We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed April 2013”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed April 2013”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband & I have stayed here before about 6 years ago, & came back for another lovely stay. Staff are very pleasant, Place very clean, warm & friendly, it was just what we needed to relax & recharge our batteries. Thank you Mr & Mrs M

Room Tip: Rooms on road can be noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Great to hear from you Mr and Mrs M. and thank you for the review but I do hope that you might return a little sooner than another 6 years.

Hope to welcome you back soon

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    98
    29
    15
    14
See reviews for
49
167
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Just spent three very happy nights here. The hotel is very comfortable and full of character and charm. The staff are extremely hard-working, cheerful and friendly. The food is really good as is the attentive service. We feel well-rested and refreshed after our short break and will be recommending it to all our friends.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel which rooms are available and try to secure one away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
I do appreciate your comments about the staff, food and the general ambiance of the Hotel.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

recently stayed here for only one night good friday lovely room really clean. open fire in bar really warm and welcoming. great food crab linguine mmm. very warm welcome. did not take our dog but is a dog friendly hotel which was lovely. breakfast was very good lots of choice. lovely character old inn in a lovely location .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy2too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
I do appreciate your lovely review - The crab linguine is one of my favorite dishes which is why I put it on the menu - glad you enjoyed it

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed for three nights at the Unicorn and would thoroughly recommend it. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food quality was very good, there was a log fire in the bar, the room was clean and well maintained with a comfy bed. This is an ideal base to explore the Cotswolds. The only minus point was that the hotel is situated at a busy main road traffic light junction, not their fault, but in our room due to the volume of traffic noise we could not have the window open at night.
We would certainly stay at the Unicorn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to review The Unicorn and I am really pleased that the room, food and the staff were of a high standard.

The Hotel was a Coaching Inn dating back to 1642 so it was deliberately built on the Roman road named The Fosse Way to attract business from passing coaches. The bedrooms have secondary glazing but if you do feel the need to open a window then just ask for a room away from the Fosse Way when you hopefully return in the future.

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
egham
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Great location and very relaxed atmosphere. We and the dog were made to feel very welcome by the cheerful, friendly and hard working staff. The only suggestion would be for something other than the daily mail to be available in the lounge. Please note this is an original Inn with original features.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank annettet615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for your review - We do try to make everyone welcome and at home including four legged freinds.
Normally there are other publications available apart from the newspaper such as the Country life magazine and The Stow Times but they do sometimes go astray so I will do my best to keep a better stock in future.
The Inn is very traditional and dates back to 1642 although it is classed as a small Hotel as it has 20 bedrooms with a restaurant, lounge and bar

I do hope that I can welcome you back soon

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed at hotel between 22nd and 24th February 2013 in Room 21 on the top floor.

Hotel areas and room were cold, except for the top floor corridor.

Room had frayed carpet and was coming away from the edges of the room, this was supported by a nice stained chair!

Mentioned concerns whilst there to members of staff. Following our stay the manager has advised that this was to the waiting staff, and we should not have spoken of issues to them.

Had various email correspondence with the manager following our stay. He is obviously used to dealing with complaints by his attitude - I am sure his response will confirm this.

The general response seemed to be summarised by what do you expect for £85 per night B&B?
The price of the room is not an issue, but do feel a general acceptable level of standards should be maintained regardless of the cost, and you should not feel cold inside the hotel.

If your expectations are not that high, this hotel is for you.

The positives of our stay are that the staff are friendly and the food good.

Room Tip: Avoid top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
I am also rather disapointed as you did not mention any problem with your room during your stay until you checked out and at that point were very aggressive towards my female Assistant manager which was completely uncalled for.

If you were unhappy with the room or any part of your stay then we would have gladly put it right for you or moved you to another room and there was a superior room available.
Your friend in the next room did mention that she was a little cold so I immediately took an electric heater up to her room. I asked her later if everything was ok for her and ahe was very happy.
You simply did not give us the opportunity to resolve the issue as you did not communicate any other issues to us.
I feel that it is important to respond to all reviews in the hope that it will give readers more balanced and informed information on The Hotel.

Yours faithfully

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Very friendly staff and a hotel with a very pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. We booked on the morning of our stay so got a cheap deal which was good. A very large bed which was slightly on the hard side but comfortable. The room was adequate with the only serious criticism being the shower which oscillated between being extremely hot and extremely cold - why can hotels provide a half decent shower in 2013!!!

The evening meal which we ate in the bar was delicious and the breakfast was equally so. All in all a good stay.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
I do apprciate your coments regarding your enjoyable stay here. The showers are very powerful, all have mixer taps which should work very efficiently but I was not made aware that the temperature oscillated from hot to cold so I will check the running temperature of each shower to eliminate the problem.

Thank you again for your review

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing