We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful country hotel in peaceful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Tauranga
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful country hotel in peaceful setting.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Fantastic authentic country manor hotel that has been extensively rennovated and now has all the luxuries the modern traveller demands. Our room was spacious with quality bedding and a good sized ensuite bathroom with shower over bath. Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant - conservatory area which had stunning views over the cotswold countryside. Breakfast consisted of a buffet choice of fruits, cereals and juices, a menu selection of hot breakfast was available. Dinner was available at the Hotel, though we ate in the village.
The hotel is situated about 5 minutes drive from the village of Stow-on-the-Wold where there are a good selection of reasonable priced eateries.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali_from_Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    518
    463
    230
    102
    59
See reviews for
182
852
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S. Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

This is one of those old country manor hotels thats been bought up by a lesure group and converted into a Hotel / Spar complex, well they've done a dam good job on this one !!
We stayed in an upgrade (£115 per night with breakfast) room in the "Orangery", a very nice set of about 8 rooms in what was at one time obveously the orangery of the main Manor house, we opted for one of the rooms with a patio, pitty the British weather wouldn't let us use it!! There's another set of rooms in the old "coach house" in the gounds too. The main Hotel is what you'd expect lots of old high ceilings, big open fireplaces, mahogany & oak as far as the eye can see !! The staff are very pleasant & polite.
Had an excelent dinner in the resterant the first evening, really good food & service, not used to that in most british hotels!! Breakfast ends a littlle early at 09.30 for my likeing.
The location of the hotel is about 3 miles outside of Stow, so if your going to have a couple of beers a taxi ride is required, £8 each way, not too bad considering your being picked up & dropped off exactly where you want and need to be.
Try the "Butchers" bistro / resterant in Stow, the finest fillet I've had in many a year, not cheap, but very good stuff!!!
All in all a very nice hotel, with good staff, and excelent levals of accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_WalesJb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

If you would like a romantic stay away, this might not be the hotel for you! My partner and I had just checked in the hotel and were getting ready to go down for dinner, when the maid unlocked the door and was coming into our room whilst we werent half decent! A half hearted apology was made when i spoke to reception about the incident. The Food is beautiful when the waiters get it right as they are limited in their understanding of English! Dont leave your windows open in the evenings as the staff have no problem with being very loud at 1 o'clock so you may not get a full nights sleep! When I complained about my issue, the receptionist didnt seem interested/no comphensation was offfered. For the money i paid i wasnt impressed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed a night during our visit to the Cotswold. A beautifully renovated hotel/resort. The assistant gardener was kind enough to help us take photos of us with the lovely surroundings when we were walking around the grounds. Breakfast was yummy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lionel_gan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We invited 40 friends and family to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary at Wyck Hill House and it really was very special.

Many of us stayed the night and we had a quite splendid dinner with exceptional service and very fine food, cooked by a brigade that certainly have passion for their art, you can taste it !!.

We were lucky with the weather so pre dinner drinks were on the terrace looking out across the Cotswold countryside and the weather was so good post dinner was out there until the early hours.

The service was unobtrusive, knowledgeable and hospitable. The bedroom was very special and was in the main house and breakfast what you would except of a four star country house. A great weekend and Wyck was JUST IDEAL for such an occasion.

Thanks to the whole team who have got Wyck Hill back to where it should be and that is in 'the special country house catergory' where it belongs.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellitasitis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

The most wonderful hotel with extremely courteous and welcoming staff who could not do enough for us. Rooms (Coach House) enormous and luxuriouly appointed. Both dinner and breakfast sublime.
Spa fantastic.

Please don't take any notice of any negative reviews, they nearly put me off booking but so glad I went with my gut feeling. Many of them are pre new owners and refurbishment.
Check out some of the deals they do, extremely good value.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

A wonderfully situated hotel with breathtaking views. the service we received was 2nd to none from every single member of staff. it made our stay so relaxed,helped also by the most beautiful room we have ever stayed in anywhere!!! we had some lovely walks around the surrounding countryside & will certainly be returning there in the autumn.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.4 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
14.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa

Property: Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Address: Wyck Hill | Gloucestershire, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyck Hill House Hotel And Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Wyck Hill Hotel
Hotel Wyck Hill
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing