We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food!”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We have just returned from a 3 day break at Fosse Manor and would recommend it. Overall a lovely place to stay, good central location by car and the food was probably the best we have experienced for some time! - The staff were lovely apart from one chap (I guess was the manager?) who was not very friendly at all - quite abrupt which was a shame but he seemed to be the only one on duty during breakfast and while we checked out so we figured he may be a bit stressed?!.
Although spotlessly clean we found our room to be very tired and in need of a makeover but wouldn't let this stop us going back!
A tip if you like to go for a walk ...... it takes about 20 - 25 minutes to walk into Stow town centre from the hotel and the main road is very noisy and busy. Once you have crossed over the traffic lights - cross the main road and on the right you will soon come across a large bolted gate - there is a walkway at the side that takes you right on through the beautiful village of Maugersbury and such beautiful views ... well worth it.
Also, the best pub we found was the Unicorn in Stow ... enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EssexHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    80
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
174
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We took an all-inclusive deal along with another couple for one night mid-week. We arrived to a friendly reception at around lunch time to check in and drop off our luggage before going off to visit Kiftsgate gardens. As our all-inclusive package included a cream tea, we asked if we could have it then and there, so as not to spoil our evening meal. This was no problem and we set off to Kiftsgate suitably fuelled on cream tea. Our good impression of the service was re-inforced on return. The staff taking the orders for, and serving the evening meal were very friendly and efficient. The courses of the meal arrived without delay and the food, - the food was spectacularly good!
The accommodation was clean and well-decorated. We got a room with good views over rural Gloucestershire. A perfectionist would suggest that the woodwork paint could do with stripping back and re-painting. But this is minor niggle. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarakan1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We've just spent 3 days with 4 friends at Fosse Manor which is in a great position for exploring the Cotswolds. Whilst the accommodation was alright and the service good and friendly, the food was undoubtedly the star of the show - and we all felt so! The menu is not extensive but this probably allows them to focus on quality and not be dependent on the microwave or cook-in-the-bag! If you go, be sure to have a look around the new Hydebarn which is a fantastic place in which to have a wedding or other celebration. We thought the cost was reasonable, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in May which we booked through KGB deals on a bed and breakfast basis. We had a lovely room on the ground floor in the annex part of the hotel. Room was spacious, bright and clean. Large clean bathroom, with the most powerful shower I have ever been in. We had views of the country side from our french doors which lead to a small patio area with a table and chairs. A bucket of ice with a nice bottle of wine as a gift in your room was very much appreciated.

They were building a wedding venue next door to our room. There was a little amount of noise from this but it didn't affect us as we were out most of the time. It looks very nice, I have included a few pictures of it. If you are in a room in the main hotel and facing the road side, I would imagine this would be quite noisy as the road is very busy.

The bar area is very quite and the few times we went there we were the only guests in there. You need a car to get into Stow, it is to far to walk. The hotel called us a taxi the first night, as we fancied going into Stow for a meal and a few drinks. The taxi driver gave us his number and we called him when we wanted to come back. The second night we ate in the hotel, this was due to us not being able to get a taxi into Stow. This is because there is only 1 taxi in Stow and he finishes work at 11pm. Unbelievable for a tourist area.

However the meal in the hotel was fantastic. Rather pricey but was worth the money. Breakfast each day was the usual buffet of fruit juice, toast, cereals, fruit and yoghurt. Plenty to choose from. You could also order from the cooked breakfast menu. which was cooked fresh to order and was very good.

The staff were all pleasant and very helpful.
We wouldn't go back to this hotel again, not because there was anything wrong with the hotel just because we like to go out in the evenings for a drink, and this isn't possible unless you drive yourself.

Room Tip: ask for room on ground floor in the annexe. These rooms don't have any road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUNBEDSUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I had a lovely room (with terrace) in the annexe.The restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The hotel looks just as shown on the website. Excellent location for exploring the Cotswolds - all the places you would want to visit are within 30 minutes drive. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was not the biggest but well equiped and the most comfortable bed we have ever sleeped in away from home.
We were on first floor at the side, and despite proximimty to the road had no p[roblems with noise.
Excellent breakfast choice. Only eat in restaurant once and the pork dish was fantastic.
Staayed using Tesco Vouchers so was great value.

Room Tip: I understand that the barn complex will be opening soon for weddings etc. thaat could have implicati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed here on a two night KGB WEEKEND BREAK. had upgraded our room and it was lovely. Quite large and well appointed, large comfortable bed and larger than normal flat screen TV. Bathroom was also large and wll appointed with bath and separate shower cubicle. Plenty of hot water and bath filled as quickly as I had ever seen with a really powerful shower. Deal was for bed and breakfast with a bottle of wine on arrival which was on ice for us in the room when we arrived. We decided to eat in the restaurant on the first night. Nice bar area and restraint and food was very good. Meal wasn't cheap but not too expensive especially when considering the area and local restaurant costs. We enjoyed the meal so much we ended up eating again on second evening.

Whilst drinking our wine with friends on our terrace on the first evening I went over to look into the newly finished seperate wedding venue building next to our room. We were invited in by the events manager for a look around the building and were invited back the next evening between 6 and 7 pm for their free champagne and canapé event to which they had invited all the booked/interested couples and parents. This was most unexpected and turned out to be a very pleasant hour. We could only thoroughly recommend the venue to anyone in te area looking for a wedding venue.

All the staff we met couldn't have been more pleasant and the Kgb deal was very good value.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 36 which was really nice and had an outside seating area and lovely view over loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard-j5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Property: Fosse Manor Hotel
Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing