We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a fabulous time at this hotel..Very impressive when approaching,large and grand with lovely gardens and views.5 of us stayed for my birthday for 2 nights,with dinner and breakfast and the food was gorgeous.We had a great 2 night deal with wine and champagne included.The bar,lobby and library were small,cosy and exquisite,and the dining areas were lovely with great views.The main hotel was beautiful.The bedrooms were very slightly less impressive,though nice and large with a lovely bathroom, I don't understand why they are so 'modern' in decoration--when the rest of the hotel is 'olde worlde'--...and quite they were sparce of decoration...maybe a few rugs and a wallpapered feature wall would have given the room some character instead of just being beige and cream...it was like walking through a time warp from old to new leaving the main hotel through the corridor to the attached 'new part' to the bedrooms...that said,we had a great time,I had a lovely massage and all the staff were really friendly and helpful..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
There are newer reviews for Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,453 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

The name describes the position. Fairly near the hilltop, the views from the rooms are fabulous. This is especially true when having breakfast in the conservatory. Massive grounds allow for pleasant walks. We had a minor problem with the heated towel rail, but the staff overcame this by providing extra towels, so that we always had dry ones. All facilities and public rooms are of a very high standard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMIkeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights following our wedding, The Hotel did not know it was our wedding when we booked it.

On arrival ( still in our wedding clothes) we were greeted by a fabulous sight of the hotel and the reception was top class, while booking in they also, at no extra cost, upgraded us from the superior suite we had booked to the honeymoon suite. WOW is all I can say the room was beyond anything we have previously stayed in and the most comfortable (and big) bed I have ever slept in, staff were so helpful and polite, accommodation is, again top class and the value for money here is just excellent. The bar prices and room service were good value and the grounds are beautiful.

We could not of stayed anywhere better on the 1st night of married life and we will be returning.

Thoroughly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Superior suites are worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This place is simple to summarise, location amazing, staff and facilities the pits, how it gets a 4* is beyond me
We visited for a friends wedding, an hour before with around 100 people in the bar, there was no staff, when 1 batman eventually arrived he was rude and threw empty bottles into the skip so hard they smashed
The hotel was boiling hot, and when numerous people asked for the heating to be turned down, we were told they can not as it would turn the water off ! When we opened doors the staff closed them !
The food was poor, overcooked and basic
The staff were rude and when I held a door open for one, they just walked through and ignored me. They did wear a uniform or name badges, and when I asked the manager why not, I was told that uniforms were on order, but he had been the manager for 4 years !
There is no internet, as it is out of order, but it was also out if order a year ago, and has not been working the whole time

When you consider how much this dump costs to book for a night I can only conclude what a horrendous waste of money it is, and having stayed in many similar hotels in the Cotswolds please do your selves a favour and avoid this one

Stayed: April 2014
6  Thank tedosborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed here with my wife for a couple of nights in early April to celebrate her birthday. Wyck Hill House is ideally located for visiting the Cotswolds, being set in acres of peaceful, well manicured gardens, just a few minutes drive from Stow on the Wold, Moreton in Marsh & Bourton on the Water.
The public areas give you a real feel of country house living, and the bedroom was very spacious and well appointed. All staff were courteous and helpful with good service and the quality of dinner and breakfast was excellent.
I would happily return here in the future.

Room Tip: Check the temperature of the bedroom before choosing. Some rooms are very warm.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We took advantage of a Travel Zoo deal and got an overnight DB&B deal plus a massage each. Overall the whole experience was great: we were given an upgraded room which was spacious and clean and overlooked the grounds and rolling hills. The bar was pricey but i expected that in a hotel. The food in the restaurant was excellent both in the evening and breakfast. Had a really good time and would like to thank all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reg138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary on an Amazon Local deal. The hotel is set back in beautiful grounds and is a gorgeous old manor house. We stayed in the new extension in a stunning room. On arrival we had coffee and brownies on the patio before heading out to explore the local area. We ate in the restaurant in the evening I had sea trout and my Husband had steak both of which were delicious.
The following morning after a delicious breakfast we had a full body hot stone massage which was wonderful .
The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel itself is lovely. The only negatives were that the hotel was a bit 'unfinished' nothing major just the cutting in on the paintwork ' the tired old carpets , loose fittings in the bathroom . All of these did not affect our wonderful weekend but were highlighted by the fact it is a 4 star hotel!!
We had an amazing weekend helped by the staff and food here.
I would also recommend you visit the Batsford Arboretum in Moreton which is a beautiful walk.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rachelgreen_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,058 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,331 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £72 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing