We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Having accepted an Amazon offer for a 2 night stay, we decided to take advantage of it during the weekend between Christmas and New Year. The offer was for a double room, but there was only a Coach House room available at a £20 supplement per night.

Our room was large and warm, with a very comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary biscuits each day. The ensuite was warm and functional.

The "easy" chairs were not easy at all, and if we had decided to stay in and watch a bit of TV, then I don't think it would have been a very comfortable experience. The lighting was extremely poor which made reading difficult. The curtans were badly hung, and one was ripped all down the edge. The stable door from the courtyard kept sticking on use, which was probably as a result of the recent inclement weather. The tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked and it appeared that someone had done a "bodge-up" job on tiling round the outside of the bath.

It is evident, therefore, that some general maintenance, upgrading and TLC is required.

We decided to have a meal in the restaurant the first night. Whilst the food was delicious (and very expensive), the portions were very inadequate and we left the restaurant having had a 3 course meal, feeling far from replete. Not that we are big eaters by any means!

At breakfact on our first morning, we made our choices from the cooked menu. When it arrived, the grilled tomato was cold (not even a hint of warmth), the back bacon was cooked in such a fashion that the "tail" end was tucked under the meaty end, rendering that part of it uncooked and the poached egg had a slightly uncooked white in the middle. It was just about edible. The toast which had been brought out at the beginning of the breakfast, was piled up on a plate, so that it was damp and inedible by the time we were ready to eat it, so was sent back to be replaced with fresh. Toast should be served in a rack, standing upright to allow the steam to escape! Needless to say, we skipped the cooked breakfast the following morning.

This review may seem very critical, however, hopefully some notice will be taken of it by the management in order to improve matters. On a positive note, the staff were generally polite and helpful.

Therefore, it was disappointing - a beautiful Cotswold building with fabulous surroundings in one of the most sought after areas in the UK - let down by fundamental issues as mentioned above.

We certainly do not consider it worth the full price and will not be booking another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,501 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in the main house. You can imagine that it may not have changed too much in a 100 years, and I mean that in a positive way. Free wifi and modern TV included of course.Our rooms were large and beautifully appointed. A reception room, bedroom and bathroom. Antique WC, 2 basins, bidet, shower/ bath. Restaurant dinner was excellent with plenty, but not too much choice. Our friends had some treatments in the spa and had a very relaxing time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank James1Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I booked this as a pre Christmas get away with his parents. We arrived independently, which was just as well as there had been a little mix up with the rooms.... we'd booked and paid for (and telephoned to reconfirm) two feature rooms but were given the keys to a nice, albeit modern, attic room in the modern wing attached to the main house. The staff on reception were hugely apologetic and we spent the next 15 minutes or so looking for alternative suitable rooms and (lucky us) ended up in a beautiful master suite!
Both rooms were clean and well stocked, althought bizarelly no information was provided on the history of the room and the in-laws had no 'room guide' whatsoever.
On to the food, we ate in the hotel on both evernings and the food was very good, but a bit of a limited selection..... any more than 2 nights would have been a struggle!
Breakfast was spot on, excellent quality cooked food, with plenty of selection on the continental buffet as well.
All in all a great little hotel in a lovely location - highly recommend Burford as a wonderful little place with lots of great shops and a mile or two further out the biggest garden centre I have ever seen!
A great start to the Christmas season, albeit a little bit pricy

Room Tip: Splash out on a feature room or suite - I think we had room 24 or 25 which overlooked the conservato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monmouthbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Booked one night break at short notice on special offer. The girl at reception was cheerful and helpful and pointed out the restaurant, bar and cosy library, she showed us to our room in the coach house, a short walk from the main house. The room overlooked a small courtyard and had a lobby, large room with a separate dressing room and well appointed bathroom. The room was very quit and comfortable.We did not eat dinner but had a very good breakfast the next morning in the beautiful restaurant.Spent the evening around the log fire in the cosy bar.we would recommend this hotel for a special night away.

Room Tip: 55 great if you don't mind being outside the main house in the coach house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morse2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and we were impressed throughout our stay. The receptionist Emily was lovely and even upgraded our room which was fabulous. (Room 31) There was a huge bedroom with a separate lounge area and the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath.
The Spa treatments were very good although a pool would have enhanced the spa facilities. .
Dinner was excellent and the quality and service was faultless. At the end of the meal we were presented with chocolates as a congratulations on our anniversary, a very nice touch.
The night manager who was manning the bar was very friendly and provided an excellent service, giving us a history of the hotel and he also had a vast knowledge on cigars!
Our stay was perfect and we can't thank the staff enough, we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Room 31 was in the main house was beautiful. We were upgraded to this room but if we stayed again we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner got married here at wyck hill on 23rd November all I can say is it was excellent!!! The staff were so helpfull especially the manager john, all day he was there if I needed anything or incase anything went wrong, it was just perfect! Every single one of the staff deserve a pat on the back! The food was AMAZING! Every single one of my guests commented on how good the food was, I just wish I could get married again to spend another lovely day at wyck hill!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank chefo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for birthday celebration ...difficult time of the year to book but we visited Wyck Hill before 3 years ago so thought we would give it a try. Lovely, clean big room with big bed in the old manor house. Dinner was exceptional but you need to make sure you have booked in advance as the restaurant gets booked up quickly. Beautiful peaceful location and had a fantastic view from our bedroom. We will be going back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank polly51solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,103 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
307 reviews
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,333 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
14.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Address: Burford Road | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £73 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing