We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Setting”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We attended a wedding at Hyde Barn and booked to stay at the hotel, firstly Hyde Barn is a really good venue in a lovely setting and the wedding was a truly lovely event. We had a principal room in the coach house and our room had its own court yard which was a lovely idea but it was a bit dishevelled with weeds coming through the tarmac, however our room was perfectly suitable and looked like it had a new carpet and curtains and was a good size. the bathroom was also very good in that it had a bath and a seperate shower cubicle. I couldn't fault the cleanliness and the bed was really comfy. Breakfast in the morning was as you would normally get in any hotel and was acceptable and tasty. all in all a lovely time spent at the wedding and the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 36 in the coach house is next door to Hyde Barn
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suecave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Fosse Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for one night as our daughter was getting married at Hyde Barn, we stayed in room 1. It's a large room which was good but the carpet had ripples in it and needs replacing. The kingsize bed had a very hard mattress and I didn't sleep, the wallpaper is not in keeping with the rest of the decor. The bathroom was nice with lovely views from the roll top bath. There was only 2 teabags which was mean and UHT milk which I would only expect in a B&B,maybe a small fridge could be placed in the room so fresh milk could be provided. The buffet breakfast was nice until I noticed the sausages were pink and under cooked.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanbCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We attended a wedding in the barn so overnight stay an essential .Its odd but it's a lovely setting yet lacked a sense of personality which may sound odd to comment about a hotel but from the exterior it looked liked it should have had one.That being said it was clean and comfortable but we sweltered as we were on the top floor ( although a fan was provided)
Breakfast just ok but we decided to give it a miss and popped into Miss Tea Potts in nearby Moreton on the water and that was a treat!
Hyde Barn as a wedding venue tho was thoroughly recommended by the wedding couple - lovely outdoor setting with weather to match

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSP50S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We were attending a wedding at Hyde Barn, attached to the hotel which was magical, and stayed at the hotel.
The only room available was a suite, which was quite expensive, but as we had a child it was the best option.
The room was lovely, beautiful super king bed, lovely roll top bath, but really just needed some freshening up. Could do with a paint and a little updating. The tea/ coffee in room was a bit mean, and with only two tea bags.
Breakfast was self service, and the quality was good.
Lovely little bar.
For the price I was expecting a few more finishing touches. The views are lovely, staff very nice, food was good. Just a good freshening up is in order.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here as a romantic get away with my boyfriend, we stayed here a few years ago and have noticed quite a few changes. We were made to feel really welcome from the minute we arrived from the lady on reception who carried my bag to the room to the lad on the bar, nothing was to much trouble. We stayed in room 6 a very cozy room with an amazing view, although it didn't have a bath and the bathroom was a bit small it did have a nice walk in shower. The food was absolutely fantastic my boyfriend had steak and all the trimmings that was cooked to perfection and I has fish and chips, we were both to stuffed to have dessert, breakfast in the morning was a continental buffet and full English, I look forward to our next visit

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank LittlemissMuffet628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Again, like most other people lately, attended a wedding here and charged a 'reduced' fee for our room. Even this reduced fee was excessive. Our room on the first floor at the front of the hotel was nice if a little shabby. Some of our party stayed at the Porch House Hotel in Stow which is much cheaper, luxurious and newly refurbished. However, if you don't stay at this hotel but are attending a wedding ensure you pre-book your taxi up the hill after the wedding. It is a long walk and we were told there are only 3 taxis in the area so obviously to transport dozens of revellers back up to Stow would take quite a while.

The wedding finished at midnight and we thought we would be able to sit with a coffee in the lounge area of the hotel to have a wind down... wrong! The lounge is shuttered off leaving only a couple of chairs to avoid this kind of behaviour. We ended up each making our own coffees in our rooms and then bringing our own chairs out onto the landing. This was really disappointing as were several other aspects.

The bride had booked a room at this hotel the night before her wedding. She happened to phone the hotel a few weeks before the wedding to ask for a larger room as another of her bridesmaids was going to be occupying the room. She didn't mention that she was the bride at the time but was horrified when she was told that she couldn't stay there as there was a wedding that day! Beware that there are often 4 weddings a week here and it is doubtful that you will be able to have a room the night before. Fosse Manor then made another error which I won't go into but after the groom getting involved the hotel eventually agreed to pay for an alternative hotel.

This hotel really does need to be brought up to the standard expected by people paying this kind of money, the profits from the many weddings should be ploughed back into the hotel. Although, there are signs of the wedding venue becoming slightly jaded after a short time and it won't be long before money needs to be re-invested there.

Also, I must mention the excellent service from the waiting staff during the wedding breakfast and drinks - everyone commented on this and they really were wonderful. Breakfast was nice.

If you are considering this hotel/wedding venue please be aware that it is MOST unlikely you will be able to decorate the venue the day before the wedding. You are not allowed into the barn until 9:00am (officially-actually the cleaners had finished by 8:00am) and receive very little help from the staff to put up any decorations. In fact to the contrary, while we were rushing to decorate, the Wedding Co-ordinator was showing prospective couples round the venue, without even asking us! I was absolutely disgusted by this as would have expected her to be helping us, not taking advantage. I then had to rush over to the bar in the hotel for something and saw her sitting chatting with the couple she had shown round. We did have help with the place settings at the tables. Eventually, the Wedding Co-ordinator came over and offered her help - she spent about 20 minutes helping with the centrepieces then disappeared.

Additionally, I would have expected the chairs to be layed out for the ceremony for us... no, they were stacked in a corner and we had to put them all out ourselves! Beware, they are quite small and somewhat rickety, not sure how comfortable these would have been for some of the larger guests!

It appears by their latest wedding brochure that they are encouraging the use of wedding planning companies!

I would add, however, that we had an absolutely amazing day at the wedding, the dining room looked beautiful due to our own efforts with the decorations, and to be honest we would have had an equally amazing time at any wedding venue.

Also, if you are the bride, please remember to wait until the bridesmaid/flower girl is almost at the end of the aisle before setting off! The Wedding Co-ordinator failed to mention this, thus our bride was hidden behind the bridesmaids and just 'appeared' by the groom's side.

You can feel you are on a bit of a conveyor belt here. We arrived to decorate as another party were removing their belongings from the barn, and in turn we left to collect our belongings from the venue as another wedding was being set up. If you want a unique experience I would suggest a different venue.

The hog roast on the evening of the wedding was WONDERFUL!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the back.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Medsec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy R, Manager at Fosse Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your review,

Our sincerest apologies your stay at the hotel did not meet expectations. We do close our bars area in the hotel at night on a wedding day as all guests are entertained in our Hyde Barn, vacating the barn by 1am.
The hotel bedrooms are booked by wedding guests and we do not open the restaurant in the hotel of an evening of a wedding, therefore making all areas exclusive, and not having a hotel bar open to the general public . We are sorry you were unable to get a coffee at midnight in the hotel as the bar was closed.

Some Hotel bedrooms is in mid-redecoration, due to be complete by the end of the summer.

At Hyde Barn, access to the wedding barn is from 9am, after House Keeping Staff have finished cleaning.

Although many events may have prearranged florists and/or stylists. In the morning of a wedding or event, Our Operational Managers are on hand at all times from 9am to assist with set up and table decor, the coordinator will be on site to assist with bridal party preparations and any additional styling required in addition to the operational managers. We do have Weddings and Events at weekends and some mid week, there is flexibility as to whether the bride and groom wish to have their ceremony indoors or outside, and the this can be decided up to 30 minutes prior to the ceremony, there is no additional charge for ceremony set up.

Our sincere apologies the chairs were still stacked early in the morning. Chairs are stacked in order to clean the wooden floors after the initial set up in the main room (we sometimes find floral or packaging debris can be dropped walking to and from main room via the central room!), If ceremony is outside the chairs would be carried in the stack before setting up in the garden area. We are very happy to set the chairs out for dressing at anytime in the morning.

We are often asked if we are able to recommend local suppliers such as photographers, florists, entertainment, beauty and stylists by Bride & Grooms, The new brochure recommends a selection of all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hyde Barn is a very lovely wedding venue, Unfortunatly like many of the other reviews the Fosse manor hotel doesn't come up to scratch..... We paid £175 for room 20.. The room was spacious enough but it looks like the have bought a carpet for a much bigger room, The rises and dips made me feel like i was going for a walk through the Malverns.. The decor was shabby and dated, wall paper faded and looks like it was put up by blind bill.The bathroom mirror was handily located on the chair in the bedroom for some unknown reason. The magic shower was a real treat, Its natural position is to point back at the wall and when you reposition it merely wanders back to spraying the wall when you do point the shower head yourself it's so full of scale it sprays in every direction but you.. Then the temp alternates between freezing and scalding without touching the taps...The room was on the top floor and the temp outside was 25'c so the temp inside was more like 35'c and although the room was provided with a small fan this wasn't adequate. I informed the reception staff of all of these issues upon checkout and she assured me that they would be dealt with but i doubt it will be. Anyway we won't be returning to find out.
On the plus side the bed was comfortable and breakfast was ok.
This hotel like many others could be amazing and worthy of the price they charge now BUT in its current state in my opinion far to expensive......
SPEND MONEY ON THE PLACE AND MAKE IT BEAUTIFUL.................

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tarby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
335 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
346 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £76 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing