We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
united kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

we stayed in room 10 for the week end and i can truly stay it was a magical experience it is like visting family i cannot fault the care and attention chris and janna gave me and even got me gluten free bread for my meals all i can say to people who want a stay in the cotswold is you cant go wrong staying here and yes the dog can come too

Room Tip: room 10 cosy room with a big bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnitedKingdomJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
It was good of you to post a review and thanks for your exemplary comments about The Hotel and Staff.
I do hope that I can welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    98
    30
    15
    14
See reviews for
49
168
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in this cosy grade 2 listed hotel and really enjoyed it, was greeted with a very warm welcome on our arrival, the staff are excellent and extremely helpful in every way.
We had our evening meal in the restraunt there and the food & wine was very enjoyable the best rib eye I've had in a long time.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent it had everything you could expect for a hearty English breakfast along with excellent service.
There is a lovely area to sit and relax opposite reception and read the Sunday papers which are provided.
The hotel is ideally situated just on the edge of Stowe with ample parking space either In front or in the car park across the road
Thank you once again I will be recommending the unicorn to our friends and family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjcrew2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for the review - The ribeye steaks are from Lambourne Butchers in Stow who are excellent at providing good quality local and generally free range meat. They may be a little more expensive but are definitely worth it.

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from the Cotswolds, we visit several times a year. Every time we visit we go and eat in the unicorn. The staff are always friendly and the food is good and reasonable. The best thing is that the allow us to take our dog in. It's is an oldie worldie place and I hope they never change it.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sue259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Thank you for your words regarding the Unicorn, the quality of food and the staff.
We are dog friendly so it means that guests can bring their loved ones on a break with them rather than putting them in kennels for the weekend so I hope that this helps our customers.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

When travelling in the UK this is the type of hotel you must stay in at least once on your travels. Lots of fun getting lost finding my room up the stairs! Bed and bathroom was great, food superb and typically English bar and dining room. Didn't mind the creaking stairs or getting the luggage up them, but wish I had picked the inside room away from the main road and the intersection. The owner was most kind and helpful, giving us lots of information on local history. Wish I could have stayed a lot longer just to enjoy the hospitality and wonderful atmosphere of this lovely 'old lady'.

Room Tip: If you have a choice of rooms make sure you have an inside room overlooking the garden as the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennykain255108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay here and the creaking floor boards. There can be some road noise but do just make sure that the secondary glasing is closed at night and that will cut out most of the traffic noise.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks Nest, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

While a lovely historic building just around the corner from the attractive town square, of the 5 hotels/B&B's we stayed at during our 7-day cycle tour around the Cotswolds, The Unicorn was the least impressive. The service was shambolic and dinner, which looked promising on the menu, was very disappointing. Our room was okay, but nothing to write home about. The best thing about it was the en suite which had a comfortable bath (a real plus after a long ride). Breakfast was a rather farcical affair: the one staff member (very friendly) on duty reported that all of the other staff, including the manager,had stayed up late partying the night before and, as a consequence, had come into work late. There weren't enough provisions in the breakfast room and there was a long wait for hot food. Baked beans were off the menu because the cook wasn't able to get the new can opener to work! In summary, The Unicorn wasn't the worst place to stay by any means but I'd have look at what other accommodation options were available before booking again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 95097779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. It would have been good if you had said what was disapointing about your dinner here. If you had mentioned this to us at the time we could have done something to rectify it before you left as we have some very good comments about the quality of the food.
If breakfast service had been "shambolic" then I am sure that it was a rare occurance but I am rather bemused at the comment about the baked beans as they are not on the breakfast menu.

Yours

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Have just returned from 5 days stay with a party of 34. This is the fifth such holiday at different hotels around the country and everyone felt this was the best. Service and food were excellent, especialy considering the extra problems of coping with a large group. We also negotiated a very good deal by booking a long way ahead which meant the stay was amazing value too. A word of warning though, the car park is on the other side of the road and could do with resurfacing; a minor inconvenience worth putting up with.

Room Tip: No lift so the top rooms are quite a climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and I have to say that you were the most accommodating group I have hosted here in the 7 years I have been General Manager.

The entrance to the car park will be gravelled again very soon as it does get a lot of use

Thanks again for your review

Best wished

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here 22/06/12 for one night on our way to Southampton for a cruise & what a delightful place we found. Full of olde worlde charm, creaking floorboards/4 poster bed etc. We had a standard room and it was great. Very comfortable bed,great shower fab bar & a lovely full english next morning. Had a chat with the owner the morning we left & found him to be a very amiable chap indeed. Obviously loves his hotel & is very keen to hear the thoughts of his guests. Without a doubt would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaz330ci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your review of The Unicorn and it was a pleasure having you as guests. I do hope that you enjoyed your cruise ( I was rather envious at the time if I remember !)

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
187 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
318 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,398 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing