We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our silver wedding as we honeymooned here 25 years ago. Right from the friendliness when booking and checking in (there was a congratulations card from the hotel in our room), nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very attentive - we could not ask for anything more. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
It was a real pleasure hosting your 25th wedding anniversary and I do appreciate your review.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    98
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
42
163
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We decided to stay an extra night.
We liked the hotel, the room was well sized, warm and very clean.
Service was friendly. The restaurant is OK for a meal, we went both nights, and excellent for a drink; they serve a nice bitter from the Hook Norton brewery.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, the ambiance of the Hotel and the friendly staff. We offer 2 real ales from Hook Norton - Hooky at 3.5 % which is most populer but I personally prefer the Cotswold Lion which is slightly stronger at 4.0% but has a greater depth of flavour, with a sweetness so it is not too hoppy.

I hope that you stay here again so you can try the LIon !

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Hotel was warm and welcoming. Met by Chris the hotel manager who was made us feel very welcome. Furnishing are a bit old but the hotel was spotlessly clean and bed linen crispy cotten. The food was absolutely georgous and the bar/restaurant staff were very attentive. Many thanks to Victor for looking after us and making our anniversary weekend really lovely. Other guests were very friendly and made for a very relaxing, enjoyable time. Stow on the Wold beautiful with lovely shops. Bourton on the Water lovely too. Highly recommend. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend and that we exceeded your expectations.

We do try to offer a friendly and cosy atmosphere for a Cotswold break.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Hotel itself was great and just what you’d expect from an old coaching inn. It retains a lot of the original features and charm which for me included the sloping ceilings and floors! Beds were very comfortable so made for a good nights sleep. I think the management could do with losing the additional chairs and occasional table as the room felt over cramped and made making your way around the bed and accessing the wardrobe a little awkward. Perhaps they should lose the chairs and consider adding a seat/pad and making more of a feature of the window seat?

I regularly stay in hotels 4 nights a week for business but was staying here for pleasure and found the breakfast at the Unicorn excellent and a much more personal experience than the busy over produced buffet style I usually endure on a weekly basis! There is the usual buffet style cereals and juices available, but you are served your breakfast (cooked to order) by a delightful team of staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.

Room itself was clean and well serviced by attentive staff, but the bathroom was a little on the tired side and could do with updating

Unfortunately I can’t comment on the evening meals as did not dine there. This decision was not based on lack of menu options, ambience etc but was entirely as a result of the Hotel’s General Managers attitude as upon arrival he refused to allow us to partake of the £15 A La Carte Option that is published on the hotel website as we had not “pre-booked it”. Despite explaining that whilst shown on the website, the booking options did not allow for us to include the Dinner option, he refused to budge. The only way I could possibly respond to his attitude was to vote with my feet and as a result I had great pleasure in spending approx £170 across the other establishments to cover our evening meal requirements for the 3 nights of our stay. His loss – not ours.

Negatives – The Hotel General Manager attitude! The Hotel car park also needs some major attention – there are lots of large pot holes that fill with water and will no doubt be difficlut to navigate around in gloomy winter months. These are all trip hazards and need filling before someone either breaks their ankle – or drowns!!

The hotel itself is OK but if revisiting Stow on the Wold, I probably stay somewhere else purely down to the General Manager’s attitude upon arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NDDIR00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you for your rather long review and I will start by responding to your most agrieved point which you mentioned 3 times "attitude of the Genral Manager". Your review sounded like an argument ensued over the dinner bed and breakfast rate (DBB) but that was not the case at all.

I will explain our policy: We offer a bed and breakfast rate or a dinner bed and breakfast rate and the DBB rate is just £15 more per person for a 3 course dinner from the A la Carte menu.
The purpose of this is to that it guarentees the Hotel food and beverage income in advance of your arrival so it is available on booking only. It means that the we can forecast for the purchase of food and revenue. The normal price of 3 courses is approximately £23 but main courses are from £11.00 so it is reasonably priced.

I will not authorise a discount when you check in just beacuse you decide that you like the menu.This Hotel is a value for money historic property so you already have an inexpensive bed and breakfast rate. If the option was not available on the booking agent's site then why not call us and we would have been more than happy to book you on a DBB package.

Regarding your comments about moving easy chairs out of room 4. This is another thing that you don't grasp which is that to be a 3 star hotel all the rooms need to have separate easy chairs. Room 4 is a smaller room and no one has mentioned this as a problem in the past. Each room is different and if you were unhappy with the room, I would have been more than happy to move you.One thing you have not mentioned is that room has a wonderful brass bed which is one of the most comfortable beds in the Hotel.

It may be more preferable to be better informed before writing any more reviews.

Chris Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have just got back from 2 nights away with our cocker spaniel and we can honestly say it is one of the loveliest places we have stayed. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating, our room was cosy and really comfortable and the hotel had a really relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend and we look forward to staying there again in the future. Mr and Mrs Day

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you Mr and Mrs Day for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the old world charm of The Unicorn with it's log fire and friendly staff and I do hope that your cocker Spaniel enjoyed their stay as well.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at the Unicorn last weekend. The hotel is situated in the centre of Stow on the corner of two main roads so expect some traffic noise over night. There is car parking outside the hotel but it is usually full and the main car park is on the opposite side of the road to the hotel.

When we checked in we were with another couple and had booked two superior rooms. Our room (10) had maintenance problems and no bath and when we saw our friends room (8) we asked for a move. We were given a new room (3) which had a four poster bed. The room was OK although the bed was small.

The staff were friendly and efficient and we felt at home in the hotel. The bar was a typical small pub with lots of regulars who all seemed friendly.

The food both dinner and breakfast was of a good standard (We were on a half board basis).

No real complaints after the initial room switch and I would recommend it for a weekend break. The cost of £300 for a half board weekend break was reasonable

Room Tip: Room 8 very good Aviod room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thanks for your comments about your stay and I do hope that you both enjoyed your birthdays here. Some of the rooms have walk in showers rather than baths with showers above them as some people prefer a shower cubicle. some hotels only have showers in the rooms as that is most peoples preference. I don't Know what the maintenance issues were in the room.

The bed in room 3 (The 4 poster) is 5 foot wide by 6 foot 3 long which is 3 inches shorter than a normal kingt size bed so it is a bespoke size as it is a very old style of 4 poster and in those days most beds were 4ft 6 double size.

I hope that this explains things

Regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night as a get away. Not cheap but the photos looked nice. As said the main building was nice however the room was very shabby. Worn carpet. Thread bare actually. Chair arms grubby. Bathroom was fairly clean but in need of re- silicon ing as it was black. Tiny tv etc. just really needs an overhaul. We didn't eat there as wanted to go out. But we had a couple of drinks. The restaurant staff were so much more friendly than the hotel staff. At breakfast which was ok apart from they had no vegetarian option for my wife the staff were very good. However the hotel staff didn't even look up to say hello when you came in. In all its ok but you would want to get it very cheap which we didn't. There are far nicer hotels within a mile or two. Best bit was the bed was really comfy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinlong22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
We do set out to be the best value for money in the Stow area so I would be very surprised if we were expensive - I would very much like to know who you are comparing us with ?

Regarding your comments about cleanliness, I have checked the rooms and the tiles are clean. The rooms are dated that is why we offer value for money.

You mentioned that the Reception staff did not look up when you walked in - Well really the one thing the other reviews do mention is the friendliness of the staff - Sometimes we have handover meetings in reception when a new mannagment shift starts and we may have been deep in conversation when you walked in and not deliberately ignoring you. So if you need a welcome host and a conciege then do pay more somewhere else for the extra staffing.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing