We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Excellent weekend all round! Well done Unicorn! Faultless service and staff and delicious breakfast. Would recommend to visitors to the area. Great advice on local walks and activities. Only downside was car park is on opposite side of road to hotel. But I must stress that this did not detract from my stay at all!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
I do appreciate the praise for your recent stay here and we are all on hand for guests with general requests about local info.
The road can be a bit of a pain to cross from the car park but do just use the pedestrian crossing but there are quite often spaces right outside the Hotel as well.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    98
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
42
163
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife, our Jack Russell dog and I recently stayed at the Unicorn. We had booked for two nights midweek however our stay was so enjoyable we just had to add an extra day/night!
We stayed in room 1 which was a good size, a huge bed, nicely decorated and well positioned within the hotel. Chris and all the staff were excellent, the breakfasts were great and evening dinners were also good.
We love Stow and the surrounding towns and without hesitation would highly recommend the Unicorn and without doubt will be staying again, Christmas could be interesting!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
It was great reading your very positive review and I am pleased that you really enjoyed your stay.

It is certainly not too early to think about Christmas as we already have bookings for the festive period. The atmosphere is more cosy with the wonderful inglenook fireplace in the bar.

I do hope to hear from you

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have just returned after a 2 day break at Unicorn Hotel. It was our first time in the Cotswolds but won't be our last, what a pretty place! We asked for a quiet room as the hotel is on a main road and were given room 16, although small this room is perfectly adequate with plenty of storage/hanging space, and yes Chris the bed was lovely and confortable thank you! First night we ate in the restaurant and second night in the bar, we preferred the restaurant but both nights although the menu is slightly limited, especially if you don't normally eat much meat, all the food was beautifully cooked and very fresh.

All the staff are really friendly and helpful and special thanks go to Chris the manager for a very smooth and professional check in when we arrived, and we must mention Jana who pulled out all the stops to help us when there was a slight problem with our reservation and who was extremely helpful and informative when we met her, many thanks Jana you are an asset to the Unicorn. The Unicorn has its own car park across the main road which is extremely useful as the parking in Stow and elsewhere in the Cotswolds can be a bit of a nightmare. Also we were lucky enough to be there when the weather was really good, the garden at the rear of the hotel is lovely and quiet and well worth visiting for an afternoon drink after a walk round the area.

If you havent tried the Unicorn it is well worth a try, we travel quite a bit and we would certainly recommend this hotel for the friendliness and cleanliness throughout and as a base for the rest of the Cotswolds. Once again many thanks to Chris and all your staff for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: room 16 small but adequate and if you shut the double glazing you dont hear the church bells during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkersStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
I very much enjoyed hosting your stay here at the Unicorn and I am pleased that the bed was comfortable as it was new and one of the more expensive beds in our suppliers range.

Thank you for your lovely comments about Jana, Assistant Manager and myself.

Hope to welcome you back

Kind regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We arrived sat 20th july for two nights. We have had a brill time, every one was helpfull,rooms were very clean. I was a little concerned before we arrived after reading some of the reviews, but i have to say i could find nothing to complain about, people must like complaining!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenkelly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
It was a pleasure having you as guests here at the Unicorn and I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations.

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had a very pleasant 2 night stay at The Unicorn the end of June. It has a charming atmosphere with a good location and a private car park across the road. The staff were excellent, friendly and efficient. From the hotel it is easy to walk around Stow and to drive to nearby attractions. We have booked another visit in August.

Room Tip: As this an old hotel some of the floors are uneven and there are many little steps to some of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
I do appreciate your review and yes I do agree that the building is not suitable for people with mobility problems as it dates back to 1642 and it is a listed building so we are not allowed to have a lift installed but there is only a domestic style stairs leading to most of the room with a second set of stairs leading to a few more.

I hope that this helps

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have just returned from a very pleasant stay at the Unicorn hotel olde coaching inn.The staff were friendly and efficient nothing seemed to much trouble, furniture and carpets some would say need replacing we think not this added charm to this old building.the whole place was nice and clean with good towels and bedding, our bedroom was on the corner of a very busy junction so rather noisy although room very nice no ac (dont think they had it 400yrs ago) but large fan provided tea coffee facilities and television in room also good free parking across the road.location very good just few minutes walk into stow market square, and about 4miles to bourton on the water the same to moreton on the marsh(market day tuesday)
must also mention we were half board and the food very good, just our preference (not a complaint ) too much gravy perhaps better served in a gravy boat.If you want boutique hotels this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: ask for one away from main roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for your very accurate review of the Unicorn hotel and yes the dinner bed and breakfast rate is good value for money, providing simple English food.

Hope you can stay again

All the best

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Thank you for our recent stay at the Unicorn, we had a lovely time. I rang and requested a quiet roon as some reviews had mentioned traffic noise. Our room was great, small, but nicely decorated and had everything we needed, and ample storage space. And it was very peaceful, apart from the church bells after Murray won Wimbledon, but that was fun!! The staff were lovely, polite and helpful. We enjoyed the food. No problems at all with car parking and a good location for Stow itself on foot, and easy access to all the many surrounding attractions. I hope we will be able to come back again soon.

Room Tip: Ours was room 21, up 2 flights of stairs, but no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
It would be wonderful to see you again and yes what a final of Wimbledon it was - great for Britain !

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing