We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but not special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Lovely setting and surroundings. We only stayed for one night and booked a family room for three and this was very spacious although in the new wing of the hotel. (Which strangely had very creaky and wobbly floor boards!)

My only real disappointment was the front of house/reception staff. There seemed to be no organisation and with multiple guests checking in, they just asked us to take a seat and then left us waiting whilst they served people in no particular order.

Our family room was not ready and they repeatedly tried to blame this on booking through a third party supplier, even though I booked directly. Upon checking out, they attempted to charge me more for the family room than was quoted by their website at booking.... although this was rectified, I hate having to debate prices and charges with staff when on a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonVictoria78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

My girlfriend and I arrived at the amazing looking Wyck Hill House Hotel and were happy with the location and how it looked from the outside. We entered the main entrance and instantly didn't know where reception was, we took a wrong turn to which a member of staff came out of an office and pointed us in the right direction. After checking in then finally finding our room along the maze of corridors and a lift, we were greeted with another pleasant surprise - the size of the room, it was a very large. We decided to have a quick look round and noticed there was a lack of DVD player, which in the room description said there was one and we had brought DVD's to watch later at night. I told reception on the way out for the evening to which they had put on in when we had returned.

One gripe I had is we checked in at around 5:00pm and decided to look for the Spa area as we were looking round. I poked my nose in and asked the member of staff on duty if we could just come in at any point to which she replied, they closed at 6:00pm! This I found very impractical for people staying for 1 night as we were, we had no time to use their facilities. They also didn't accommodate robes in the room which puzzled us considering they're a Spa Hotel.

Other things were, it was very hot and stuffy within the hotel, my girlfriend and I couldn't connect to the wi-fi which was advertised as being throughout the establishment as we could never find it!

Overal the place is pleasant, but small things let it down and they add up to not being worth the money paid. I feel we were over priced for what we got.

Most likely wouldn't visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank topperrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at Wyck Hill Hotel. We stayed in Room 57 in the Coach House. Very nice room on initial viewing however on closer look there was some wallpaper hanging off in the main bedroom, the carpet by a radiator was stained where there had been a leak and the shower head and door was badly limescaled. When we tried to have a shower it failed to run with hot water, just kept running cold. Good job there was a large bath. Can't really see it was worth 4*.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed for a four day three night break through an internet site. The hotel is beautiful and very stately and the staff very friendly and helpful .
We were upgraded to a superior room with the package and had champagne and chocolates in the room when we arrived. The room was very spacious well decorated and clean.
The niggles that took the edge off the break were the menu for the evening meal which was included in the package did not vary in any way and was not extensive although nice, if we wanted to change we had to choose from the a-la-carte menu at extra cost.
But the biggest disappointment was the lack of attention to detail . In our room the telephone did not work, neither did the internet. The iron leaked and the hair drier was temperamental too.
We reported all of these on the second day but unfortunately nothing was done nor apologies made during our stay.
But despite these we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue5923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went here with a Travel Zoo voucher which I thought would be good value, I was sadly wrong. we were put in a lower ground floor room overlooking the rear car park. We had to keep our curtains closed as people walked passed the window. This hotel needs updating, the décor is tired and the rooms are very average, in fact I have stayed in nicer Premier Inn rooms. The bath was small and the hot water not really hot enough for a relaxing soak. The chairs in the room were uncomfortable and the small table wobbled if anything was placed on it. The bar lacked any atmosphere at all and the lighting was so awful you could hardly see your drink. The bar service was so slow we almost didn't bother.

On the positive, the staff were GREAT, the bed was very comfortable, the bedding top quality and spotless. Food and restaurant service very good. Stow on the Wold and surrounding area is beautiful, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jooles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had an enjoyable stay here but I would neither recommend nor return. An excellent touring base, the hotel was nice enough with lots of character but it was very dated and really needed an overhaul - carpets were very tatty, ripped, torn and worn, particularly in public areas. Bar & library were comfortable but small, grounds were nice but again, outside furniture needs renewing for the summer. Our room (35, up in the eaves) was comfortable enough but very dimly lit and the floorboads were mega creaky, pity the people who were underneath us as there was no way to avoid the creaks with every step! In-room facilities were good, trouser press could be replaced with a mini-fridge for a more useful asset. Towel rail broken & cold, part of bath was snapped, couple of (much needed) light bulbs were out and hadn't been replaced. Breakfast was nice, good not great, more vegetarian choices would be (personally) preferred, but it was served in a very pleasant, bright conservatory. All staff, from reception to restaurant, were helpful and efficient. Car parking plentiful, maps galore available for walking. Big down side for us was the wi-fi - advertised as free in every room, it turns out that the ONLY place to get wifi is in the bar area, which is really inconvenient and irritating when you expect to be able to access the internet in your room, this facility should really not be advertised as it's obviously an ongoing problem rather than the 'for now' problem they make out it is. A small gym and/or pool would be great features to add, and renovations really are a must to make this hotel-with-potential a TRUE 4 star affair. If you've booked this hotel I'm sure you'll enjoy it, we made the most of it and it was fine, but I can't really recommend it as a good stay or value for money with all the little niggles. (Didn't eat dinner there or use the spa, so unable to comment on those features)

Room Tip: We were top floor so didn't have anyone creaking around above us. Room 35, small but pleasant, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Booked to stay for our wedding anniversary, very disappointed in the cleanliness and general upkeep of this hotel. Whilst waiting to check in, went out onto the terrace to look at the lovely view and order a drink, but the terrace furniture was dreadful, not fit to sit on, without ruining your clothes, also adorned with the previous nights empty glasses bottles and ashtrays, so abandoned that idea, and instead after checking in went to our room. Our bedroom windowpanes were black with mould and dirt, also cracked and flaking paintwork, the taps and shower head were green with lime scale and the bathroom floor scuffed and clearly not clean. The TV had been removed, with just the trailing wires left behind. Also there was a bottle of Taittinger champagne in our bedroom, we guessed it wasn't courtesy of the hotel, but there was nothing to say who had provided it, so had to ring reception and ask - it was bought by our Son, but the hotel didn't feel obliged to let us know he had gone to the trouble of purchasing an expensive gift.

To be fair, when we complained about the state of our room the receptionist offered to upgrade us, but we were very disappointed and decided to leave and book elsewhere - The hotel is in a lovely setting but is badly let down by the poor maintenance and would suggest the cleaners need some re-training, and the terrace wooden furniture should go on the bonfire!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank CMF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,264 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
259 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
975 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,343 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £93 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing