We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Cotswold Hotel”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Cotswold Hotel”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights in april 2011, and had a really nice relaxing time. The hotel is between Stow and bourton on the water, but you do need a car to get to them. The food was great, breakfast and dinner (we ate on one night) try the mount at stanton (i think) for the other night.
The room we had in the coach house was quite big, clean, and looked out onto the countryside/garden. The staff were friendly, helpful and organised, without being too fussy. The bill at the end was not cheap, but then looking around the cotswolds it was certainly not over the top. We will be going back......hopefully.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    82
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
176
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Our family booked my husband and I into the Fosse Manor as a Golden Wedding present. The hotel was excellent, the food was plentiful and beautifully served and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel. The only downside was that it was further out of the village than we expected so were unable to stroll out in the evening after dinner.
Apart from that our stay was completely enjoyable and we would happily visit again.

Room Tip: Deluxe super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balchinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This was our third visit to Fosse Manor and yet again it lived up to our expectations. We stayed in the Old Coach house which was delightful. Breakfast and dinner was at the usual high quality and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iand55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

All the hotel staff looked after us very well during our recent wonderful stay. We realised that neither of us had completed the questionnaire but it wouldn't have said how much we enjoyed ourselves. The members of staff that we encountered and those that we never saw because they were behind the scenes all seemed to work together so well and they really were a good team. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We were particulary impressed that they source food and drink locally where possible. The fish 'n chip evening really made the hotel buzz and we'll be keeping an eye open for the other special evenings that they do e.g. Jazz Night

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Took some friends away to spend a relaxing weekend break in the Cotswolds at our favorite hotel. Recommending somewhere to friends can be worrying, but the Fosse Manor did not let us down. From the moment that we stepped out of the car to the moment we left, we were given a first class experience.
We stayed in room 38 situated in the Old Coach House, which was very spacious with views across the cotswold countryside and the added bonus of a very large modern bathroom , and a very comfortable bed.
The quality of the evening meal and breakfast were of the usual high standard, and the staff were attentive throughout.
Overall another very enjoyable experience in this classic Cotswolds hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WiltshirePartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed at the Fosse Manor Hotel for a celebration and had a great time. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring the scenic Cotswolds. Our welcome was warm and friendly from the dedicated and wonderful staff. Even though we went in the winter we were pleased to find the hotel wonderfully warm (without being uncomfortably hot as can happen), and comfortable throughout. Our room overlooked the wonderful countryside and it was a great pleasure to spend time looking through the mullioned windows of our room at the views (we had room 20). We were pleased to find that the dinner allowance (we stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis) was enough to allow us to have a most enjoyable 3 course meal with coffee. What a brilliant change from other places we have stayed where the allowance is a complete rip off.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BQ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

A beautiful looking hotel in the Cotswolds with open views of the surrounding countryside. The rooms are spacious but do need modernising, especially the televisions, only had about 5 channels on our TV and no ITV.
An excellent menu in the restaurant with a very good selection of wines. Backed up with a top quality breakfast where we were actually asked how many sausages & rashers of bacon we wanted, the bacon was proper thick cut bacon as well.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyewhyBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Fosse Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you very much for your feed back. We have struggled recently with our signal from the transmitter in Oxford, however we have now invested in new Flatsceen TV`s for all the bedrooms, and they come with all the freeview channels (inc ITV!!)
Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Fosse in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Property: Fosse Manor Hotel
Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing