We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Romantic Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed for a fantastic break the location is perfect just outside Stow on the Wold. We stayed in the Orangery and the rooms were fantastic I really could not fault the rooms the service the location the food was amazing. We were so impressed we will consider this for our wedding.

Room Tip: I know the feature rooms in the main hotel do not have tea or coffee (you have to call room service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    456
    225
    102
    59
See reviews for
179
845
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
277 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

This was our dream hotel in the Cotswolds. Lovely location, grounds, architecture set in the timeless beauty of the English countryside. The staf were warm and friendly and most helpful. Our rooms were very nice, good sized with amenities and ours had a patio overlooking the grounds. We would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aresverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

we have just returned from a 3 day break here.
This hotel suffers from what many 'managed hotels' suffer from - impersonality - trying to be more than it is...

we had a wonderful room immediately above the dining room/ conservatory restaurant. It was a feature room which meant we had no tea making facilities - though room service brews were complimentary....
but
a) they forgot to deliver our booked early morning cuppa,
b) and didn't tell us that coffee after dinner is NOT complimentary.

The dinners were excellent, even though the conservatory roof leaks over the diners when it rains heavily..

A previous reviewer commented on the wine vintages not being as per the menu - the diner next to us one night made a great song and dance about how he wouldn't have ordered a particular wine f he'd known it was not the vintage shown - we was lucky to get a refund - he'd drunk the entire bottle before he complained...

Breakfasts were ok - the food wasn't hot and ours was forgotten one morning until we asked where it was - when it arrived, it had clearly spent a while on the hotplate (although the egg was fresh). The waiting was disorganised.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megsimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The entire hotel is very old .. which is understandable considering we knew that before booking. However I would expect the management and staff would make up for it but failed. Upon out checkin to the room, due to the freezing weather in the middle of August, I immediately wanted to make myself a cup of tea. Went and reached for the cup and looked inside there were old bits of left over food inside. Called front desk immediately and lady said "ok I understand". Then 3 hours passed by someone finally came to the room and took the dirty cup, she said" ok I came to take the cup". I gave it to her, then she said"where is the other one?" I said that one is fine. Then she insisted on me giving the other cup to her!! At that point I was really done with this place.

Still can't believe that internally just happened 2 days ago..

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We've just returned from a 3-day august BH break with good friends. An annual event staying at places none of us know well so each year we explore new areas but have no other input save a bit of pot luck and reviews such as trip advisor
We booked Wyck Hill having read mixed reviews on TA but went ahead anyway
We couldn't have Been happier to have booked here and had a wonderful and memorable stay
One couple had a shared deep tissue massage in the Spa and the other lady a long facial. Both treatments were wonderful and very relating and would be recommended
Lack of a pool is a slight disappointment but didn't .spoil anything
We had dinner there the first night and enjoyed great food though one niggle was over the wine were an advertised 1999 vintage bottle turned into a 2004 poorer quality one. Should have declined to accept it as it wasn't great
We had top floor rooms in the main building and everything worked fine.. Very spacious, well appointed and great beds. Really pleased with them.
Breakfasts were of a very high quality and even for a hungry guy they were a good plateful and very well presented
Very well located for the West Cotswolds, Bourton on the water, stow, and all points west
So on our experience, except the wines, greatly enjoyed and would return if we were in the area again

Room Tip: Main house seems best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodger f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed here last week. Had a room in the Orangery as other reviews disappointing stay. 1 .The wifi didn't work 2 Television didn't work very well (limited channels no BBC1 2 etc) 3 room very hot even with no radiators on had to leave door open to patio area all night 4 shower pulsed hot and cold water which was challenging 5 over-all standards of decorations were old and worn out. A shame the grounds are lovely and teh food was good (breakfast was excellent). Conclusion poor value could do with redecorating and upgrading quality to match price!!Better hotels in area

Room Tip: Dont take a room in the Orangery not sure about main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littler family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Va.
Level Contributor
292 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for three nights with another couple. Our rooms were very comfortable and very large with very comfortable beds. We were disappointed with the lack of wi-fi in the rooms. You have to go down to the bar or restaurant for service. Our bath was very nice with double sinks and a nice rain shower.
The property was very pretty and well looked after.
The common rooms were a bit worn and could use some touching up. The bar was a nightmare - ugly decoration, very uncomfortable coaches and only two bar stools. Plus, located near reception it was not manned. You had to go out to reception and they called someone to serve drinks. Not all that bad, but it was a bit annoying.
The restuarant was very mixed. The continental and full English breakfasts were fine. Dinner was another thing. We booked the last two nights of our stay, but after the first dinner, we cancelled the second night. We had two very nice starters and two very bad starters amongst us. Likewise with the mains. Several were good and several were not. And at the price point, the meals were not good value.
All this said, I would stay there again because it was very centrally located, the staff was very nice, the breakfasts were excellent and we liked our rooms in the main house.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bermudaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing