We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband booked a lovely night way at Wyck Hill House for my birthday. We had a lovely time we had a room in the main house which was very nice my only complaints were the room was very dark - not enough lighting, and also it was very hot, difficult to adjust heating and windows did not open also I had to block the light coming under the door with cushions ( I like a very dark room to sleep). We did not have any coffee or tea in our room but a phone call to reception and afternoon tea was quickly brought up. I had a beautiful bouquet of flowers in the room from my husband arranged by the hotel. I also had a lovely spa treatment but glad I had booked a week before as they seemed very busy.

The food was fabulous, we had the Table d'Hote menu which was excellent we sat in the conservatory, the service was very good. The breakfast was lovely lots of fresh fruit, lovely coffee and freshly cooked breakfast.

It was fortunate we checked our bill on departure as they had tried to charge us for dinner when it was inclusive of the nightly rate we had booked but they did quickly correct this.

A great birthday treat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

743 - 749 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely overnight stay at Wyck Hill using a Travelzoo voucher. The hotel was set in beautiful grounds not far from the picturesque Cotswold villages of Stow-on-the-Wold and Bourton-on-the-Water. We stayed in room 10, a garden room which was very spacious and recently refurbished.
We both had a spa treatment included with our deal & use of the steam room, sauna & relaxation room with loungers and magazines. We were also provided with robes and slippers whilst in the spa.
We had a 2 course dinner at the restaurant - the food was delicious, definitely recommend eating here! I cannot fault the service either, the staff were very attentive.
The only negatives of the trip were: wifi did not seem to work in our room, the beer was flat from the bar and the rooms were very warm - I couldn't find any air con/thermostat in the room.
Overall we had a great experience at Wyck Hill and would definitely recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stephm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Really good staff, beautiful buildings, excellent food and a superb setting make this a really good place to stay.

We were not really sure what to expect of Wyck Hill, as some of the country houses we have been to in the past have been a little hit and miss. Not so Wyck Hill. The staff were professional and welcoming and the hall has maintained much of its former glory when it was a private residence.

The food was excellent, the breakfast was very special.

This location is great as it is very close to the lovely town of Stow on the Wold and a short drive from Oxford. There are many nice walks around this area and the whole area has a very old-world feel.

I would recommend Wyck for all the reasons above and would like to congratulate the staff on the effort that they clearly put in to making it all work.

We would love to come back here in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orangery and the rooms were modern and well furnished. The very short walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richnkirst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Having stayed here 3 times now, I can say that this is a wonderful hotel.
The hotel is beautiful and in a picturesque part of the Cotswolds. The hotel has a spa although I have not experienced this extra, but no pool.
The service has always been fantastic and the food of good quality, with a great selection at breakfast and room service available.
On 2 occasions we have stayed in a room in the newer part of the hotel which were very spacious and well lit. The time we stayed in the main house the room was smaller and quite dark at times which made make up application difficult, but it had character. All had lovely large beds and had well kept decor.
Additional perks include the complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graceizbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Having accepted an Amazon offer for a 2 night stay, we decided to take advantage of it during the weekend between Christmas and New Year. The offer was for a double room, but there was only a Coach House room available at a £20 supplement per night.

Our room was large and warm, with a very comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary biscuits each day. The ensuite was warm and functional.

The "easy" chairs were not easy at all, and if we had decided to stay in and watch a bit of TV, then I don't think it would have been a very comfortable experience. The lighting was extremely poor which made reading difficult. The curtans were badly hung, and one was ripped all down the edge. The stable door from the courtyard kept sticking on use, which was probably as a result of the recent inclement weather. The tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked and it appeared that someone had done a "bodge-up" job on tiling round the outside of the bath.

It is evident, therefore, that some general maintenance, upgrading and TLC is required.

We decided to have a meal in the restaurant the first night. Whilst the food was delicious (and very expensive), the portions were very inadequate and we left the restaurant having had a 3 course meal, feeling far from replete. Not that we are big eaters by any means!

At breakfact on our first morning, we made our choices from the cooked menu. When it arrived, the grilled tomato was cold (not even a hint of warmth), the back bacon was cooked in such a fashion that the "tail" end was tucked under the meaty end, rendering that part of it uncooked and the poached egg had a slightly uncooked white in the middle. It was just about edible. The toast which had been brought out at the beginning of the breakfast, was piled up on a plate, so that it was damp and inedible by the time we were ready to eat it, so was sent back to be replaced with fresh. Toast should be served in a rack, standing upright to allow the steam to escape! Needless to say, we skipped the cooked breakfast the following morning.

This review may seem very critical, however, hopefully some notice will be taken of it by the management in order to improve matters. On a positive note, the staff were generally polite and helpful.

Therefore, it was disappointing - a beautiful Cotswold building with fabulous surroundings in one of the most sought after areas in the UK - let down by fundamental issues as mentioned above.

We certainly do not consider it worth the full price and will not be booking another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in the main house. You can imagine that it may not have changed too much in a 100 years, and I mean that in a positive way. Free wifi and modern TV included of course.Our rooms were large and beautifully appointed. A reception room, bedroom and bathroom. Antique WC, 2 basins, bidet, shower/ bath. Restaurant dinner was excellent with plenty, but not too much choice. Our friends had some treatments in the spa and had a very relaxing time.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank James1Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My husband and I booked this as a pre Christmas get away with his parents. We arrived independently, which was just as well as there had been a little mix up with the rooms.... we'd booked and paid for (and telephoned to reconfirm) two feature rooms but were given the keys to a nice, albeit modern, attic room in the modern wing attached to the main house. The staff on reception were hugely apologetic and we spent the next 15 minutes or so looking for alternative suitable rooms and (lucky us) ended up in a beautiful master suite!
Both rooms were clean and well stocked, althought bizarelly no information was provided on the history of the room and the in-laws had no 'room guide' whatsoever.
On to the food, we ate in the hotel on both evernings and the food was very good, but a bit of a limited selection..... any more than 2 nights would have been a struggle!
Breakfast was spot on, excellent quality cooked food, with plenty of selection on the continental buffet as well.
All in all a great little hotel in a lovely location - highly recommend Burford as a wonderful little place with lots of great shops and a mile or two further out the biggest garden centre I have ever seen!
A great start to the Christmas season, albeit a little bit pricy

Room Tip: Splash out on a feature room or suite - I think we had room 24 or 25 which overlooked the conservato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monmouthbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
263 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
975 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £93 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing