We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Unicorn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Hart Stow(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cotswold Garden Tearooms & B&B(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Limes Guest House(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell at Stow(Stow-on-the-Wold)(Great Value!)
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
171
108
31
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
108
31
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraffic lightsold coaching innunderfloor heatingbusy road junctiondining tableliving areaself cateringshort strollbooked last minutethree nightstop floorpubs and restaurantsfantastic locationa lovely stayone night staybiscuitscoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 339 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We have just returned from a bank holiday break at The Unicorn Hotel and have to say what an excellent hotel this is,creaky floorboards and loads of beams, yes the room was probabley a bit dated but it was clean and warm, the rest of the hotel was immaculate the bar area was lovely with open fire and comfortable settees,all of the staff are very friendly and helpfull and the food was very good and reasonably priced, we have stayed here before and will definately be staying again, If pushed to find fault the only thing i could say would be to replace the sign out side as it looks slightly dated and the small area of grass out side the front door needs mowing

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennybear1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Great constructive comments - thank you

The sign outside will be replaced but we are spending money on the Hotel in stages as we are in a difficult trading environment.

The small area outside is not our property and normally the council will mow the grass but I agree that it does look untidy and will get it mown tomorrow.

Many thanks again for your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon at The Unicorn.

Best wishes

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel is very good, if not excellent, on the ground floor, with beautifully furnished rooms with lots of atmosphere. The bar area and dining room was very comfortable with very good food. The bedrooms could do with a refurbishment. They are perfectly acceptable but not wonderful for this price range. The staff were really friendly and helpful. If old-world charm is what you are after you might like the bedrooms too.Our walking group has seen a lot of accommodation across the country and Hotels have a lot of competition from Bed and Breakfast establishments when it comes to standards of accommodation.

Room Tip: Try to find a room without squeaky floorboards from the staff quarters above, or next to the central heating boiler.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your positive review. The rooms are old fashioned but that is reflected in the price but they are being redecorated as I write this response.

You made a point that hotels have a lot of competition from bed and breakfast properties in the form of standards of accommodation
Our room rates are the same if not lower than B&Bs but you are not just buying into a room for the night, as you have the facilites of a wonderful lounge area and snug, a large bar area with log fire in the Winter months, a separate and spacious restaurant and a lovely garden for al Freso dining in the Summer months as well as a spacious private car park ,
I hope that helps others with their choice for accommodation.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband booked this hotel last minute and I have to say what a find. Yes the room wasn't massive and was a little dated but after all you only sleep in it!! The staff were lovely, very friendly and welcoming, couldnt do enough for us, the lounges and bar area were fab, the roaring fire was just what you wanted after a little wander around the local square and what a treat in the morning with breakfast, none of your fried eggs kept warm under a heater that you get with the big chains, whatever you wanted, freshly cooked, beautiful presentation by lovely staff. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevvy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here. The log fire is a real attraction when in April the weather is still not quite there yet. We all try to make the guest feel welcome and at home here and regarding the breakfast - it is seen as the most important meal of the day so we try to offer something that will set people up for the day.

I look forward to taking the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Unicorn Hotel

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

we booked the hotel last minute and there wasnt much choice of hotels at an affordable price so we opted for the unicorn which was a very low price of £245 for 3 nights. upon arrival the staff couldnt of been more friendly and welcoming but not in an over the top way. the bar/restaurant areas were spotless and exactly what we went to the cotswolds for. we only ate at the hotel 1 evening and the food was lovely. our room again was spotless but a little tired looking but for the price it was a bargain and it was cleaned daily and fresh towels left. i am a little confused at some of the bad reviews i have just read because i am used to staying in 5* hotels in the lakes & london so was a little worried when we booked this but it was definitely very good value for money. ive just read about small portions at breakfast which again is puzzling as there was cereal, fruit, as much toast as you wanted to order and full english which was more than generous portions and when you finished the staff asked if you wanted anything else. probably due to the time of year we visited the evenings were a lot quieter than we were expecting but everything was open in the day. i hope you enjoy your visit there as much as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review
I would just like to say thank you for appreciating exactly what I try to achieve here at The Unicorn Hotel which is good value for money in a friendly warm atmosphere in the heart of The Cotswolds.
The rooms are being redecorated one by one but not refurbished as this would lead to a substantial increase in the rooms rates which is not what I feel is needed for this property in the present economic environment.

I do appreciate your review

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

well , i know i booked last minute and there was nt much left , but a night away in the cotswolds with my loved one .how bad could it be . £89 for a superior room . would hate to see the average room . very tired and worn . shabby the bathroom needed attention in fact everything needed attention ! room 11 was on the main road it was stuffy , open the window you say ! only to be outside the traffic lights ,very noisey .. redeeming feature was the breakfast and the downstairs areas . however the polish waitress was rude ... the nicest part of the stay was wendy on reception she was pleasant polite and helpfull and wasted in that hotel .will not be staying again .... still had a nice time dispite accomodation

Room Tip: definately not room 11
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debfinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Your comments are rather "disapointing " in that firstly room 11 does receive very good comments from other guests. The rooms are old fashioned and will need refurbishing which is exactly why you had the largest room in the Hotel for £89 quid on a Saturday night in the Cotswolds ( a room in a Hotel of a boutique style would be £150 to £200 for the same period ) The Windows are double glazed to cut out road noise so all you need to do is open them during the day so that it is aired (which the housekeepers normally do) then close them at night
If you felt that the waitress was rude then why not mention that to me during your stay. I do get many comments about how Friendly and attentive she is. Perthaps by the aggressive nature of your review you had said something rude to her ?
So in conclusion I do find the manner of your review aggressive, unjustified and uncalled for.

Chris Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews