We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Unicorn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Unicorn Hotel
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We can't give anything but a top review for this hotel which we booked last minute and got at a very good rate. Whilst the some of the furnishings might be a little tired, the room was very comfortable with everything you need and no scrimping on the quality of drinks and bathroom products. The bar area was lovely and the scrambled egg at breakfast the best i have ever had! Parking was available right outside the entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garryanddonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    98
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
44
165
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My sister and I stayed at the Unicorn hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of April this year. The checkin process was quick and easy and the lady on reception was welcoming and helpful. All the staff we came in contact with were delightful but I would like to make a special mention about Chelsea, who seemed to be able to turn her hand to anything, and was always delightful to us and the other hotel guests. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for any of the staff, including the manager, when it came to helping or finding out informaiton when we asked.

While it is not a standard tourist chain hotel it is a lovely hotel complete with beams, fireplaces and creaking floorboards. It is on the Fosse Way which can be a bit busy but it is hardly a motorway so it is pretty quiet by late in the evening! The twin room we had was at the back so admittedly we had no noise problems. It was a really good size, spotlessly clean and wondrously...the windows could be opened. Tea and coffee making facilities were included and a lovely packet of biscuits were left each day. The bathroom was lovely and lovely soaps and bath gels were available to use. The breakfasts were good and the two occasions we ate in the restaurant the food was really good.

Both my sister and I would not hsitate to stay at the Unicorn again should either of us be fortunate enough to head back to the Cotswolds in the future. If you expect a standard, chain style hotel find a Holiday Inn. If you like something authentic and very comfortable staffed by very helpful people then give it a try.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the back that may be preferrable as I expect there are occasions were some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights.It was a nice cosy little place and the staff were very friendly.Our room was very large and the bed was so comfy.Lots of space to hang clothes as well.The only downside to the room was that it was on a busy road,so we kept the window shut.The breakfasts were good too and i thought it was value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for one night. Charming building, but they seemed to be a shortage of staff as it took a while to get someone to the front desk to check in and then the lady who arrived apologised as their chef wasn't in and she was cooking.

She did an alright job though - the food was nice. The waitress was friendly and chatty although it was very quiet for a Sunday night so there wasn't much atmosphere.

The room, although small was well furnished and clean. Breakfast the next morning was good - a nice varied continental buffet and the cooked breakfast was done well. Proper coffee too, which was a bonus.

On checkout we were told the hotel was undergoing some refurbishment, while that's definitely needed, I hope the Unicorn doesn't loose any of it's charm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cre4tive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bitez, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on a half board deal for 2 nights which was excellent value for money.
The hotel was warm and welcoming with some nice old features and a lovely open fire,just what we wanted on cold winter evenings.It was in a convenient location with parking directly outside....the room itself was comfortable with all the essential amenities
The evening menu offered reasonable choice,all ingredients were sourced in the local area and the meals we tried were very good.breakfast was good----the sausage and black pudding were so tasty we bought some from the butcher!!!
The staff were pleasant and the service was good
The only negative was that our room was noisy in the mornings as it faced onto the main road junction
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a reasonably priced hotel in the area

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Location is convenient, right on main north-south road yet a very short stroll to the charming old streets and square of Stow. Staff were exceptionally helpful and good listeners--special kudos to Wendy, who was filling a lot of shoes with the manager under the weather.
Breakfasts were fine; had one dinner there and it was gourmet quality at a fair price. Served in homey time-honed pub area with roaring fire.
Glad I stayed there; whether I'd return depends on what the ongoing renovation is like. I was quite happy with the unfancy period decor of rooms as they are; if they convert place to yet another swanky contemporary "designer" space, the Unicorn would lose charm -- and points -- with me.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CavalierKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England
Level Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel, full of charm and character, in a really good location for touring round the Cotswolds. The upstairs area is a bit tired with some carpets threadbare and it is not ideal for people with mobility problems because there are lots of stairs but the staff are really friendly and the bedrooms are clean and comfortable. Our room looked out onto a brick wall, which was a bit disappointing but it meant that we did not hear the traffic at night. Breakfast was excellent with the Chef responding to our request for crispy bacon, and the portions were really good. The Hotel is being re-furbished in some areas but this did not affect us. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and look forward to staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a Twin Room in a quieter part of the hotel but there is no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayPeaSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unicorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unicorn Hotel

Property: The Unicorn Hotel
Address: Sheep Street, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Unicorn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unicorn is a beautiful Grade II listed building, in picturesque Stow- on-the-Wold which is famous for its charming honeyed stone buildings, antique shops and fine restaurants. Situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, the Unicorn has recently been fully refurbished with 9 large, Luxury Apart Hotel Suites, each with a kitchen with granite work tops and Bosch appliances, spacious living room and dining area. All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The Unicorn's pub and restaurant are still under going refurbishment but our new apartsuites are ideal for your stay in the Cotswolds. The manager is available to provide cleaning and linen change throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Unicorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unicorn Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing