We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A special place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Fosse Manor is a special place for us - having met locally in 1998, we were married there in 2001, when a wonderful wedding was organised for us.

We have been back several times to celebrate anniversaries, and stayed for 2 nights in July 2011 to celebrate our 10th wedding aniversary.

In the intervening period, the hotel has changed hands and has benefitted from a much-needed re-vamp.

We stayed in Room 1, which was comfortably furnished, and had 2 good nights' sleep. The food in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service, and we are delighted that Doris is now the restaurant manager, having looked after us so well 10 years ago.

The wines are reasonably priced if you know what you are looking for, and we were very pleasantly surprised that our menu choices fell within the allowance of the half board rate.

It isn't a particularly cheap place to stay, especially given that it has only a 3-star rating, but it is very comfortable, well-located and charming, and has an excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: Probably best not to have a room over the kitchen - we had one once and there was more noise there b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    80
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
173
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed for 1 night. Was a very nice hotel, nice room with a DVD player and a reasonable choice of free DVDs. Staff all very friendly and very nice. Only issue I had was that I had booked through Hotels.com therefore already paid but was charged at check-out but this was easliy resolved and so no biggie.
Breakfast was very nice too. Free Wi-Fi is a must these days and this was available around the bar and reception area so ok but would have been nice to have in the room as well.
Would stay again for sure and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gox55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

We spent a lovely weekend at this hotel. The Staff ,Rooms and Restaurant could not be faulted. A superb base to tour this beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcdrodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

Had a 2 night stay,given room 1 which was fantastic,very large room,very clean and beautiful bathroom,lovely garden views.
Breakfast piping hot and individually plated and served,quantity and quality superb.
Had evening meal included in our break package,quality excellent and again served piping hot.
Special mention to the staff,all very accommodating and attentive.
Special not to chris[manager] very attentive,in the background,attends to your needs.
Fosse manor clearly the best hotel in the cotswolds that we have stayed so far,and we have used several other to date.
Also spent last christmas at the fosse manor and had brilliant time as well.
Mark+kate[midlands]

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solihullwensley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Booked a 2 night stay and left after the first night

The bed had springs sticking in your back that meant you got no sleep and the whole place was charmless

They charge boutique cotswold hotel prices but they have converted the place on the absolute cheap, tried to paint a few walls trendy colours but there's a complete lack of quality

There are loads of beautiful and immaculate hotels in the cotswolds for the same price that are several times as good, we travel up there for weekends away from London quite regularly

To top it off, having left and them given us the bill for the one night we stayed they then charged our credit card for the 2 nights ! having called them they refused to refund the second night and we're letting them fight with the card companies fraud department

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank professionalcouple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Fosse Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2011
This couple spent one night at the hotel, and decided to check out after the first night. Despite the room being "as bad" as they claim they missed breakfast and came down to leave at approx 10.30am. The bed which is a foam mattress and therefore has no springs in anyway has been slept in by many people before and since them, including the AA Inspector.
I have spoken to this person, and should point out also that foul and abusive language will not get anyone anywhere.
On the morning they left, they simply said we are leaving, got in the car and drove off. So i have charged their card for the two nights. I have yet to hear from the card company almost 2 months after their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I stayed at Fosse Manor with my husband in July and really wasn't very impressed. The rooms are really clean, modern, and nice but everything else was just ordinary. The manor itself has been renovated and I felt it had no cotswolds charm. On the main floor, there is a very small reading room/lounge for guests between reception and the restaurant but it's definitely not private or a great place to relax. The whole rest of the main floor is for the restuarant or bar, compared to most manors where there are places to relax and read for guests. Reception was empty 5 out of 6 times I visited it. I had room #7 but had to change because it is directly above the kitchen so either the kitchen fans/exhaust are on making a loud noise, or you get to here the staff clean up. The woman at reception indicated they were trying to find a solution to this. I felt the staff was too busy for us. I had a question about walking trails and they said they would print me a map but never did, and I had to talk to the reception clerk while he was serving people breakfast and he seemed to not have time. Overall, it's fine place but there are definitely better places to stay. it's also right on the main road and not in a village compared to other places where you can just walk to a pub!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Arrived in the afternoon to a warm welcome followed by a cream tea. We had room 7, a standard double room, which was lovely, good size, perfectly clean, a comfy bed to share with Winston (the teddy bear my wife wanted me to buy). Had a great nights sleep. Had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent, very tasty steak and trout from a local trout farm and the best sticky toffee pudding ever. Good choice of drinks at the bar. Breakfast was very good too, great choice and very fresh. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Would recommend and hopefully return soon.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Property: Fosse Manor Hotel
Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing