We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing mini break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My fiance and I booked a special offer at this hotel for champagne cream tea, 3 course dinner with a glass of wine, bed and breakfast. We were warmly greeted and booked in to the hotel and the staff were attentive to our needs. When we arrived in the restaurant, we were seated and given menus but it took staff 30 minutes to take our drinks order (they appeared more interested in clearing tables and providing bread to guests). Eventually a waiter (I think he may have been the "head" waiter) came to our table and apologised profusely that we had been ignored. The service was very good for the remainder of the meal, and very tasty! The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Delicious breakfast the following day. Lovely quaint grounds and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Leonie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,452)
There are newer reviews for Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Just got home after a two night break. Thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Everything I asked for when booking was waiting for my husband and I with a smile. Had a twin room in the main hotel building facing the garden. The room was serviced both days to a high standard. The weather was perfect but a little bit too hot for a duvet and when I requested a sheet and blanket, this was promptly arranged. The conservatory, where breakfast was served each morning, was beautiful with views of the 'stately' and extensive gardens all around. It was really easy to park the car each day and a perfect base to explore the Cotswolds. I would not hesitate to recommend Wyck Hill House and hope to return one day in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KentLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I had a one night stay here due to its proximity for an event at Blenheim Palace and have fairly mixed views of the place.

We had room 20 which was spacious with a reasonably comfy bed, the major problem was it was one of the hottest days of the year and with no a/c and the window nearest the bed having no sash cords we had to improvise using a couple of coat hangers to wedge it open just to get some air in! The tv was also temperamental and so gave up trying to change the channel! Also struggled to get any kind of wi-fi signal at all during the stay.

We stayed on a Saturday night when a wedding was taking place and it dominated the hotel. There only appeared to be one main bar and trying to get a drink and snacks took an age as there was only one person manning it who really struggled to cope and with it being so hot the poor bloke looked like he'd had a shower in his clothes he'd sweated so much! We also felt slightly uncomfortable being in there with pretty much the whole wedding group and everyone in formal dress - me and my girlfriend were looking fairly casual and had to check with reception that we should even be in there! To their credit we did receive some free drinks for the inconvenience and time taken but it just seemed very bizarre.

We weren't affected as much by the noise coming from the wedding disco but did hear others in the morning complaining. The fire alarm did however go off for a short period just after we went to bed although don't know if it was in anyway connected to the event that was taking place. We had just got out of bed when it stopped and it did disturb our sleep somewhat!

On the plus sides the location and setting of the hotel is good, the lady on reception seemed pleasant/competent and the breakfast was one of the better ones I've had at a hotel.

Room Tip: Be wary of a Saturday night stay during summer in case of a wedding!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tompcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just come back from staying the night at this hotel, generally it is nice, lovely setting, the room was clean and huge! Bed comfy. Had breakfast this morning and was quite tasty with a nice ambience in the conservatory. My only criticisms of this hotel are the complimentary wifi was non-existent, the hotel is starting to look a bit shabby in places and lastly the staff were welcoming and polite but did struggle to understand them at times. Might stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyB328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here in June for my sisters wedding. Everything and everyone was so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much to ask. My sister and I stayed in 1 of the honeymoon suite's on the 1st night, then she got upgraded to the larger suite on the wedding night. They did everything they possibly could to help the day run perfectly (to bringing refreshments to the room while getting ready,l to helping the bride to work out how many steps to walk down the aisle in perfect keeping with her chosen song) the meal was absolutely perfect and never let you have a empty glass! After the music had finished, a few of us went into the front bar and in the gardens where there was a very friendly and chatty barman who was in no rush for us to leave! Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked a night for a stopover in the Cotswolds, we found this beautiful hotel extremely pleasant. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially as we were travelling with our 1 year old. Food and wines in the pretty conservatory were excellent and they made an extra effort to accommodate hubby's food preferences after a passing comment too - a very nice touch. The gardens were lovely and though we didn't get much chance to enjoy them during our stay bar a short wander on the terrace with the wee one during dinner but the roses were perfection and everything was very well kept, setting off the quintessential Englishness of the house.

The room we had in the annex was very nicely appointed, massive super king double bed and nice, obviously new furnishings. The bathroom was enormous and could have done with a bigger bath and a slightly larger sink (form over function, but very stylish) though we found the floor tiles quite slippy and were a little concerned for our wee one when she slid on them with dry feet a couple of times... It was a stiflingly hot night in June, and though the night porter tried to help with a fan, the casing was broken so we couldn't have it (understandable) so it meant we had to sleep with the window open, but didn't have a problem with midges, despite being under trees overlooking the front carpark (a lot nicer view than you might think, by the way). Breakfast was lovely, again in the conservatory, a nice spread of cold and continental offerings, hot food was good, hubby's full English filled and satisfied and my poached egg was cooked perfectly.

Ideally situated to visit the best and most picturesque villages in the area, it's a super place to stay. Wish we'd had time to enjoy a spa treatment! We found our room through Booking.com, and found the offer very competitive for such a lovely room in a very pretty hotel. We hope to be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are accessed by a lift, a good choice for guests with mobility issues.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for one night as a birthday gift, the staff were very warm and welcoming on arrival. The bedroom we stopped in was slightly dilapidated as we're other areas of the hotel but overall clean and satisfactory, the manager (ovi) was very professional and couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasure. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was the highlight of our stay, the food was excellent in every way and highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wmeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,245 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
968 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,327 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £72 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing