rabbits hopping throughout the lawn. our room was separated from the main building in the newest wing. Was slightly disappointed that although looked like other rooms had extended patio, ours was a simple basic room. As the weather had been so hot i luckily brought our own fan as no central air which made the rooms quite stuffy and hot. In all, the room itself was generally clean and sufficient though. Breakfast was included, even the hot breakfast which was very nicely done. there was my slight issue with seeing a dead fly on the table we were presented with, but we removed it ourselves. This was a good hotel to travel to other areas in the Cotswolds and staff were friendly. Not necessarily 4 star, but a nice choice nonetheless.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csswaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Room not as described on late rooms as we were expecting our own patio, description crossed over with Orangery and Coach House. When I mentioned this at Reception was told Receptionist had spoken to Management lots of times about complaints like this. Had to lay on the floor to plug in room kettle as lead was not long enough to plug into socket! Blind in Bathroom was broken and we did not have expected views, in fact we had none. The room is overlooked by other Coach House rooms so you need to have curtains shut, even when going to the loo!! Paper that I ordered for the morning was not delivered. This was the Executive Room, No. 52 in the Coach House and we paid £125 for one night. The pluses were lovely breakfast, although the member of staff who signed us in for breakfast snapped at me when I asked if we could have breakfast outside (was really a really beautiful morning and warm) that "We dont serve breakfast outside". The views from the grounds are outstanding. The bed was extremely comfortable and our Receptionist on arrival could not have been more helpful.

Would we recommend or stay again, probably not which is a shame as we were really excited to be staying in this part of the Country.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask whether you are in the Orangery, with private patio or Coach House which does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceebs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast package for one night including a glass of sparkling wine on arrival booked through Great little breaks.
Very good value. The hotel is a lovely old building and our room was in a more modern extension as we're most of the other rooms. The room itself was very large with a nice modern bathroom. It had a large very comfortable bed and I cannot criticise it for size and fitting. It was one of the hottest days and nights of the year and there was no air conditioning. Even though we we on a corner and had double aspect windows to open we found it oppressively hot. There was no fan provided which we had the previous night in a hotel near Stratford. The lack of air conditioning or at least a fan was a problem to me. The corridor outside the room was like a sauna and the gent toilet in the common area was like a sauna only hotter. I know it is an old building but cannot understand the lack of air con in the more modern areas.
Ignoring the lack of air con we had a lovely break. Fantastic setting on the side of a hill. The outside area of the hotel were very well furnished.
The evening meal was a delight. Excellent quality, very tasty with attentive service all held in a lovely dining room. Breakfast the following morning was also very, very good.
All in all we had a great experience at the hotel and would stay thee again. Would be even better at a less hot time of year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andyt2120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed for two nights with the Great Escapes package - one table d'hote dinner and one cream tea included. Excellent location, very comfortable executive room and good food. Will certainly return in the future and will recommend to others.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are in the old stable block - very good size and away from the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights with Dinner, Bed and Breakfast.
The hotel is simply lovely and is set in gorgeous grounds with terrific countryside views.
We stayed in Orangerie rooms which are large, attractively decorated,very comfortable and away from the main building, making them both quiet and private. The bathrooms are also large and well set out.
The staff are excellent - professional, friendly and helpful,with nothing too much trouble for them.
The food in the restaurant was really very,very good and imaginative - especially at dinner.The restaurant itself is beautifully laid out with a choice of two rooms. Staff in the restaurant were also very helpful and attentive.
The small Spa is modern and nicely laid out, although we didn't get chance to use it on this occasion.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and have already booked a return visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,216 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
229 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
963 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
333 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing