We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Treat for mum”
other travellers have booked this property
The cottage is located down an old sheep alley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is located down an old sheep alley
Cool and cosy in those summer months al fresco dining in th south facing garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
The cottage is located down an old sheep alley
Cool and cosy in those summer months
al fresco dining in th south facing garden
Peacful and relaxing
Intimate dining area
Centrally heated with the bonus of that log fire in winter
The cottage is located down an original Cotswold Alley
Beautifully decorated lounge
Perfect end to a perfect day
Beautifully appointed master bedroom
The master bedroom is located on the second floor
bright and sunny south facing bedrooms
Bedlinen provided to the highest standard
Dishwasher, microwave, fridge freezer
Quaint fully equipped kitchen
plenty of books, DVDs and games to play
sunny south facing bedroom
very private garden
South View garden in the snow
Our garden has patio table/chairs/umberella/BBQ
A good view is never far away in the Cotswolds
the cottage garden is surrounded by a 6 foot dry stone wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
stephen o
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Treat for mum”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from another lovely week at southview the cottage is one of the nicest we have stayed in and we chose it because of the fantastic location my mum is elderly and she found the walking distance in to stow was manageable stow itself is so quaint and an abundance of gorgeous tearooms one of which Lucy's I took mum to for afternoon tea we also had a couple of lovely meals at the kings arms the cottage itself is so cosy no complaints whatsoever exceptionally clean and well equipped the little touches are appreciated we will definitely return at some point and would have no qualms about recommending.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You are most welcome anytime. Glad the weather was kind to you all too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjwCheshi...
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cosy and Charming”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This small cottage in the heart of Stow is cosy and charming.
The location is excellent, just a 3 minute stroll down Fleece Alley and you are in the Market Square. The private parking arrangement is not ideal but it's a small inconvenience for such a lovely cottage situated so close to the centre of town. As mentioned by most reviewers the standard of equipment and quality of furnishings is superb. The beds are very comfortable and with the cottage being in such a peaceful location this sets the tone for a really good nights sleep. One issue that we feel should be addressed by the owners is the shower. Despite very hot water for the sink, washbasin and bath the shower temperature only reaches warm even on maximum settings. When we booked we were obviously aware
of just the one toilet/bathroom on the ground floor but this lack of facility on both first and second floor bedrooms may be a problem for some.
Stow is an ideal centre for exploring the Cotswolds. A great market town with an abundance of good restaurants and coffee shops.
Thank you Lorrainefor letting us enjoy your home. We really enjoyed our stay at South View
and our week in the Cotswolds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry the shower water was not hot enough. I wish you had informed us while you were at the cottage, we would have had someone to come look at it straight away.
I hope it did not spoil your stay and hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter K
Magden, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very cosy and comfortable Cottage well and quiet located”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Cottage is located only about a five minutes footwalk away from the centre of Stow-on-the-Wold which is a delightful market townin in the beatiful Cotswolds. Nevertheless it is very private and quiet and ideal for a relaxing and peaceful Holiday, however with lots of interesting places to visit and explore nearby!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No toilet upstairs (only at the groundfloor)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review out little cottage. We are glad you had a lovely stay in Stow and would welcome you back anytime in the future.
Kind Regards
Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alijuk55
Bournemouth
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

South View Cottage is just the most gorgeous place to stay in Stow on the Wold. There is everything you could want. The garden is an absolute delight. We have stayed three times and would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Many Thanks for your lovely comments.
I hope you enjoyed your Anniversary in South view cottage.
We hope you will stay a fourth time.
Kind Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really lovely, perfect .”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage felt homely and cosy. It was perfect for walking into Stowe and for other places to visit, the little park just down the road was a bonus for my grandson. Beautifully put together , rthe decor was a treat.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback.
It is so nice to hear that our guests are happy with the cottage.
We hope to see you again somettime in the future.
Kind Regards
Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArtistJam...
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Stone Nirvana”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I’m finding it hard to think of many faults of this place, it’s that special. I’d return in a heart-beat. We’ve done our share of traveling, but agree that South View cottage ranks high on our list of favorite lodging places anywhere.

LOCATION: We loved staying at the top of the hill in Stow, with its easy access to several fun walking trails--which you should definitely explore. Thanks to the excellent maps and directions sent to us by the manager, we found the cottage without any difficulty. In fact, the caretakers were watching for our car to pull up and immediately ran out to greet us and help get us settled. Departing a few days later was just as easy.

HOUSE: So cozy, clean and comfy. The heat and appliances worked perfectly, and there was enough hot water for a lovely soak in the bath. The beds were great. Okay--I finally came up with a quirk: watch out for the screen door ledge as you enter the enclosed front porch. We caught our toes on that lip a multitude of times before we wised-up, but somehow it seemed more charming than frustrating.

The stairs to reach the upper bedrooms might be a problem for those with mobility issues, especially at night if you have to use the ground floor bathroom.

FOOD: We heard of (but somehow never saw) a large Tesco grocery up the road a little ways, but actually found everything we needed at the little “Co-op” grocery store right in the heart of town. Stow itself has plenty of good restaurants to pick from. (We particularly enjoyed the recently refurbished Old Stocks Restaurant.)

INTERNET: We’d read that the cottage didn’t have wi-fi, but they do now. And it’s fast and reliable.

GARBAGE: Stow has recently adopted some new recycling rules, and they seemed a little over the top to us. But we can’t fault the cottage itself--they simply have to follow the town’s guidelines. Anyway, you’ll get to read and attempt to follow the complicated rules and sorting process, but it’s a small price to pay to get to enjoy this little gem in the Cotswolds.

OVERALL: This is the kind of place that if the weather’s nasty, you might actually be glad, since it will give you a good excuse to curl up inside. Just light a candle, brew some tea, lay a log on the fire and read a book or watch one of the many provided videos. You’ll never want to leave.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments on your recent stay in Southview Cottage.
We strive to make it as homely as possible .
I do understand the issues with the disposal of rubbish but the council is trying to be as green as possible with the environment in the Cotswolds.
Thank you once again, and hopefully we will welcome you again.
Kind regards
Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The real fire
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely feedback.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing