We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1St Time vist to the cotswolds.”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
LIchfield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“1St Time vist to the cotswolds.”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

On our first time visit to the Cotswolds we decided to stay at the Unicorn Hotel,at Stow on the wold,which is excellantly suituated inthe heart of the Cotswolds.We found the staff to be exceptionatly friendly and curtiouos,and the hotel welcoming and cosy.We had booked a superior room which was spacious,light,and newly decorated. The one drawback with the room was that it was on the front of the hotel facing the busy A429 road and could be somewhat noisy at nightime with the traffic moving off from the traffic lights.The breakfasts were excellent with a good selection and good portions.There was also a cosy bar which offered a good selection of drinks and friendly barstaff. we would definately stop there again but would probably opt for a room at the rear of the hotel.

Room Tip: Unless you are a heavy sleeper a rear facing room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kostos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely ccomments regarding your stay here recently.
The rooms do have double glazing which should eliviate most of the road noise but we are an old coaching inn so by all means requesat a room at the rear facing the garden.

Hope to see you again here in the near future

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    100
    30
    15
    14
See reviews for
56
168
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We went there as a minibreak over the Jubilee weekend. We got a "deal" through trivago - £170 for 2 nights. Apparently this is the going rate for a B and B in the Cotswolds. Bit overpriced for what we got to be fair.

The room was small - not an issue if only staying for a short while but the lack of space could make you feel claustrophobic after a couple of days. The bed was fine. The cleanliness of the room was good and the room was cleaned well and the bed made each day.

The TV doesnt work properly. Not a massive issue admittedly but is a little irritating.

The bathroom was very dated and a bit cramped. The shower was spot on and worked well. No complaints.

The hotel is in a great location. It has free parking over the road in their car park. We walked around each evening to the pubs and restaurants and did not have to walk far at all. This is Stow so there isnt much to worry about in terms of a good nights sleep. We slept well both nights.

We didnt have lunch or dinner in the hotel so cannot comment.

The breakfast was very good. Full English both days with tea and toast which could be refilled on request. Ample supply of fruit juices and cereals as well as a choice of a variety of speciality teas. Left each moring very satisfied with the food.

The service over breakfast could be improved. The young ginger waiter appeared not to care at all as though he had a hangover both days. Addressing guests as "mate" is inappropriate. Doing his job seemed like a real chore to him. Perhaps the management could have a word that good service = happy guests = better tripadvisor reviews = more business = more £$ = more pay for him and possibly even a tip!!

Overall a better than average hotel. Would I stay there again? - Yes but not at the prices they are charging.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vopinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you for your review.
£85 a night including breakfast at the weekend for a Hotel ( not a B&B as a Hotel has services such as a bar, lounge, restaurant and more staff) in the Cotswolds is seen as good value for money as a more luxurious hotel with brand new bathrooms and larger rooms would be £150 to £200 per night. We do have superior rooms which are from £110 at the weekend.
Stay with us midweek and we can offer rates from £60 in the Winter months.


If the TV did not work properly then why did you not dial 0 for reception and we could have sorted it out for you.

We normally have great feedback regarding the waiter you mentioned and I have spoken to him about his lack of cutomer service.

Thank you for your overall comments on the Hotel.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just returned from a meal at the Unicorn. Ordered the beef stroganoff on the recommendation of guests who had had it the previous night. Dish had three thin strips of beef in it. When I reported this to the waiter, he immediately apologised and returned it to the chef. The reply came that this was the way it came. I was offered a replacement dish instead of more meat being added. Not wanting to make a fuss I made do. Minutes later another couple complained about their beef stroganoff which was beef in gravy. Paid for my meal but was the wrist meal I had had in a week and the most expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northeastvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We do gain a vast number of compliments about the quality of our food.
You did complain when you were here and my Duty Manager offered you another dish which you did not accept and you "did not want to make a fuss", so it is very difficult to compensate when that is the case although you are making a fuss now.

You also mentioned that it was "the most expensive meal in Stow." Our main courses are £7.95 at lunchtime and £11.95 in the evening.

Yours

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Decided to go to this lovely hotel purely on its location & although we have stayed in various other parts of the Cotswolds, have never really stayed in Stow!
The welcome was pleasant & friendly, I assumed the Gentleman was the Manager/owner, who informed us of Breakfast times & where the restaurant was & that a fire was going!
Our room (21) was located on the top floor and overlooked the courtyard, we were very surprised at the size, it was big with a very nice sized bathroom and very clean.The room has everything you need and the bed was fab! The TV didn't work but we weren't there to watch it anyway but thought we might get a radio channel as that was the only slight negative being no radio alarm clock.

The hotel is very warm & cosy with good lounges for reading and a very comfy bar area with sofa's in front of the log fire. Reasonable bar prices and the food menu was good but could do with a few more choices on it especially the Deserts maybe a fruit salad as lighter option!
The breakfast was very good in fact I struggled to finish mine on the first morning! Choose a lighter option the next day! The staff are great, professional & efficient without intruding on your privacy. Special mention to the tall blonde guy who seemed to be in the bar & restaurant the whole weekend, he is an asset to the hotel. service was quick and always with a smile!
The location is close to the shops & restaurants although we ate at the hotel both nights. Restaurant: Very good service and the food was piping hot which I am really fussy about!
Our room was made up each day with Tea/coffee etc replenished daily. There was a bit of late night noise where we could hear music being played but not enough to completely stop us from sleeping or complaining about it. this hotel is 17th century though so to be expected!

This hotel has a charm all of its own and we would definitely stay here again. We celebrated our Tenth Wedding Anniversary in a really lovely old-worlde hotel and just wanted a little bolt holt where we could relax & do nothing, and that's exactly what we got with a few extras thrown in!

Room Tip: Room noise is less the higher the floor, but unfortunately sound insulation in a 17th century buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flogoSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you so much for your very in depth and informative review. I do hope that you enjoyed your tenth anniversary here.

I do hpe that you might return here in the near future

Best wished from

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hi my wife and i spent 1 night at the Unicorn Hotel it was a great night, our room number 14 had a king size bed a great shower and bath, plenty of hot water, down stairs plenty of space to laze around very cozy with fire places going, had a great steak meal and desert with cold beers, had a great nights sleep. Would stay there again no problems.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddog888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
It was good welcoming you to the Unicorn Hotel and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay - The Rib eye steak is from the local butchers and locally sourced meat -

I do hope that I can welcome you again that is if you return to England.

You mentioned the log fire and it's rather ironic that a few days later we are basking in 24 degrees of sunshine - That's the English Summer for you !

I hope that you enjoy the rest of your stay in England.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The Unicorn is well situated, close to shops and restaurants. There are 2 inviting and comfortable lounges. It's a quirky old hotel with sloping floors and this all adds to its charm. The room (no 4), although not large, was pleasant and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was very small and the glass screen was fixed to the side of the bath so getting in and out of the bath was tricky. I could not reach around the screen to the taps , watch out if you want to run a bath in case you get a shower instead, I did and soaked the bathroom floor! However there was always plenty of hot water. Breakfast was disorganised, there appeared to be no efficient system to ensure that orders had been taken. It would be simple to place a menu on each table and the waiter/waitress take it away once the order is taken. We found it difficult to catch the eye of the waiter/waitress and for a table of 5 they seemed to think that 2 small teapots were sufficient. It was not a very busy breakfast room so they should really have been able to cope but did not do very well.The hotel should re-think the orange juice it was watery and tasteless and the buffet table was poorly stocked. The cooked breakfast was good.
Evening meal the night before was much better (food ok and service good) so we were disappointed at breakfast both the mornings we were there.
Receptionist was helpful and friendly & bar staff good.
However a pleasant hotel in a good situation (just don't expect good service at breakfast) I would prabably stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samandsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
The reason that the shower screen is fixed is because guests did not always close it properly which meant that the powerful shower would pour water onto the floor, through the ceiling and into the bar ! Unfortunately it is not a wet room.

Regarding breakfast, I have not had any adverse comments regarding breakfast service or the lack of order taking. We do not have a menu as we ask guests if they would like full English or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, which does seem sufficient for most guests and as we are a budget hotel the emphasis is on the cooked breakfast rather than the buffet which does include fresh fruit salad, juices, a good selection of cereals, and teas, we also serve toast and tea and coffee.

If it was a weekend that you stayed and if most of the guests come down for breakfast at the same time then there may be a wait for service but my staff will always try to do their best to serve you as quickly as possible.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We have just returned from a bank holiday break at The Unicorn Hotel and have to say what an excellent hotel this is,creaky floorboards and loads of beams, yes the room was probabley a bit dated but it was clean and warm, the rest of the hotel was immaculate the bar area was lovely with open fire and comfortable settees,all of the staff are very friendly and helpfull and the food was very good and reasonably priced, we have stayed here before and will definately be staying again, If pushed to find fault the only thing i could say would be to replace the sign out side as it looks slightly dated and the small area of grass out side the front door needs mowing

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennybear1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Great constructive comments - thank you

The sign outside will be replaced but we are spending money on the Hotel in stages as we are in a difficult trading environment.

The small area outside is not our property and normally the council will mow the grass but I agree that it does look untidy and will get it mown tomorrow.

Many thanks again for your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon at The Unicorn.

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
230 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,217 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,426 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing