We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bells, the bells”
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke on Trent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Bells, the bells”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Smashing place, reasonable breakfast, brilliant evening meal.
We went in July (late reviewing), it was very hot, in the evening we had to have the window open,
the church nearby had the bell striking @ quarter past the hour(short), half past(longer), & quarter to (even longer), had a job to sleep. Now the church is in the centre of Stow so all the hotels/pubs would hear this, shame really. But don't let this detract from the Unicorn, when we shut the window (we cooked) but you could hardly hear the chimes, so it would be OK on cooler nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad that your enjoyed your stay here.

The bells do chime through the night which does affect some rooms and some guests rather like the sound of the church bells but if you are adverse to them just shut the window and on warmer nights simply switch on the 16 inch pedestal fan which we put in the wardrobe of each room for the summer months.

Kind regards

Chris martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    99
    30
    15
    14
See reviews for
53
168
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

Four of us were undertaking a two day cycle tour of the Cotswolds. We needed a hotel where we could store our bikes securely overnight.

We found the hotel very easily, it is conveniently located for the centre of Stow.

We were expected and directed to a room where we could store our bikes and that would be locked until we left the next day. The receptionist was very friendly. I was in a twin room with one of my colleagues and the room was nice and the en-suite shower/bath room was OK. The room overlooked the side of the hotel and we weren't troubled by noise.

There was a good bar menu and we decided to eat in the hotel. All four of us enjoyed the food and it wasn't expensive.

The breakfast was very good and included the option of a fruit salad.

We would stay and eat here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
It was good of you to take the trouble to comment on your stay and I do appreciate everything you mentioned about The Unicorn.

Hope to see you again on your next 2 wheel adventure

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Warm (very warm!),very friendly and helpful (thanks Wendy) and the food was excellent. Nice 4-poster which was unexpected.
Only downside was that due to temperature (yes I know, October in the UK!!) had to have window open and it sits on a very busy road/junction so the noise was tedious all night. Shape of hotel follows the road so don't know if "inside" rooms available.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donkeede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Regarding the room, do simply leave the window open during the day and close it at night with the fan on which is provided for you so it will be cool in the room just like you would at home.

Kind regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Charming place to stay but the rooms need some attention. The floorboards creaked all night. While the room was OK, the TV was the smallest we have encountered in England and the On/off button was very dodgy. The phone to ring reception didn't work as well. Breakfast was good as we're the evening meals. Plenty of character but needs some new equipment.

Room Tip: Have no one above you as the floors creak whenever someone walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Yes we are refurbishing from next week but that will probably put the prices up I'm afraid as we were always on of the least expensive Hotels in the Cotswolds.

Yours Faithfully

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kingston upon thames
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

29/9/2013
just got back from a lovely weekend staying in this very pretty part of England. The Unicorn was such a lovely place, full of character and very reasonably priced,friendly staff and good food.If you are looking for something with a bit of character, and don't mind the old creaky floorboard then this is the place for you! We stayed in room 4 a little small but had everything we needed, plenty of wardrobe space to store our suitcases,and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was lovely, nice choice and great coffee.
We would definitely stay again...thanks to all the staff keep up the good work and ignore any bad reviews!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaznjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
It was really good of you to write such a glowing review particularly about the food and the customer service.

Yes the floor boards do creak but it does date back to 1642

Hopefully see you again

All the best

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I, plus my daughter her husband and dog, Stayed here for one night on our way home from Cornwall. Really comfortable rooms, lovely evening meal and breakfast. Plenty of secure parking and courteous staff. They made all of us and the dog really welcome.
Stow on The Wold is a lovely town to explore with dogs welcome in many tea rooms and shops.
We will definitely return to both the hotel and town.

Room Tip: We had a late booking so didn't have a choice but our rooms were lovely. Noise was not a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidstogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay here at the Unicorn Hotel and I am so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed The Hotel and The town of Stow on the Wold.

Yes we do make our four legged friends very welcome as well.

The Autumn weather has now meant that we have the log fire lit in the Inglenook fire place so I do hope that you will join us again in the Winter months

Many thanks

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed overnight at the Unicorn and the staff could not have been nicer.
The room was very clean and tidy with a good bed. The hotel was old and clearly had a history to it.

We left an item in the room when we left and they kindly posted back to us.

It was deeply unfortunate that they were unable to cater for my dietary need (I am a vegan). We specifically chose The Unicorn as it specifies they can cater for specific dietary needs and they confirmed they could do this at the point of booking. This statement also appears on their menus.
When we arrived our host stated they had food for me. We were then phoned late in the evening to be informed what they had purchased was not in fact suitable and it was suggested we may be able to purchase something whilst out. This was not convenient so we did not do this.
I left the following morning having had no breakfast (no milk available for me to have cereals/no marg available for me to have toast/ no yogurt and no cooked food.

It would have been nice to have received an apology or a part refund.

Room Tip: Check the size of the bathrooms. The one we had was small and it was a bit if a challenge to reach t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian_wylie380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
I really did my best to meet your expectations and I did apologize when I could not source the product which you required.
I did also tell you that we do have almond milk but you have stated "wrongly" in your review that you did not have any milk for breakfast, the item I could not source was Soya margarine and the Chef did go out of his way to source Vegan sausages but Vegetarian Sausages were delivered in error.
Sometimes life is not perfect and mistakes can occasionally be made! even in top Hotels where you pay £350 a night rather than £85 as in this case

The "host" you mentioned was me, The General Manager, I did call you to tell you that I could not acquire the items.
I cannot see anywhere on our website or menus that "we cater for specific dietary needs" but we will always try and be flexible in the way we cook items so that certain diets can be catered for.
The Unicorn will always try to please all it's guests most of the time but it is not always possible to please everyone all the time particularly with regards to certain food items. We are a small value for money Hotel and we do not always have the staff to run around sourcing specialist items but we will always do our best for the guest.

It is also "deeply unfortunate" that your review is not entirely accurate so please do more research before you attempt another scathing review because it is rather unnecessary.

Yours

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,415 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing