We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quintessential Essential!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quintessential Essential!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Decided to treat my new fiance to a trip to the Cotswolds (a first for both of us) and boy, were we not dissappointed. Booked this 2 night mid week stay through Travelzoo and what a sublime experience it was. The 'house' (stately home and grounds) was exactly what we expected - oozing character, history and that atmosphere that is only experienced in properties of this ilk. The staff were so lovely, friendly and helpful that as soon as we had booked into our upgraded Courtroom executive suite (complete with beams and authentic bathroom) that we were being pampered by the staff in the sumptuous Spa. After 3 hours of decadent treatments, we felt completely relaxed and de-stressed - sincere compliements to the staff here - I will certainly be recommeding you to colleagues - so professional and an experience of sheer pampering I will never forget. Dinner (inclusive in the deal) in the restaurant was gorgeous, Every morsel of food was mouth watering - my fiance opted for the specials whilst I went a la carte. Despite not being able to move after the events of the day and this tasteful menu, we adjorned to the panelled library for a cognac and open fire - we were in heaven. Breakfast was faultless with an array of options - cooked breakfast was exactly what we needed to set us up to a day of travelling to all the beautiful villages in the area. A stunning part of the world and I highly recommend it to any discerning individual who love that touch of class.

Thank you very much to the staff (Sam on reception), the Spa staff and restaurant staff. We have shortlisted this venue for our upcoming wedding and cannot stop telling our friends and family about it!

Fergal Hoey
Linda Crosby

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    456
    226
    102
    59
See reviews for
179
845
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Another few days away booked through a special offer website. (If you do this always take the paperwork with you, the hotel will require the confirmation codes)
It was a Wednesday to Friday trip, 2 nights including spa treatments , breakfast and one evening meal. A great deal.
The hotels in a great location a couple of minutes from Stow etc, loads of lovely villages and towns to visit.
I will get my moan over! If this hotel had a good leisure facility I would really rave about it! The spa was very limited but the ladies in our party took advantage of the treatments and said they were fantastic!
Anyway moan over, the rooms were light and airy, had everything you need and them, well decorated, clean and of good quality, no complaints at all.
The hotel spreads it's self across the main building and also has rooms in converted buildings in the grounds, I didn't go in those but they looked nice.
Breakfast had all we could need or want, Chef was also happy to accommodate special requests.
The evening meal as part of the deal was great, good food, well presented. The drinks were not too badly priced and a good bottle of dry white was £22.
One of the key elements of this hotel was the staff. John, a really nice bloke, could not do enough for you, he was genuine. More hotels need people like him.
We spent a day going around the local towns. We found some great shops, restaurants, tea rooms. In Stow special mention for the ' Vine Leaf' and ' Lucy's'. If you go out to eat into Stow on an evening, a taxi is a standard charge of £10 each way.
The hotel was fairly busy for a mid week in Feb, most people had taken advantage of some sort of deal, I suspect weekenders pay more!
Anyway, good value, great location, great staff, good food, no complaints!
Thanks for a good few days.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked an in house deal for a one night DBB stay with a spa treatment. My friend and I have done this many times and always find it a lovely chill out break. The hotel has changed the dining arrangement for special deals, to a 2 course dinner instead of a 3 course. However, you can always top it up from the usual menu or choose from that if you don't like the special options and they give you an allowance against it. Our dinner was lovely, unrushed and a thoroughly nice experience. Our spa treat was a swedish back massage, which again was expertly carried out by the massuese. The only downside to the spa is that it doesn't have a jacuzzi or pool. It does have a steam and sauna rooms, but a jacuzzi would be nice. As the spa is in the basement it probably isn't possible to add, but it would be a great addition. Our room was in the attic of the main building, we've never had a room there before, and although it was a little smaller than the main hotel or garden rooms, it was just as comfortable. We put this down to the fact that it was the last weekend of the deal, we were there on a Sunday and the hotel was quite busy. We will definitely go again, but hopefully be able to get another great deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Food was good but the head waiter ruined the night
The main corse was served to us wrong and then also the desert
Our wine ran out just after the starter was finished and we didn't get offered any more to drink, after we mentioned this to the head waiter he said he didn't offer because we were in a conversation so didn't want to disturb us and the reason the service was bad was because we had said at the start of the meal we said we wouldn't be paying!!!! Another lie
I feel very sad that a hotel of this stature that charged £200.00 per night would have shoddy staff that have made my wife cry and to be honest I feel utterly ripped off
The rooms are nice but I wouldn't come here again if you paid me
Please avoid

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Spudsnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a one night dinner bed and breakfast package through Travelzoo and were looking forward to a relaxing stay. Check-in was friendly and quick and the reception area welcoming with impressive staircase and fireplace. The corridor leading to the lift and our room, however, was a little less inspiring. An unsympathetic modern extension containing the garden rooms included in the package had the air of a Travelodge rather than a country house hotel and was in need of some TLC - rips in the carpet and badly repaired glass in the fire door were noticeable. Our room was very spacious with a lovely view of the Windrush valley and was pleasant enough - but again was a bit devoid of character and needed a bit of maintenance and there was no guest information folder. Also there were only cheap plastic glasses provided in polythene wrappers, reminiscent of a tacky B&B- we'd expected better. Very comfortable bed though and we slept well once we'd switched off the powerful heating and opened a window.

My spa treatment was relaxing but felt a bit amateurish, and despite having mentioned being pregnant and unable to lie on my back when making the booking, no adjustments had been made other than raising the top of the bed slightly. Also I do agree that it's a bit cheeky to market a sauna and steam room as a 'spa'. Pool and jacuzzi would complete the spa experience. Also the relaxation room was much too hot with warm air blasting out of an overhead vent so was not a pleasant place to spend time - and as I'm not able to go in the sauna and steam, there wasn't much for me in the 'spa' as a mum to be.

The best part about the stay was the wonderful dinner - the food was utterly faultless and delicious. And breakfast in the conservatory with lovely valley views was lovely too.

Overall we enjoyed our one night stay as it was great to get away, but won't return to Wyck Hill House - next time we'll choose somewhere with a bit more character and better spa facilities.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mundesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel at the end of February 2014. It looks very nice on the outside and warm and comfortable on the inside. I arrived to find that my room had been changed from a garden view to a car park view and was very unhappy as the weekend was a birthday present for me. The room was comfortable but for some strange reason VERY VERY warm even though the heating in the room was not on. We had to have the window open for air and it was also right opposite the hotel lift which was a little noisey when people went back to their rooms. The food was at best ok but I found the pork to be flavourless and the staff we not very attentive to the customers as a few people around us had to ask if they could order their food having been seated for quite a while. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and quite a few I would give 10 out of 10 for sevice and accommodation but unfortunately this one I would only give a six to. I wont be going back that's for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you want and don't be fobbed off. Garden rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked a package that included half board and a cream tea together with a room upgrade if available. Usually the upgrade doesn't happen but when i asked the receptionist if it was possible she said that it had been applied and sure enough we were in room 28 which was possibly the largest , most ornate room we have ever stayed in. Lovely views over the fields and we saw a few deer wandering by in the evenings. Large bathroom which had all we needed although the bath tap had a problem which we reported but was never fixed. All in all the room was perfect and we slept well in the huge bed.
Log fires in the lounges and reception were always welcoming and the food was excellent. The menu was the same each evening which could be a problem if you stayed more than a couple of nights. Staff were all very good and we were always met with a smile.
Used the spa for a couple of treatments which was excellent, such a shame they have no pool and several people I spoke to were of the same opinion.
Our package proved exceptional value for money considering our room and the quality of the food, booked via offpeakluxury.com.
All in all a lovely break away, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original house would be better with more character
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afcb0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing