We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxed Christmas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed Christmas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, Christmas Eve & Christmas night, on a DBB rate to include Christmas lunch.
The hotel is full of old world charm inside the beautiful Cotswold stone exterior. The staff, without exception, we're friendly, attentive and professional.
Check in was seamless, 2 rooms close to each other as requested and all details given about mealtimes etc.
The rooms we had, 7 (for my mother) & 9 (for us) were lovely. 7 has a full bathroom, 9 a shower room - the shower pressure was brilliant with no issue on hot water. The floor in room 9 was a bit uneven (hence why we took that room) but caused no issues and just added to the experience of staying in the oldest part of the hotel.
The food was excellent throughout our stay - & the steak deserves a special mention because it was fabulous.
Christmas lunch itself was the classic turkey. The portions were very generous, the turkey was moist and all the veg was cooked to perfection - delicious. Desert was Christmas pud for my hubby, a creme brûlée for me & chocolate mousse for mum - all of them were really lovely and I would go back again just for the creme brûlée !!
All the other guests we met were friendly and they too appeared to be enjoying their stays.

If you want a friendly, relaxed weekend away - or Christmas for that matter - the Unicorn Hotel is a perfect example of old world charm in a beautiful, historic building, in the heart of the Cotswolds with friendly, helpful staff.

Even our four-legged, furry friend had a great Christmas, he especially enjoyed lying in front of the open fire in the pub, & going for lovely walks around Stow.

The hotel is currently undertaking some major works (which we were only aware of when the staff told us - no noise or other associated problems at all) and we'll be going back to see what they've done.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    98
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
42
163
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I am sitting in the comfortable and pretty lounge area, enjoying a cafetiere of coffee, and thoroughly relaxed. My wife and I stay here every year for an idyllic two night, pre Christmas break, and we always have a delightful time. The hotel is wonderfully old fashioned ( in a good way ) with wooden beams and creaky floors. The manager and staff could not be more obliging, helpful and friendly, and the food is extremely delicious. Our stay here is a highlight of our year, and much looked forward to.

Room Tip: We always chose room 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

This was maybe the sixth or seventh time we've stayed at the Unicorn with our dog, Poppy. Service and comfort remain a high priority for all the staff, not just Chris and Zoe (We hope you passed your driving test by the way) and the friendly, familiar welcome we receive only adds to the enjoyment of our stay. The food never disappoints and the menu is varied. The hotel offers comfortable, warm surroundings in what is clearly a hotel of history and character. If you need smoked glass and chrome to assist your enjoyment then it may not be for you. This hotel has individuality and personality and we will return in 2014.

Damian & Fiona Hutchcraft

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank damian-fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We've just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Unicorn. The staff were warm and friendly and our room was lovely- with an extremely comfortable bed and all the facilities we needed for our stay. The outstanding feature for us was the food we had in the bar/restaurant. We ate 2 main meals at the Unicorn and honestly couldn't fault them-absolutely delicious and served in cosy, characterful surroundings. Breakfast too was a very good quality offering.
We would highly recommend the Unicorn which is also very conveniently situated for everything that lovely Stow has to offer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I have sent your compliments to the chef so thank you for all your kind praise. It really does make a difference when customers who enjoyed their stay here take the trouble to note it down on Tripadvisor.

Thank you again

Best regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked at short notice, as other local places we tried were fully booked. We were meetig up with friends who were also staying, and we were all made very welcome - particuraly our dog Belle! There was a roaring fire in the bar area, and good ales, and it suprsied us the bar was so quiet. We ate there in the evening, and all of us enjoyed our food which was plenty in size and good value. Again the Bar for a Saturday night was very quiet.
The rooms are a bit dated and the floor levels a bit uneven, but this did not bother us as what do you expect from a very old hotel. The hotel was undergoing some renovations, to bedrooms but this too did not impact on our stay.
For dog lovers; the bar staff offered to set a breakfast table in the bar so Belle could be with us, which was a very nice touch, - Belle enjoyed the bit of sausage which managed to find its way to the floor! There is also playing fields opposite so you can easily give your dog a walk without going into town. Overall a very pleasant stay, and if you are ever in the area and looking for good pub food with reasonable prices and a friendly welcome, then this is you place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caz115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We do try to treat our four legged guests almost as well as our two legged ones, after all if they want to come back then hopefully so will you also.

Thank you for your review

Kind regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I managed to book this hotel the night before our stay due to our original hotel cancelling on us with absolutely no notice. We had a lovely room with four poster bed in this delightful hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely and the room was warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberryzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
The four poster is the only superior room of that type so it is often requested.

I am really happy that we were able to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

Best wishes

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stopped here for lunch while driving around the Cotswolds. They have a private car park across the road an cheap but amazing meals. Around £9 a meal for crab linguine, vegetarian stroganoff with arrachini balls (these were sooo delicious) and a beef goulash. Veg was fresh and cooked perfectly.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kkkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnicornHotel, General Manager at The Unicorn Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thanks for the lovely comments particularly as you only visited us briefly last Saturday.
We do try to provide quality yet good value for money food although we will be moving forward in the very near future to source more local ingredients as we are in the heart of The Cotswolds with an abundance of wonderful produce.

Hope you will visit us again

Kind regards

Chris Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing