We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pity!!”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a pity!!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in March for a wedding in the main house.
The wedding barn was very good. The staff were excellent. The food was excellent.
What a pity that the hotel did not match up to the same level.
We stayed in room 5. The cost was £155 for bed and breakfast.
The room was tatty. The radiator was not working when we checked in, but was fixed after we reported it.
The bathroom was like an ice box. There was a towel rail that was barely warm and certainly didn't heat the room.
The shower was over the bath and not very powerful.
The breakfast was good and the staff were very pleasant,but there were no warm plates to put the hot food on.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting but I still think it is vastly overpriced!!.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new block looked better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    80
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
173
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had read some of the reviews on trip advisor before going to Fosse Manor, but booked anyway as I liked the look of it and, as an ex-travel agent, I know that you sometimes have to take some of the reviews with a pinch of salt!
We did book a very good 'winter getaway deal' so I would say in advance that we weren't paying full price for one of the deluxe rooms which we ended up being upgraded to ... so I can totally understand why some people may find the standard room rate a little much.
I do have to say however, that although our room was indeed very slightly tatty around the edges and could probably do with a lick of paint all in all it was a beautiful room with a lovely lounge area and a really large bathroom with roll top bath. I'm not easily pleased when it comes to décor and the room was perfectly adequate and nice enough for a couple of nights.
In this way I would rate the rooms as good ... what makes it a 'very good' rating for me is the superb staff! Nothing was too much trouble from the moment we arrived! Everyone had a smile on their face and were very attentive. Room service on the night we ordered it was delivered promptly and was delicious and the night we ate in the restaurant was fantastic. The waiter was amazing and the food was exceptionally good ... especially the delicious pigeon I had for starter.
We had a fantastic couple of nights sleep ... very comfortable bed and no road noise that I heard.
The hotel is also in a fantastic position for popping into Stow-on-the-Wold which is lovely.
I would definitely recommend .. although I would advise the hotel to possibly look at re-wallpapering and giving the rooms a lick of paint to make them up to the standard that people expect from their full price room rate.

Room Tip: The blue and cream room at the top of the coach house is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiKnots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night for a wedding. Having read the reviews I was nervous but our room in the Coach House was lovely - very clean. It was slightly tatty round the edges and for £175 a night that's what grates me slightly.

Was also disappointed with breakfast, again for that much a night I would expect waiter service, a menu and fresh cooking not a like warm buffet with fake egg.

The overall location is lovely and the room was nice. The wedding venue next door and the food there was amazing.

If it was less per night I would have rated 4.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nichollsb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights this January. The rooms were cold (we had two) when we entered in the evening but the receptionist got us a fan heater. It was then very hot in the middle of the night. The decor was dated and paint chipped around door frames and skirting etc. My father in the other room was awakened at 6 am by the staff sorting the bins outside. Pillows were hard and flat on all beds. Cobwebs were visible in the upper corners of the room.

The only reason I am giving this experience 3 stars instead of 1 or 2 is because the food was incredible. Seriously, I had the best steak I have ever eaten and there was not one meal I did not enjoy thoroughly.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 have poor pillows and are very dated/cold. Shower in room 5 is an over the bath job wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredmarsh_allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

I bought the stay to celebrate my partners and my anniversary.
Very good value for money; beautiful large room, great selection of cooked breakfasts and a 3 course meal included in the £135 price!
I intend on returning for several more stays.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodieHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Beautiful in a stunning location. Slightly dated rooms but when you have such beautiful surroundings theres no need to be in the room for extended periods of time. All staff were attentive and very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleigh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Visited hotel for wedding and was amazed at how poor this venue was. Heating in barn broken, food at wedding breakfast over cooked and spoiled, manner of staff very short and room filthy and in need of maintenance e.g shower no more than a trickle etc.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Property: Fosse Manor Hotel
Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing