We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely Cotswold town”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Broad Oak Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Keefy52
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a lovely Cotswold town”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is the second time we've stayed at Broad Oak - the last time was a number of years ago with a different owner.
It's a classic honey stone beauty with mullion windows and a cottage garden. Inside it is surprisingly spacious and very well kept. There's a large living room with log burner leading to a separate dining room leading to a well appointed kitchen (with a welcome pack of goodies) leading to a small courtyard garden which gets the sun until late afternoon. The 2 bedrooms are a good size and 1 has a huge comfortable super king sized bed.
The location is great. Slightly outside the centre so parking is a bit easier but opposite a very nice pub and a 5 minute walk into the square. Stow has everything you would need for a self catering holiday - lots of pubs and restaurants, takeaways and a couple of supermarkets.
All in all a really good option if you want a base to explore the area.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road39974...
France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Cottage which I recommend!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent a excellent holidays in Broad Oak cottage! The owner, Malcolm is very nice .He is available to help us at any time. We 'll return for next holidays!!!
We recommend this cottage for people who want to visit cotswolds, It is ideally placed.Stow on the Wold is a very charming village!
Thanks to Malcolm and his wife for the high quality of their cottage!

Date of stay: March 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy B
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The location is fabulous and the cottage is beautiful, cosy and welcoming - very highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatcoomb...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Christmas made Perfect in Broad Oak Cottage”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for Christmas week.The cottage had lots of seasonal touches,decor and gifts for us to enjoy,chocolates/sweeties.The welcoming starter pack,milk butter,bread,and lots more, greatly appreciated.Kitchen really well stocked.
The cottage was very comfortable,and more spacious than we expected,it was beautifully appointed. Loved the wood burner! Comfy beds! The outside space would be an oasis in the Summer.Broad Oak is about five minutes walk to the main square,and all the shops .Great butcher and bakery.Lots of eateries,and lovely olde world pubs.Stow is a good base from which to explore the area,by car or bus. Thankyou to Malcolm and Jane for sharing their home.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kellielit...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with thoughtful extra touches”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Broad Cottage over New Year Eve, it couldn't have been better, Malcolm was very helpful answering any questions we had leading up to our trip and the email before we arrived was very clear.
The cottage is in a perfect location, we love Stow and couldn't believe how lucky we were to find this treasure of a cottage,

The cottage is even nicer than the photos and was more spacious than we thought it would be, all the little touches that were left from Malcom, Jane and Mo were so sweet and greatly appreciated,

Would definitely recommend staying in this cottage and I'm sure we'll be a again!!

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane I
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cottage in Prime Location!”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Just spent our first weekend in Stow and at Broad Oak Cottage, wish we could have had longer! Broad Oak is beautifully appointed & very comfortable in a perfect location to boot, just off the High Street! Thanks to owner Malcolm, we hope to return & will very highly recommend!

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliefrom...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in this beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Broad Oak Cottage is a gem in the lovely village of Stow on the Wold. The cottage is charmingly decorated and contains all that you need for a comfortable stay. The owners are a pleasure to deal with and the position of the cottage is central to the village. We thoroughly recommend this cottage for a stay in the Cotswolds.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: On street Parking difficult at weekends.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.