We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable and relaxing weekend stay”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable and relaxing weekend stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I loved my room in the coach house, which was large with a very good big bathroom and all amenities required for a lovely 2 day stay. I just wanted to say a huge thank you to everyone for making my stay so pleasant, everyone is so helpful and hospitable and along with delicious food made my cycling weekend in the cotswolds even more enjoyable. My room was so lovely and to be able to sit out on the terrace when I got back was very peaceful and relaxing.
Please pass my compliments to the chef for the delicious food, from breakfast to my evening meal.

  • Liked — Very comfortable and friendly staff, great food
  • Disliked — maybe more products required in batrhroom, but would have been be supplied if requested
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biker80Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    80
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
173
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

Booked a night at Fosse Manor at 50% discount through staying for 2 nights at sister hotel in Malmesbury, The Old Bell. As a result thought we'd try the deluxe four poster room. Normally £225 and we would have been very disappointed had we paid that. For half price it was ok but the bathroom was dated, a bit noisy due to proximity to road and whilst spacious, no better than you;d expect for, say, £125. Staff helpful and friendly but not a cosy place - we didn't eat there but had late night drinks at the bar which we found a little stark, bright and there was not much in the way of atmosphere. Stow a nice spot though and guess you're expected to pay for the privilege, despite being a short drive outside the town. Not a patch on The Old Bell and wouldn't stay here again unless on a similar discount and would opt for a different room. Fair to middling!

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — prices (before discount)
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebrookier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

We stayed at Fosse Manor as part of a deal with it's sister hotel, the Old Bell hotel. Having had a fantastic experience at the Old Bell previously, we had high hopes for Fosse Manor.

We upgraded to a deluxe room given that the deal offered one night at half the normal rate. It was spacious and nicely decorated with a four poster bed but not what I would class as deluxe.I would have felt more than a little ripped off had we actually paid full rate!! The bathroom was very average with few toiletries, small mirror and shallow bath/shower combo. Old style TV with four channels, not satellite as advertised. The room faced a busy main road and had a broken window catch meaning we couldn't close the window properly. Breakfast was fantastic though and service swift and friendly.

The rest of the hotel I found a little underwhelming.You walk straight into the bar area when you enter the main door, not into a nice old entrance hall with reception as expected. The small bar is brightly lit (even at 11pm) with little atmosphere. After a drink in the bar we retired to our room at about 11.30pm. I couldn't sleep due to what I thought was a party going on in another room - heavy bass music coming through the walls. I wandered back down to the bar area to find the barman had pumped up the volume on the stereo while clearing up. Unfortunately our "deluxe" room was directly above the bar! I asked him to turn the music down and, with no word of apology,he told me he was almost done anyway for the night. Interestingly, when we brought our comment card down to reception when checking out, the receptionist cast it to one side amongst a pile of paper and laughed nervously about it not being necessary.

I would recommend staying at Fosse Manor but only if you get a good deal on the rate - half price room rate is more in keeping with what they should actually be charging, from my experience. Also, ask for a room at the back of the hotel if possible. If you can, stay at the Old Bell in Malmesbury instead - it's far superior!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Noise coming from bar after close
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Ate here whilst staying at the Wyck Hill House Hotel (1.2 miles away - 8 GBP / 16 USD Taxi charge!!!)

The food at the Fosse was exceptional, We have had meals at the Bellagio in Vegas (Michael Minas restaurant), Waldorf Towers in New York and numerous Caribbean quality hotels and the Fosse easily matched / bettered them.

Many thanks to Lauren (Front of house) and Oliver (Chef) for two most enjoyable evenings. Extra special thanks for the lift back to the Wyck Hill due to the lack of taxi services in the area.

We will surely return and book our next stay here.

  • Liked — Fantastic Food, Great Staff
  • Disliked — The fact we didn't choose to stay here
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobyACZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Thames
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2008

My husband and I stayed her for one night for our 10th wedding anniversary. We had booked a superior room but were upgraded to a deluxe room, which was absolutely fine for a 3 star hotel. Four poster bed, 2 chairs, sofa and lots of space. This was room 2. We also viewed room 1, which is the best room of all, even larger with a huge bathroom.

Hotel staff all caring and attentive, and the general decor very tasteful.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and thought the food was the best thing about this place. Everything was well executed...they obviously have a very good chef.
Breakfast was also very nice.

I would reccomend this hotel for a short break in the cotswolds and represents good value for money against some of the other 5 star hotels with their heady prices of over £300 per night.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeHenleyonThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We decided on a weekend in the Cotswolds very late in the day and with little knowledge of the area or of local hotels.

What a lovely surprise Fosse Manor was in Stow on the Wold.

The building and grounds are beautiful (think ivy covered and landscaped gardens) and the welcome warm and genuine (lady called Maureen on reception is a superstar...).

The rooms are lovely and a mix of 'contemporary and country' in feel (we were lucky to have a four poster bed and a very spacious room). The rooms also have DVD players and there is a selection of games and films held by reception.

The restaurant is particularly good and pretty good value for such a nice place. Emphasis on quality of food, presentation and service.

Also located very near to the villages of Slaughter and Bourton on Water which is super.

Overall, I was left feeling that nothing was too much troble for the place - do stay - we shall be back.

Helpful?
Thank ebenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOVINGDON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Wow what a great weekend. We are more than a little fussy about where we stay so we are always expecting to be disapointed, but not here. The Hotel is contemporary in style and sympathetic with its age and the fact it is privately owned .

LOCATION: It is on the busy A429 to Stow but in fairness it was noticeable for the first 15 minutes then we did not notice.

ROOM: It was a great size and quirky. The bed was king sized and comfortable. The bathroom included roll top bath and separate shower. Our room had a playstation, so it included a DVD. In reception they have a large selection of free films and games. The room is not air conditioned, so be quick to book a fan on arrival they are limited.

FOOD: If I said we were fussy about where we stay then where eating we are nearly impossible to please, but to say we were impressed was an understatement. We stayed with our 9 year old and the children's menu selection just added to the experience (Hurrah NO chicken nuggets or processed sensations). Two faults, the dessert we chose, although it was fantastic local cheese selection had Jacobs Crackers?? included it just seemed strange. The second comment was the music, we went on a Sunday so it was quiet but the music was too low so we had to whisper, outside after dinner it was also very quiet again some music outside would have been great.

SERVICE: On arrival there was nobody at check in so I went to speak to somebody, I obviously chose the unhelpful and disgruntled one who told me to wait??? and then in the end he reluctantly gave me the key and a frown. After that the service was fantastic could not be more helpful and genuinely nice.

Well done FOSSE MANOR and see you soon.

  • Liked — FOOD
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUTTON36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Property: Fosse Manor Hotel
Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing