We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Cottage”

Review of The White House

The White House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The White House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The White House
Fun in the Sun
Pool & pool house
Fancy a dip?
We have bubbles, lots of bubbles!
A perfect setting for a summer celebration
Perfect on a Summer's evening
14ft Trampoline
Anyone for Table Tennis?
What an adventure for the little ones?
Orangery 2
Orangery 3
Double Oven Range Cooker
Can I see a bar-b q?
Stylish and Cosy
Don't forget to leave your comments in the guest book
Ground Floor King Size En Suite Bedroom 1
Ground Floor En Suite Bathroom
Ground Floor King Size En Suite Bedroom 1 with access to attic room
Attic Room - Additional room charge applies
Ground Floor King Size Bedroom 2
Ground Floor Shower and Toilet
First Floor King Size En Suite Bedroom 3
First Floor En Suite Bedroom 3
First Floor Family Bathroom
First Floor Twin Bed    Room 4 with shared family bathroom
First Floor King Size Bedroom 5 with shared family bathroom
First Floor Twin
Bedroom 6 with shared family bathroom
The White House Aerial View 1
A bird's eye view of The White House
The White House at Dusk
The White House at Dusk
Perfect venue for a wedding
Marquee in the grounds
4.5 acres of land including our own paddock
Wedding reception at The White House
We can assist with all your wedding arrangements
Gorgeous floral arrangements
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bouncing...
Kingsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The cottage is lovely and was a great place to spend New Year with friends. Even though the weather was not kind to us we enjoyed our stay. The cottage is easy to find and the location is superb. We would like to come back one summer to enjoy the outdoor pool and hot tub.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that it made for a memorable start to 2016.
GIVe Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful Golden Wedding”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We celebrated our Golden Wedding with our family on a 4 night stay. The 3 generations all enjoyed it immensely. It is a glorious property and very well appointed. Arlene Winter, the agent was extremely helpful and helped organise our party by ordering balloons from Vale Balloons of Evesham, a magnificent cake from Lynne Thomas of Vermontier and stunning flower arrangements from Stephanie Saunders. I have already recommended The White House to several friends. Not only did the holiday live up to our expectations, it exceeded them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space inside and out
Liked least: Going home! Noy vital but wi-fi/internet access was intermittent
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that your family had a wonderful time at The White House and it was a pleasure to assist with all the arrangements. Thank you for your recommendations as we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Give Properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanegang2...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning House in a perfect location”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house was absolutely perfect to celebrate my wife's 50th Birthday with the whole family. In beautiful surroundings the house is spacious and well maintained throughout.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippinsud...
North Tawton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sensational hen weekend away!”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I was absolutely delighted to come across The White House on Trip Advisor, the property had everything we wanted for the hen weekend away.

Originally we had a party of 12 so the price fell within our budget, unfortunately one of the party pulled out so it looked as though The White House was no longer an option. However, Arlene was extremely kind to offer us the property at the original price per person (when dividing by 12) so that we could still come and stay - thank you so much!!

Finding the property was quite simple with our sat navs, however a bigger sign on the road might make it just that bit easier to locate at the end.

We were allowed access to the property from 4pm onward, however Arlene again was very kind to let 3 of us arrive a couple of hours earlier to decorate for the hen party weekend. All rooms were spotless and the conservatory had been made up with napkins, plates and cutlery etc for dinner - everything was beautiful!! They had even left us flowers and a victoria sponge - went well with our Sunday afternoon tea!

We arranged for a Tesco delivery to the property and found there to be more than enough room for all our food and bits and bobs. In the kitchen there is a fridge / freezer with ice and water machine, plus an additional wine fridge and another fridge / freezer in the garage. There definitely would be no need to worry about lack of room here. All rooms were complete with towels, robes and some shampoo, conditioner etc.

The heated pool was lovely, however even though it was a sunshine weekend the winds were still quite cold so unfortunately we didn't get to make much use of it. Arlene made us aware of the hot tub a few days prior to our arrival (new addition), however we didn't decide that we would want this until we actually arrived. Arlene came back to the house and go it all set up for us on a Friday evening which was really very kind!

Everyone remarked on how comfortable the beds were and we all had an extremely great weekend! I hope that we might be able to return to The White House again soon as it really was one of the best weekends away in a long time!

On the Sunday we arrange for Clare Bayley from The Health Hub (featured in The White House literature) to come and do a Zumba class for the group. The cost of this was amazing when split between all 11 of us and we even decided to dress up 80s style! Clare was amazing and put together a fantastic 45 minute class for us which we had by the pool. The class woke us all up and everyone had such a giggle - definitely would recommend doing this if you need an activity for the weekend.

Thank you so much to Arlene from GIVe properties for all your hard work, it has been greatly appreciated!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living space - kitchen, conservatory, lounge. Amazing!
Liked least: Wifi signal was quite weak and sound system difficult to get going.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a comprehensive and complimentary review.
It gives us great pleasure when our guests enjoy their time at The White House and by the sounds of things and the photo of the '80's Zumba session your party had a great time!
We would be more than happy to welcome you back at The White House anytime soon so don't leave it too long!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammy418
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent holiday home and location”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Went away to celebrate family birthdays and my parents golden wedding anniversary. The White House is everything you could ask of a holiday home rental. It has plenty of room for 12 people and the bedrooms are lovely and comfortable. We had the hot hub as it was a little chilly for the pool, which went down well with the kids. Would like to thank Arlene for all here help and the added lovely touch of birthday balloons and chocolate cake. Thanks again, would recommend your lovely home to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at The White House. We take great pride in ensuring you have a truly memorable experience and we are always pleased when we hear that our guests have had a great time during their stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again. Thanks again. GIVe Properties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A2T
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to celebrate a special occasion”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a great time celebrating my husband's 30th birthday with a group of friends. Arlene was very easy to correspond and made the booking process very easy.

It was a lovely surprise to arrive at the property and find a 30th birthday balloon and cake for my husband - a lovely touch.

The house was a brilliant entertaining space and our friends really enjoyed themselves.

We very much hope to visit the beautiful property and surrounding area again - hopefully next time in the summer when we can use the pool!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2015
Thankyou for your feedback and positive review.
We are so glad you had a most enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again very soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil D
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Place for that special occassion”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here on our return from New Zealand as a base for extended family and friends to stay and celebrate my wife's birthday. The management were amazing in helping us arrange everything beforehand from New Zealand, the accomodation lived up to, and surpassed, the description. We took advantage of the offer to arrange catering on the Saturday evening and the food was excellent, in terms of choices of menu, quality of produce and cooking. The service was attentive but unobtrusive and made for a relaced but memorable family event. All in all a fantasice experience which we would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality of the rooms and accomodation
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are pleased that our services exceeded your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing