We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed one night for a birthday treat.
Room 24 in the old building is lovely. Large room with sitting area and full equipped bathroom with spa bath.Bed was one of the most comfortable beds that i have slept in in any hotel. Crisp white cotton sheets and duvet with fluffy pillows. DVD player was a bonus!
Food was excellent and the cheese crème brulee starter was just mouthwatering.
breakfast served on time in room was hot and toast crispy.Coffee with hot milk and fresh orange juice.
I cannot wax lyrical enough about our stay but i want to add that as much as we obviously enjoyed our stay the staff were a credit to the owners. Nothing was too much and everything done with a smile. Well done, we will be back....

Room Tip: Room 54 just lovely with old world charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    462
    230
    102
    59
See reviews for
182
852
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Booked as part of a Travel Zoo Voucher for two nights. The package consisted of two nights bed and breakfast, one evening meal and a spa treatment for two. Had been upgraded for £20 extra per night to the rooms in the 'old stables' in a courtyard area a short distance from the main building. Were given Room 55 and found that it was an excellent size with a well proportioned bathroom, dressing room and hallway entrance. The bed was comfortable and tea and coffee making facilities were available. The room had charm and character, the only negative been a slightly worn carpet and unavailable satellite signal on the TV.
Set two course menu in the restaurant was very tasty and the portions sufficient. We both enjoyed the ham hock starter and the pork belly main. Dessert was extra as was the excellent South African Red Wine, although a touch pricey at £26.
The hotel surroundings were impressive with high ceilings and prominent features that took you back to the elegant past the building probably enjoyed.
There was a power cut / fuse shortage in our room on the second night that resulted in us also occupying the room next door (54). This was another unique room with an open fire place, spa bath and four poster bed. The Night Manager John Griffiths dealt with this minor issue superbly and went over and above what was expected by both of us. We were both grateful for his assistance and positive 'can do' attitude. He was a credit to the hotel.
The spa treatment was very good and surroundings pleasant and calming. The staff were accommodating when amending our treatments to back massages. Although a little bit more explanation by the staff as to the facilities available would have been helpful.
All in all an enjoyable break in an historic building ideally located between Stow on the Wold and Bourton on the Water. Reasonable value for a voucher booking, although it would be interesting to see how much would be charged for a normal booking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philjo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We booked a new years eve package which was 3 nights half board and a 5 course meal and a disco on new years eve.

The room was massive with a super king size bed. The heating was on permently so the whole hotel was like a sauna and no way of turning down the radiators. The ensuite was a good size but the brass was stained blue and needed desperately cleaning. The trouser press was broken and reported it to the reception whom did nothing but sent an iron and ironing board which was requested.

All the staff are desparate for training and try there best.

New years eve party the food was overcooked and the heating was on max causing everyone to sweat buckets. the disco was third rate did not know how to mix the music and cut many songs short. At midnight nothing happened.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinandmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is truly beautiful and is in a fabulous location. The food is good, however we found the staff to be unhelpful and unfriendly. As a younger couple we did not feel that we were treated with respect, my partner misplaced the key for our room which he felt terrible about, and we were made to feel terrible. Having been told that they were helping us to find the key, this was not true as I found it myself on the patio table. We were told that we would be charged a high price for a replacement key. We did not feel welcomed during our stay, I would not visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202Claire31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We had planned a short break with our friends from 21-24 January 2014.

The hotel rooms are outstanding, large and very comfortable.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The food and breakfast and dinner in the evening was outstanding. My husband who
is diabetic was also catered for when it came to a dessert. The chef made something
for him each evening.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and am sure that we will return in the
future.

Our only tiny complaint was the room and bathroom were very warm and we had
to turn the radiator off in the room and open the window to get some fresh air.

Well done everyone involved with the Wyck Hill House Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main hotel. We were on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I'm reluctant to write a critical review of Wyck Hill House because my Wife and I really enjoyed our two night break booked through offpeakluxury.com.It was fantastic value at £270 for two nights dinner,bed and breakfast ,bottle of champagne and a room upgrade.However,it was the room upgrade that caused the problems.We were given a feature room in the main hotel which on the surface was really nice- large and beautifully decorated but on further inspection we found a catalogue of maintenance and housekeeping problems.I won't list them here.Suffice to say I informed the hotel of all our problems and I would expect future visitors to be quite satisfied with Room 26.
These niggles apart,we did enjoy our stay.The restaurant was a real pleasure to eat in with sparkling cutlery and glassware on immaculate crisp white cloths.Food was fine for Dinner though choice was a little restricted on the inclusive menu which was the same both nights.Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice of both cold and cooked items.
Staff in all departments were really good- attentive,friendly and efficient without being stuffy.
Altogether a vey nice place which could be even better with a bit of investment in maintenance and housekeeping.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My Husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. We had an amazing time.
Our room was beautiful, very unique, and so comfortable.Lovely touches such as magazines, sparkling wine in our room, and free tea/coffee via room service was much welcomed!

Dinner (which was included in the package) was delicious. Post dinner we retreated to the library in and lounged in front of a roaring log fire.

In the morning, when we opened the curtains, the views of the Cotswolds were lovely, and the winter sun streamed in through the window.
Breakfast, which we got delivered to the room had everthing(including black pudding, cheeses and meats)
We love this hotel. It has such a cosy, welcoming feel to it, and I felt like I was staying in a luxurious home.
We stayed in a suite in a 5 star spa hotel in Wales a few weeks ago, and did not enjoy the experience nearly as much here as we did at Wyck Hill House.

Room Tip: The bridal suite is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing