We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wedding venue”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We visited her for a wedding.

The setting is beautiful, especially on a warm summer's day with a view of the countryside behind the wedding.

The staff were excellent. Always attentive and friendly and the service at meal was very efficient given the number of covers, and the quality of the food was outstanding. In fact the organisation of the whole day could not have been better.

So we had a superb experience at the wedding, let down slightly by tired bedrooms, that could certainly do with renovation. But that was not enough to spoil a great weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

We attended a family wedding and I have to say the staff, food and service were excellent and what you would expect. The Hyde Barn provides a lovely setting for a wedding and the day went off well.

A wider choice of drinks on draft in the wedding facility wouldn't go a miss, particularly a real ale, and the bar and hotel bar also being shut in between the day and evening provided a bit of a gap with nothing to do.

The rooms were disappointing. Carpets look as if they had recently been changed which was a sign of an improvement, but generally the rooms and quality of furnishings and bed furniture was poor and in need of an upgrade. At the prices charged you wouldn't expect plastic mattress liners and polyester covers and pillows.

A good wedding venue and I hope their continued success enables re-investment in the rooms to bring these up to the standard of the newly added Hyde Barn.

Room Tip: Room 9 was in need of updating and too much furniture in it that you couldn't use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CotswoldCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

On a warm summers day we were looking for a unique setting for lunch and came across the fosse Manor Hotel and stopped to see if they offered lunch.We were greeted cordially and shown to a long bar area and seating at a variety of tables ours with a welcome breeze from a nearby window.
To my delight I was immediately taken by the offerings for lunch which in addition to local ingredients were highly unusual and seemed exciting,there was certainly enough choice to satisfy me so here is a summary of our lunch,we ordered three appetisers to taste and share to include,Whitebait with various dips,a Smoked Salmon and Crab plate and their chicken Liver Parfait which was truly superb.The main entrees were Sea Bass and I chose Chump,yes Chump of lamb grilled to perfection and oozing juice when I cut into it,sipping wine throughout our meal we first chose a Chennin Blanc and finished off by ordering a Sauvingnon Blanc, we relaxed with two filter coffees and I asked the waiter if it would be possible to be the chef of the day.A young gentlemen named Tom Carroll presented himself as the duty Chef that day and we had a jovial conversation together with plenty of compliments for such a delightful meal.He was extremely appreciative as few people take the time to seek out the culinary genius of many restaurants as they work so hard to present their masterpieces from the kitchen Well done we cannot wait to return.Yes it was affordable and in a lovely setting,try it for yourself and give me a big YES..........In addition I had asked to see the rooms incase I wished to return and overnight,they were all nicely appointed and good value for the offerings both the Hotel and restaurant are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Met a very dear friend for lunch here. The service was great and food was excellent. It was our first time and really was a great experience, it was lovely after lunch to relax in the sofas at the bar. Definitely be visiting again and will recommend

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Lilly02469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We attended a wedding at Hyde Barn and booked to stay at the hotel, firstly Hyde Barn is a really good venue in a lovely setting and the wedding was a truly lovely event. We had a principal room in the coach house and our room had its own court yard which was a lovely idea but it was a bit dishevelled with weeds coming through the tarmac, however our room was perfectly suitable and looked like it had a new carpet and curtains and was a good size. the bathroom was also very good in that it had a bath and a seperate shower cubicle. I couldn't fault the cleanliness and the bed was really comfy. Breakfast in the morning was as you would normally get in any hotel and was acceptable and tasty. all in all a lovely time spent at the wedding and the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 36 in the coach house is next door to Hyde Barn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebert-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for one night as our daughter was getting married at Hyde Barn, we stayed in room 1. It's a large room which was good but the carpet had ripples in it and needs replacing. The kingsize bed had a very hard mattress and I didn't sleep, the wallpaper is not in keeping with the rest of the decor. The bathroom was nice with lovely views from the roll top bath. There was only 2 teabags which was mean and UHT milk which I would only expect in a B&B,maybe a small fridge could be placed in the room so fresh milk could be provided. The buffet breakfast was nice until I noticed the sausages were pink and under cooked.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanbCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We attended a wedding in the barn so overnight stay an essential .Its odd but it's a lovely setting yet lacked a sense of personality which may sound odd to comment about a hotel but from the exterior it looked liked it should have had one.That being said it was clean and comfortable but we sweltered as we were on the top floor ( although a fan was provided)
Breakfast just ok but we decided to give it a miss and popped into Miss Tea Potts in nearby Moreton on the water and that was a treat!
Hyde Barn as a wedding venue tho was thoroughly recommended by the wedding couple - lovely outdoor setting with weather to match

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSP50S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
374 reviews
1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
345 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £76 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing