We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

very nice hotel loved our stay there. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheltenhamLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    462
    230
    102
    59
See reviews for
182
852
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

We've just returned from a lovely stay at the Robinson's on the hill hotel. Now under new managment this beautiful hotel has been modernised to a fantastic standard, making it lovely and modern with a wonderful laid back atmosphere. We had wonderful weather and it was lovely to sit out in the stunning grounds with the most breath taking views. I really don't understand the reviews on here - we certainly didn't encounter any of the problems described. The food here was also excellent - Sunday lunch was superb! We would love to return to this hotel and beautiful area in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JUI5030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2009

The grounds and the building are lovely. Sadly, it stops there. We went for a break from our busy lives and were so disappointed. They 'big-up' the restaurant, but the food was mediocre at best. It has the feeling that a chef designed a great menu then let a NVQ trainee deliver it. The small things too, which you expect from a £100 per night hotel were lacking. For example: the complimentary teas were not replaced on the second morning...there was no butter with our room service breakfast....the shower/bath gels had not been refreshed..it goes on. With so many nice hotels within 10 miles, they are going to have work much harder to survive.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxfordrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at Robinson's on the Hill for one night. While it looks beautiful on the surface, there are some problems. No internet was available which was a problem for us since my husband has to do work when we travel. At breakfast time, they didn't have anything that we asked for off of the menu. Our breakfast that we prepaid for as part of the room ended up being a bowl of cereal and some juice. Hardly worth the money we paid. The room was nice, but insufficient window treatments meant that light from the exterior flood lights illuminated the room all night long. I am not exaggerating when I say that I could read by the light that was coming in.

The staff, while nice, seemed overwhelmed at times. They were also curiously casual for a place that is (seemingly) trying to be a luxury property.

This property could be amazing but it's just not worth the money right now.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karaoke_queen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

Despite the change of name it is still a victim of poor service from staff that dont really care about anything. 1 meal was enough I eat out all other times.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

I stayed mid week as I was presenting at a conference the next day.
Despite being empty I was put in a room next to 2 kitchen vents, complained and was moved.
The rooms are very run down, lumpy beds, threadbear carpets and windows that don;t shut. TV only gets BBC1 & BBC2 and shopping channels.
Challenged reception about the price £120 per night and got a coy "sorry" as they took my money.
Next stay I left the conference people having words with the chef regarding the quality of ther lunch.
The hotel has been rebranded Robinsons on the Hill and my feeling is the new owners have run out of money

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnotMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

found this hotel by chance..could not fault it, a wonderful casual, realxexed experience with a touch of quality in a beautiful location. Need to see more like this in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larrybeanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing