We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They give it their best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“They give it their best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

we stayed over at the unicorn as my father has stayed before many years ago. we stayed between xmas and new year. we loved the old style of the building and the creaky floorboard add to the character of the building. we felt very relaxed and enjoyed the bar area. The food is very satisfying indeed

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed everything here especially the food so I do hope you will come back soon

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    98
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
44
165
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Just returned from our annual visit to the Cotswolds between Christmas and the New Year. This was the first time for us to stay in Stow and chose to stay at the Unicorn Hotel. I am so glad we did and please ignore any negative reviews you read about this hotel. The Hotel is charming, clean and very welcoming. The staff are pleasant and helpful and go out of their way to make your stay here as good as possible. The manager and his staff make you feel as if they really care about providing a good service and looking after you to the best of their ability. The food is first class and the breakfast is superb. We stayed in room 8 and I was surprised to read some negative reviews regarding this room. It was clean, warm and tastefully decorated and I enjoyed 2 very good night's sleep. Last year we stayed in a 4 star plus hotel in Burford but enjoyed our stay in the Unicorn more. Thank you for a lovely weekend and we will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 and I am quite fussy, but would happily stay in this room again. It is overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshlady944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for favourably comparing us to a 4 star hotel in Burford although star ratings are usually used to show a Hotel's facilities and not it's quality of service which has utmost importance in running a Hotel.

Look forward to seeing you again

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Room no 15. This was small, basic and clean if not dated, located facing away from road traffic and looking into small kitchen courtyard area, some ventilation noise on/off during the night but not loud.
Had evening meal in the hotel, though expensive more "a la carte" was nice, was disappointed that the local beer Hook Norton was not available, breakfast choice was very good.
The staff were very helpfull and gave an european flair to the hotel.
Within a short walk to the small quaint, historical town centre enjoyed the Christmas market and lights.

Room Tip: Had a room on the far wing facing away from the traffic..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danishblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at The Unicorn Hotel -
The rooms do vary in size and style as it is a property dating back to 1642 so some of the rooms are smaller so if you had booked last minute, you may have been allocated one of the last smaller rooms but we do have much larger superior rooms at just £20 more per night.
The dinner menu is prced from £11.00 for a main course with most around £12.95 so I don't quite understand why you thought it was expensive.
Regarding your comment about the local beer, We actually have 2 Hook Norton Ales in cask and if The Hooky was not available as a new barrel may have needed to settle, then the Cotswold Lion would be available which is 0.5% stronger with a slightly fuller flavour.
I do hope that my reply was helpful

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

We stayed just the one night at this characterful old coaching inn, and enjoyed our stay very much. Being a Sunday night in December, it was very quiet with not many fellow guests. We stayed in a superior room (room 11) which was large and very comfortable. Yes, its a bit faded round the edges but if you want a boutique hotel, you pay boutique hotel prices - particularly in this part of the world. It was exactly what we expected from an old inn and was quite charming. The secondary double glazing works very well at keeping the traffic noise at bay - we slept like babies until our alarm went off at 8.30!
We stayed on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package and the 3 course dinner was very good indeed for £15 per head - good choices and very tasty. My husband paid a small supplement for the steak and said it was excellent. The breakfast was also very good and the staff were friendly and helpful.
My only very small criticism was that it would have been nice if the bedroom had net curtains at the window. Obviously not a problem at night, but in the morning they would have afforded a little privacy.
Thank you for a very pleasant stay in a lovely part of the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JwPj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments about the Hotel and the staff. I will look at getting some net curtains for room 11.

Hope to see you again

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here to celebrate our silver wedding as we honeymooned here 25 years ago. Right from the friendliness when booking and checking in (there was a congratulations card from the hotel in our room), nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and both the evening meal and breakfast were excellent. The staff were friendly, welcoming and very attentive - we could not ask for anything more. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
It was a real pleasure hosting your 25th wedding anniversary and I do appreciate your review.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

We decided to stay an extra night.
We liked the hotel, the room was well sized, warm and very clean.
Service was friendly. The restaurant is OK for a meal, we went both nights, and excellent for a drink; they serve a nice bitter from the Hook Norton brewery.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, the ambiance of the Hotel and the friendly staff. We offer 2 real ales from Hook Norton - Hooky at 3.5 % which is most populer but I personally prefer the Cotswold Lion which is slightly stronger at 4.0% but has a greater depth of flavour, with a sweetness so it is not too hoppy.

I hope that you stay here again so you can try the LIon !

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Hotel was warm and welcoming. Met by Chris the hotel manager who was made us feel very welcome. Furnishing are a bit old but the hotel was spotlessly clean and bed linen crispy cotten. The food was absolutely georgous and the bar/restaurant staff were very attentive. Many thanks to Victor for looking after us and making our anniversary weekend really lovely. Other guests were very friendly and made for a very relaxing, enjoyable time. Stow on the Wold beautiful with lovely shops. Bourton on the Water lovely too. Highly recommend. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend and that we exceeded your expectations.

We do try to offer a friendly and cosy atmosphere for a Cotswold break.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing