We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We have just returned from a bank holiday break at The Unicorn Hotel and have to say what an excellent hotel this is,creaky floorboards and loads of beams, yes the room was probabley a bit dated but it was clean and warm, the rest of the hotel was immaculate the bar area was lovely with open fire and comfortable settees,all of the staff are very friendly and helpfull and the food was very good and reasonably priced, we have stayed here before and will definately be staying again, If pushed to find fault the only thing i could say would be to replace the sign out side as it looks slightly dated and the small area of grass out side the front door needs mowing

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennybear1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Great constructive comments - thank you

The sign outside will be replaced but we are spending money on the Hotel in stages as we are in a difficult trading environment.

The small area outside is not our property and normally the council will mow the grass but I agree that it does look untidy and will get it mown tomorrow.

Many thanks again for your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon at The Unicorn.

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    100
    30
    15
    14
See reviews for
56
168
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel is very good, if not excellent, on the ground floor, with beautifully furnished rooms with lots of atmosphere. The bar area and dining room was very comfortable with very good food. The bedrooms could do with a refurbishment. They are perfectly acceptable but not wonderful for this price range. The staff were really friendly and helpful. If old-world charm is what you are after you might like the bedrooms too.Our walking group has seen a lot of accommodation across the country and Hotels have a lot of competition from Bed and Breakfast establishments when it comes to standards of accommodation.

Room Tip: Try to find a room without squeaky floorboards from the staff quarters above, or next to the central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your positive review. The rooms are old fashioned but that is reflected in the price but they are being redecorated as I write this response.

You made a point that hotels have a lot of competition from bed and breakfast properties in the form of standards of accommodation
Our room rates are the same if not lower than B&Bs but you are not just buying into a room for the night, as you have the facilites of a wonderful lounge area and snug, a large bar area with log fire in the Winter months, a separate and spacious restaurant and a lovely garden for al Freso dining in the Summer months as well as a spacious private car park ,
I hope that helps others with their choice for accommodation.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband booked this hotel last minute and I have to say what a find. Yes the room wasn't massive and was a little dated but after all you only sleep in it!! The staff were lovely, very friendly and welcoming, couldnt do enough for us, the lounges and bar area were fab, the roaring fire was just what you wanted after a little wander around the local square and what a treat in the morning with breakfast, none of your fried eggs kept warm under a heater that you get with the big chains, whatever you wanted, freshly cooked, beautiful presentation by lovely staff. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevvy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here. The log fire is a real attraction when in April the weather is still not quite there yet. We all try to make the guest feel welcome and at home here and regarding the breakfast - it is seen as the most important meal of the day so we try to offer something that will set people up for the day.

I look forward to taking the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Unicorn Hotel

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

we booked the hotel last minute and there wasnt much choice of hotels at an affordable price so we opted for the unicorn which was a very low price of £245 for 3 nights. upon arrival the staff couldnt of been more friendly and welcoming but not in an over the top way. the bar/restaurant areas were spotless and exactly what we went to the cotswolds for. we only ate at the hotel 1 evening and the food was lovely. our room again was spotless but a little tired looking but for the price it was a bargain and it was cleaned daily and fresh towels left. i am a little confused at some of the bad reviews i have just read because i am used to staying in 5* hotels in the lakes & london so was a little worried when we booked this but it was definitely very good value for money. ive just read about small portions at breakfast which again is puzzling as there was cereal, fruit, as much toast as you wanted to order and full english which was more than generous portions and when you finished the staff asked if you wanted anything else. probably due to the time of year we visited the evenings were a lot quieter than we were expecting but everything was open in the day. i hope you enjoy your visit there as much as we did.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review
I would just like to say thank you for appreciating exactly what I try to achieve here at The Unicorn Hotel which is good value for money in a friendly warm atmosphere in the heart of The Cotswolds.
The rooms are being redecorated one by one but not refurbished as this would lead to a substantial increase in the rooms rates which is not what I feel is needed for this property in the present economic environment.

I do appreciate your review

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

well , i know i booked last minute and there was nt much left , but a night away in the cotswolds with my loved one .how bad could it be . £89 for a superior room . would hate to see the average room . very tired and worn . shabby the bathroom needed attention in fact everything needed attention ! room 11 was on the main road it was stuffy , open the window you say ! only to be outside the traffic lights ,very noisey .. redeeming feature was the breakfast and the downstairs areas . however the polish waitress was rude ... the nicest part of the stay was wendy on reception she was pleasant polite and helpfull and wasted in that hotel .will not be staying again .... still had a nice time dispite accomodation

Room Tip: definately not room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debfinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Your comments are rather "disapointing " in that firstly room 11 does receive very good comments from other guests. The rooms are old fashioned and will need refurbishing which is exactly why you had the largest room in the Hotel for £89 quid on a Saturday night in the Cotswolds ( a room in a Hotel of a boutique style would be £150 to £200 for the same period ) The Windows are double glazed to cut out road noise so all you need to do is open them during the day so that it is aired (which the housekeepers normally do) then close them at night
If you felt that the waitress was rude then why not mention that to me during your stay. I do get many comments about how Friendly and attentive she is. Perthaps by the aggressive nature of your review you had said something rude to her ?
So in conclusion I do find the manner of your review aggressive, unjustified and uncalled for.

Chris Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My wife and I booked the Unicorn for my parents and us as a present to them for their Diamond Wedding, this was mentioned on our reservation. We were met at reception by the very friendly manager and went to our rooms which were both the superior rooms. Our room nice with a four poster, it was clean and of good size. Three points of note, the bathroom was tired, the TV was the smallest old tube style we've ever seen and there was a large water mark on the ceiling, two of these problems are easily overcome. We had our evening meal in the bar area, the food was as close to fine dinning as you can get without paying top notch prices, it really was superb, we can thoroughly recommend the ribeye steak and the catalan chicken. Breakfast was slightly disorganised with the night porter doubling up as the waiter, tea spoons were missing, as well as the butter. The food itself was of a very good quality, our only complaints being the sausages were not nice, a large pork sausage would be better. Would we visit again? yes we would, our biggest grip was the lack of recognition by the Unicorn that it was our parents Diamond Wedding, and when I did remind them it was suggested that we could purchase a bottle of Bucks Fizz over breakfast. But, despite that we will return. We cannot praise the staff highly enough

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your comments , particuarly about the quality of the food
Your comments about the room - It is an old building(1642) so we do have leaks and maintenace issues, the bathrooms are old fashioned but that is reflected in out tariffs
The breakfast - We don't have a night porter as you only are required one in a 4 star hotel - We are a small value for money Hotel therefore a night porter is not required and would be prohibitively expensive - I would have been on duty the night before followed by the early morning shift. Re the sausages, they are Gloucester old spot and normally we get very good comments about them as I have tried the fat ones and they are not so good so it is difficult to please everyone all the time.
Re your parents Diamond Wedding - I did make theier stay as welcoming and enjoyable as possible and you asked if you could have bucks fizz at breakfast which I replied very positively but you did not come back to me on it.
On the whole it seems like you enjoyed your stay and if you do return I will try even harder to make your stay even more enjoyable

Best regards

Chris Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Unicorn for a couple of days over March 17/18.

It's a charming, very comfortable and affordable hotel. There were a couple of small problems with the room we had been assigned and we were immediately offered - without having to request it! - an upgrade to a superior room at no extra cost. This room was very spacious, characterful and clean with probably the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in.
The cooked breakfast was superb - excellent ingredients and SUPERB sausages (local butchers) and eggs done to perfection.
Very friendly and helpful staff everywhere in the hotel as well. All in all, it was a real joy to stay there - thoroughly recommended.
We're not personal chums of the management by the way, or somehow linked to the company. We had, though, been looking forward a lot to our two days in the Cotswolds and the Unicorn made it really memorable and enjoyable!

Room Tip: If you're not immediately happy with the room do ask the staff - they do their best to accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Thank you for your review and the lovely comments about your stay here.
We are not personal friends but it seems like we almost became friends by the end of your stay (I hope that doesn't sound too cliched) as we were talking about one of the reviews who said that the breakfast was rather small or inadeqate but you did say far from it and your comments really do bring music to my ears as my staff and I do work hard to make our guest's stay enjoyable .

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,216 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,426 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing