We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay if a little damp!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely stay if a little damp!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for our anniversary using a Travelzoo voucher that included our evening meal, a night’s stay and breakfast. We arrived about 5pm the day before the ‘great storm’ hit, it was pretty dark so couldn’t really see much of the grounds till the next day. Our room was of a good size and clean, although it was a little tired looking and didn’t have any pictures on the wall which I thought was odd! Also it was extremely warm despite the heating being off, when we opened the windows we realised why and it was because we were above the kitchens! The bar and restaurant area are very nice and the food we had was beautifully cooked and the service very quick, we really enjoyed our evening meal and a good breakfast the next day. Unfortunately due to the nasty weather the ceiling in our room started to leak in the early hours of the morning and so we had to do a moonlight flit in to another room which actually turned out to be much nicer than the room we were in originally!
Very enjoyable stay we would definitely so back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    469
    234
    102
    59
See reviews for
183
862
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We visited this hotel for our anniversary on the Escape Spa Break and were not disappointed. The hotel was beautiful and in lovely surroundings. The spa treatments were excellent and very relaxing. Dinner was fantastic. All in all a wonderful weekend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had this break given to us through Travelzoo as a 30th wedding anniversary gift, and we were expecting a very special break. How wrong could we be? It started when we tried to book the date. Every date requested we were told was fully booked, ending up with a Sunday night stay just before the expiry date of the offer. Date booked, I had to phone the hotel three times to request a confirmation email from the hotel. Being told on one occasion that there was no one to take reservation after 17.00, that’s strange, as on the two previous occasions that I had called were both after 19.00!
Going on to our arrival, we, along with several others were told that our room would not be ready until after 14.00. Fine, but isn’t it strange how all of the rooms became ready at the same time, 14.10! The receptionist found us sitting in the library and handed us our key, then went off to find others to hand them their keys. However there were no directions from reception as to where the rooms were. So we had to hang around the reception area again to wait for her to return to find out where our room could be found. This time we were pointed in the direction and were promised that the lift would be found down a long corridor, and that our room was on the first floor! There was no offer of help with our luggage either.
Our room was spacious and warm, however the lighting was very poor especially with one of the bulbs in the bedside lamp being out, even when it had been replaced the light was very bad, the only place to be able to see anything clearly was in the bathroom. And this was not very pleasant experience. Damp marks, peeling paint, cracked tiles, and a toilet handle that threatened to come off in your hand any time soon. The towels were large soft and cosy, however there were no flannels. The shower was exceptionally powerful! So much so the bathroom floor became soaked each time someone showered. The glass shower screen was extremely inadequate. To top it all off, when we closed the curtains half of the curtain hooks were not attached to the rings on the tracking.
My suggestion to the management would be to do some maintenance on both the bathrooms and the room’s decor as both seemed to be in need of attention.
Due to the forthcoming extreme weather conditions expected that evening we wanted to check things out on the TV news. The TV would not work and having no instructions manual in the room and the TV requesting we press the OK button and the hand set not having an ‘OK’ button we had to request assistance from the management. This came promptly and after trying different procedures this was corrected, reprogramming it, but as the hotel only had freeview and the weather being so windy the reception was so bad the TV was unwatchable.
We found out later that each room should have a guests guide with all the information about the hotel. This was not available in our room.
I really feel that the housekeeping of this property could do with new management.
In the package we had bed breakfast and evening meal with a glass of proseco included. The set menu was quite limited and we felt we were the poor relation alongside other guests. Also the continental breakfast was pretty lacking, empty platters and fresh fruit dish were not refilled as they might have been, and people arriving as we left at 09.30 had a very limited choice. Not good!
All in all I would not consider this hotel to be anywhere near 4 star status. And we will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2holidaySuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Friendly receptionist but no help offered with luggage.

Complimentary glass of wine on arrival not offered or mentioned.

Large en-suite bedroom but certainly not 4 star cleansiness, toilet does not look like its seen any cleaner or bleach in months.

Plastic drink beakers (definitely not 4 star).

No flannels - also stained bed covers (definitely not 4 star).

Stair and corridor carpets in poor condition also unpleasant smell at times in ground floor corridors. (definitely not 4 star)

Poor welcome in breakfast room with no explanation on procedure.

ON THE PLUS SIDE
The restaurant was the cleanest and brightest area of the hotel and the food was excellent.
One of the best beds we have slept in.
Lovely quiet area with beautiful views.

Unfortunately we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with 2 other couples using Travelzoo vouchers. The views from the hotel are lovely and it is in a great place for exploring the Cotswolds. We did one walk from the hotel to Bourdon on the Water. Room was large, but the bathroom did show signs of wear. Evening meal was excellent, and the chefs soup taster was a nice touch. The voucher did include a free drink, but we had to ask for this this on our second night. Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice. One of our lights wasn't working and we asked reception to have a look at this in the morning, but we did have to remind them again about this in the evening, as it hadn't been mended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night using a Travelzoo voucher. Overnight stay included 3 course dinner, breakfast and glass of sparkly wine on arrival.

Lovely location, really in the countryside. Not sure how accessible it would be if you don't have a car!

Room was nice,clean and big lounge area and bedroom area. Bathroom with bath and shower was clean and had the normal bits such as shampoo and shower gel.

Dinner was tasty and menu is clear about what you're entitled to. Staff are a bit mumbly- couldn't really understand their accent at times. Cheapest wine is £22 a bottle so hasten to say we didn't drink much.

Bar is a small room and the barman floats in and out which us quite frustrating when you want a top up.

Reception staff were accommodating and friendly.

Overall this was a pleasant stay but I'd probably choose to stay somewhere cheaper (accommodation and drink wise) and closer to a town with sights.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karcher87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Arrived at Hotel and booked in. The staff pointed out the way to our room in The Orangery, no offer of help with luggage. the room looked Ok at first but was showing signs of general wear and tear, broken pane of glass, shower cubicle grubby. My main negative comment is the temperature in the room, despite all radiators being turned off the heat was very uncomfortable. We didn't want to sleep with the windows open due to traffic noise and also the Gypsy Fair being held nearby (security on gate did reassure us a bit). There was no central light in the room which made it quite dark, and also no socket by the mirror for drying hair. To use the kettle you have to use the socket near to floor...a bit dangerous when having to lift up full of boiling water.
However the evening meal in the restaurant was fantastic, service was great and the small taster of the chefs Mushroom soup was a great idea.
Breakfast was also to a high standard with plenty of choice to suit every taste.

Room Tip: We were in Room 48 in the orangery. Does have outside patio area if staying in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whirlwind32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing