We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well I'd certainly stay here again!”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The Unicorn is an old coaching inn on the corner of the A429 Fosse Way and Sheep Street in Stow on the Wold. Parts date back to 1642 I'm told. What does this mean? Well it means you get to stay in an interesting, quirky, historic building that has been added to over the centuries and is full of odd corners etc. You can hear some traffic at times, but it isn't intrusive, neither is the church clock that chimes the hour, half-hour and quarter hour throughout 24 hours, but it is there. Anyone who is a member of the national trust will tell you how difficult is to keep an historic building from falling apart, how they keep a historic inn going with people and luggage tramping through 52 weeks of the year is a wonder. So yes bits may look a little worn at the edges here and there but its all very clean and comfortable.
We didn't find one member of staff who wasn't both friendly and helpful and we found the food to be good, both breakfast and dinner. The secure parking was a bonus, its opposite the hotel on the other side of the Fosse Way and we weren't charged for it..
I'm a little saddened to read some of the negative points some other reviewers have made, come on give them a break! You're not paying Ritz prices here and I for one think it represents jolly good value for money. Just have a look at what some of the other local establishments want to charge.
I think I can best sum up my opinion of the hotel if I say that on taking our luggage to our car when leaving, my wife and I looked at each other and simultaneously said 'well I'd certainly stay here again!' That, let me assure you, is an accolade that not every hotel we have stayed in has received.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auricula63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

There is very little I can say in response to your wonderful review other than thank you for breaking the mould and being so appreciative of the historic nature of the property. It is difficult to maintain and we will be refurbishing at some point but in the mean time we will always endeavour to offer good value for money in a friendly atmosphere.

Kind regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

OK, our reception started with the only perons on reception speaking on the phone for 15 mins at least, lets be honest the palce needs a facelift, the ceiling in the dining room is peeling, we had the biggest room in the hotel and a lick of paint is an understatement, but who cares you pay for what you get get so £100 a night cheap and chearful, the real mistke we made was the evening meal, the rib eye steak !!!! was simply a sandwich steak, disguised in garlic butter, nothing more seroiusly bad, i have never written a review before but had to in this instance, I never complain but choose to never to back so there it is!

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rich c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you for your review. If you were waiting for 15 minutes while my assistant manager took a phone call then I apologise however she would have said that she would be with you shortly.It is a small Hotel so we do not have a brigade of receptionists during a recessionary period. The decor is old fashioned and it is a coaching inn dating back to 1642 so this is reflected in the price but it is very objective as a number of customers come back here because they love the history of the Hotel and the friendly staff.

You mentioned that you never complain but if you had complained on the night rather than now on Tripadvisor, I could have replaced your meal if you were not happy but the vast majority of guests enjoy their food here.

Best regards
Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Central but on a busy main road which lowered our rating of location. Food was very good, staff are friendly and welcoming and we have had a very happy few days here. Lovely spot to walk from.... Don't expect refreshments at the Donnington Brewery although the Golden Balls Inn in lower swell was a wonderful stop off point with great food and friendly patrons and owners who gave us good local information. Make sure you visit the back of the church in stow and the garden centre in Burford is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemariemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you
Being a coaching Inn the road is next to the Hotel but most of the rooms have secondary glazing and each room has a large pedestal fan which can be used at night rather than opening the window during the warmer months. I do hope to welcome you back.

Regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Not brilliant (especially the breakfast - you can go out for dinner), but cheaper than other hotels in Stow. Lorries very noisy outside. Should maybe have chosen somewhere a bit more expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

The type breakfast is always stated on booking that it is continental but does consist of a good variety of items and my aim is always to give good value for money.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Traffic noise was at times intrusive at night. Our bedroom although very nice, was a long long way from reception (with 5 suitcases and no lift!)
Staff were friendly and helpful and the bar staff great. We met some very nice folk there and revisited some of my favourite spots in the UK.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Most of the rooms do have secondary glazing which does a good job of insulating the rooms from traffic noise. If I can have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Unicorn, do request a quiet room away from the road and close to the stairs to reception so that it is easy for you with all your luggage, which we will be more than happy to help you with.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Ok this has not got the best location in Stow but found it significantly cheaper than others.
Simple rooms but great powerful showers.
On top of that the service is great and friendly and the building has great charector.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Thank you for the review. The Hotel was a coaching inn back in 1642 so it is located on Sheep street but it is a 2 minute walk to the square where all the shops are placed. The showers actually can be too powerful as it can lead to wet bathroom floors! I do hope that you will return.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Excellently located for all the Cotswolds have to offer, we were fairly impressed with the hotel. The staff were all extremely friendly & helpful. The restaurant served good food at competetive prices, & even did a vegetarian option which is pretty unheard of in the Cotswolds! Overall the room was clean, comfortable & pleasant with an exceptionally large bed which was lovely! Coffee & tea making facilities (with biscuits!) available & replenished daily when room cleaned. Only criticism's would be that the rooms (well, from what we could tell from ours) are in need of a make-over as they are looking quite dated & tired now & probably not in keeping with the price paid to stay there. Also our shower head had a habit of falling off the hook on your head! Oh, & the TV remote didn't seem to work. But these are minor grumbles on the grand scheme of things. Overall we had a thoroughly pleasant stay & would certainly consider staying there again if back in the area :-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groovystef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Thank you for the accurate and pleasant review but do mention next time if the tv remote does not work so that I can change it for you. I do try to offer a good value for money stay.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
307 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,333 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £79 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing