We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Place To Stay”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hi my wife and i spent 1 night at the Unicorn Hotel it was a great night, our room number 14 had a king size bed a great shower and bath, plenty of hot water, down stairs plenty of space to laze around very cozy with fire places going, had a great steak meal and desert with cold beers, had a great nights sleep. Would stay there again no problems.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maddog888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

It was good welcoming you to the Unicorn Hotel and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay - The Rib eye steak is from the local butchers and locally sourced meat -

I do hope that I can welcome you again that is if you return to England.

You mentioned the log fire and it's rather ironic that a few days later we are basking in 24 degrees of sunshine - That's the English Summer for you !

I hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in England.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Unicorn is well situated, close to shops and restaurants. There are 2 inviting and comfortable lounges. It's a quirky old hotel with sloping floors and this all adds to its charm. The room (no 4), although not large, was pleasant and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was very small and the glass screen was fixed to the side of the bath so getting in and out of the bath was tricky. I could not reach around the screen to the taps , watch out if you want to run a bath in case you get a shower instead, I did and soaked the bathroom floor! However there was always plenty of hot water. Breakfast was disorganised, there appeared to be no efficient system to ensure that orders had been taken. It would be simple to place a menu on each table and the waiter/waitress take it away once the order is taken. We found it difficult to catch the eye of the waiter/waitress and for a table of 5 they seemed to think that 2 small teapots were sufficient. It was not a very busy breakfast room so they should really have been able to cope but did not do very well.The hotel should re-think the orange juice it was watery and tasteless and the buffet table was poorly stocked. The cooked breakfast was good.
Evening meal the night before was much better (food ok and service good) so we were disappointed at breakfast both the mornings we were there.
Receptionist was helpful and friendly & bar staff good.
However a pleasant hotel in a good situation (just don't expect good service at breakfast) I would prabably stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samandsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
The reason that the shower screen is fixed is because guests did not always close it properly which meant that the powerful shower would pour water onto the floor, through the ceiling and into the bar ! Unfortunately it is not a wet room.

Regarding breakfast, I have not had any adverse comments regarding breakfast service or the lack of order taking. We do not have a menu as we ask guests if they would like full English or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, which does seem sufficient for most guests and as we are a budget hotel the emphasis is on the cooked breakfast rather than the buffet which does include fresh fruit salad, juices, a good selection of cereals, and teas, we also serve toast and tea and coffee.

If it was a weekend that you stayed and if most of the guests come down for breakfast at the same time then there may be a wait for service but my staff will always try to do their best to serve you as quickly as possible.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We have just returned from a bank holiday break at The Unicorn Hotel and have to say what an excellent hotel this is,creaky floorboards and loads of beams, yes the room was probabley a bit dated but it was clean and warm, the rest of the hotel was immaculate the bar area was lovely with open fire and comfortable settees,all of the staff are very friendly and helpfull and the food was very good and reasonably priced, we have stayed here before and will definately be staying again, If pushed to find fault the only thing i could say would be to replace the sign out side as it looks slightly dated and the small area of grass out side the front door needs mowing

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennybear1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Great constructive comments - thank you

The sign outside will be replaced but we are spending money on the Hotel in stages as we are in a difficult trading environment.

The small area outside is not our property and normally the council will mow the grass but I agree that it does look untidy and will get it mown tomorrow.

Many thanks again for your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon at The Unicorn.

Best wishes

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This hotel is very good, if not excellent, on the ground floor, with beautifully furnished rooms with lots of atmosphere. The bar area and dining room was very comfortable with very good food. The bedrooms could do with a refurbishment. They are perfectly acceptable but not wonderful for this price range. The staff were really friendly and helpful. If old-world charm is what you are after you might like the bedrooms too.Our walking group has seen a lot of accommodation across the country and Hotels have a lot of competition from Bed and Breakfast establishments when it comes to standards of accommodation.

Room Tip: Try to find a room without squeaky floorboards from the staff quarters above, or next to the central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountryStroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Thank you for your positive review. The rooms are old fashioned but that is reflected in the price but they are being redecorated as I write this response.

You made a point that hotels have a lot of competition from bed and breakfast properties in the form of standards of accommodation
Our room rates are the same if not lower than B&Bs but you are not just buying into a room for the night, as you have the facilites of a wonderful lounge area and snug, a large bar area with log fire in the Winter months, a separate and spacious restaurant and a lovely garden for al Freso dining in the Summer months as well as a spacious private car park ,
I hope that helps others with their choice for accommodation.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband booked this hotel last minute and I have to say what a find. Yes the room wasn't massive and was a little dated but after all you only sleep in it!! The staff were lovely, very friendly and welcoming, couldnt do enough for us, the lounges and bar area were fab, the roaring fire was just what you wanted after a little wander around the local square and what a treat in the morning with breakfast, none of your fried eggs kept warm under a heater that you get with the big chains, whatever you wanted, freshly cooked, beautiful presentation by lovely staff. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevvy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here. The log fire is a real attraction when in April the weather is still not quite there yet. We all try to make the guest feel welcome and at home here and regarding the breakfast - it is seen as the most important meal of the day so we try to offer something that will set people up for the day.

I look forward to taking the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Unicorn Hotel

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

we booked the hotel last minute and there wasnt much choice of hotels at an affordable price so we opted for the unicorn which was a very low price of £245 for 3 nights. upon arrival the staff couldnt of been more friendly and welcoming but not in an over the top way. the bar/restaurant areas were spotless and exactly what we went to the cotswolds for. we only ate at the hotel 1 evening and the food was lovely. our room again was spotless but a little tired looking but for the price it was a bargain and it was cleaned daily and fresh towels left. i am a little confused at some of the bad reviews i have just read because i am used to staying in 5* hotels in the lakes & london so was a little worried when we booked this but it was definitely very good value for money. ive just read about small portions at breakfast which again is puzzling as there was cereal, fruit, as much toast as you wanted to order and full english which was more than generous portions and when you finished the staff asked if you wanted anything else. probably due to the time of year we visited the evenings were a lot quieter than we were expecting but everything was open in the day. i hope you enjoy your visit there as much as we did.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for your kind review
I would just like to say thank you for appreciating exactly what I try to achieve here at The Unicorn Hotel which is good value for money in a friendly warm atmosphere in the heart of The Cotswolds.
The rooms are being redecorated one by one but not refurbished as this would lead to a substantial increase in the rooms rates which is not what I feel is needed for this property in the present economic environment.

I do appreciate your review

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

well , i know i booked last minute and there was nt much left , but a night away in the cotswolds with my loved one .how bad could it be . £89 for a superior room . would hate to see the average room . very tired and worn . shabby the bathroom needed attention in fact everything needed attention ! room 11 was on the main road it was stuffy , open the window you say ! only to be outside the traffic lights ,very noisey .. redeeming feature was the breakfast and the downstairs areas . however the polish waitress was rude ... the nicest part of the stay was wendy on reception she was pleasant polite and helpfull and wasted in that hotel .will not be staying again .... still had a nice time dispite accomodation

Room Tip: definately not room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debfinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Your comments are rather "disapointing " in that firstly room 11 does receive very good comments from other guests. The rooms are old fashioned and will need refurbishing which is exactly why you had the largest room in the Hotel for £89 quid on a Saturday night in the Cotswolds ( a room in a Hotel of a boutique style would be £150 to £200 for the same period ) The Windows are double glazed to cut out road noise so all you need to do is open them during the day so that it is aired (which the housekeepers normally do) then close them at night
If you felt that the waitress was rude then why not mention that to me during your stay. I do get many comments about how Friendly and attentive she is. Perthaps by the aggressive nature of your review you had said something rude to her ?
So in conclusion I do find the manner of your review aggressive, unjustified and uncalled for.

Chris Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £122 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing