We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Unicorn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Stow Lodge Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stag Lodge(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Old Stocks Inn(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheep on Sheep Street(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosse Manor Hotel(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa(Stow-on-the-Wold)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Slaughters Manor House(Lower Slaughter)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lords of the Manor Hotel(The Slaughters)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
169
108
31
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
108
31
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraffic lightsold coaching innunderfloor heatingbusy road junctiondining tableliving areaself cateringshort strollbooked last minutethree nightstop floorpubs and restaurantsfantastic locationa lovely stayone night staybiscuitscoffee machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our silver wedding as we honeymooned here 25 years ago. Right from the friendliness when booking and checking in (there was a congratulations card from the hotel in our room), nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very attentive - we could not ask for anything more. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

It was a real pleasure hosting your 25th wedding anniversary and I do appreciate your review.

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We decided to stay an extra night.
We liked the hotel, the room was well sized, warm and very clean.
Service was friendly. The restaurant is OK for a meal, we went both nights, and excellent for a drink; they serve a nice bitter from the Hook Norton brewery.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2012

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, the ambiance of the Hotel and the friendly staff. We offer 2 real ales from Hook Norton - Hooky at 3.5 % which is most populer but I personally prefer the Cotswold Lion which is slightly stronger at 4.0% but has a greater depth of flavour, with a sweetness so it is not too hoppy.

I hope that you stay here again so you can try the LIon !

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Hotel was warm and welcoming. Met by Chris the hotel manager who was made us feel very welcome. Furnishing are a bit old but the hotel was spotlessly clean and bed linen crispy cotten. The food was absolutely georgous and the bar/restaurant staff were very attentive. Many thanks to Victor for looking after us and making our anniversary weekend really lovely. Other guests were very friendly and made for a very relaxing, enjoyable time. Stow on the Wold beautiful with lovely shops. Bourton on the Water lovely too. Highly recommend. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend and that we exceeded your expectations.

We do try to offer a friendly and cosy atmosphere for a Cotswold break.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Best regards

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Hotel itself was great and just what you’d expect from an old coaching inn. It retains a lot of the original features and charm which for me included the sloping ceilings and floors! Beds were very comfortable so made for a good nights sleep. I think the management could do with losing the additional chairs and occasional table as the room felt over cramped and made making your way around the bed and accessing the wardrobe a little awkward. Perhaps they should lose the chairs and consider adding a seat/pad and making more of a feature of the window seat?

I regularly stay in hotels 4 nights a week for business but was staying here for pleasure and found the breakfast at the Unicorn excellent and a much more personal experience than the busy over produced buffet style I usually endure on a weekly basis! There is the usual buffet style cereals and juices available, but you are served your breakfast (cooked to order) by a delightful team of staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.

Room itself was clean and well serviced by attentive staff, but the bathroom was a little on the tired side and could do with updating

Unfortunately I can’t comment on the evening meals as did not dine there. This decision was not based on lack of menu options, ambience etc but was entirely as a result of the Hotel’s General Managers attitude as upon arrival he refused to allow us to partake of the £15 A La Carte Option that is published on the hotel website as we had not “pre-booked it”. Despite explaining that whilst shown on the website, the booking options did not allow for us to include the Dinner option, he refused to budge. The only way I could possibly respond to his attitude was to vote with my feet and as a result I had great pleasure in spending approx £170 across the other establishments to cover our evening meal requirements for the 3 nights of our stay. His loss – not ours.

Negatives – The Hotel General Manager attitude! The Hotel car park also needs some major attention – there are lots of large pot holes that fill with water and will no doubt be difficlut to navigate around in gloomy winter months. These are all trip hazards and need filling before someone either breaks their ankle – or drowns!!

The hotel itself is OK but if revisiting Stow on the Wold, I probably stay somewhere else purely down to the General Manager’s attitude upon arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NDDIR00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Thank you for your rather long review and I will start by responding to your most agrieved point which you mentioned 3 times "attitude of the Genral Manager". Your review sounded like an argument ensued over the dinner bed and breakfast rate (DBB) but that was not the case at all.

I will explain our policy: We offer a bed and breakfast rate or a dinner bed and breakfast rate and the DBB rate is just £15 more per person for a 3 course dinner from the A la Carte menu.
The purpose of this is to that it guarentees the Hotel food and beverage income in advance of your arrival so it is available on booking only. It means that the we can forecast for the purchase of food and revenue. The normal price of 3 courses is approximately £23 but main courses are from £11.00 so it is reasonably priced.

I will not authorise a discount when you check in just beacuse you decide that you like the menu.This Hotel is a value for money historic property so you already have an inexpensive bed and breakfast rate. If the option was not available on the booking agent's site then why not call us and we would have been more than happy to book you on a DBB package.

Regarding your comments about moving easy chairs out of room 4. This is another thing that you don't grasp which is that to be a 3 star hotel all the rooms need to have separate easy chairs. Room 4 is a smaller room and no one has mentioned this as a problem in the past. Each room is different and if you were unhappy with the room, I would have been more than happy to move you.One thing you have not mentioned is that room has a wonderful brass bed which is one of the most comfortable beds in the Hotel.

It may be more preferable to be better informed before writing any more reviews.

Chris Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have just got back from 2 nights away with our cocker spaniel and we can honestly say it is one of the loveliest places we have stayed. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating, our room was cosy and really comfortable and the hotel had a really relaxing atmosphere. Would definitely recommend and we look forward to staying there again in the future. Mr and Mrs Day

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you Mr and Mrs Day for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the old world charm of The Unicorn with it's log fire and friendly staff and I do hope that your cocker Spaniel enjoyed their stay as well.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Chris Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews