We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fosse Manor Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“lovely hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

This is one of the best 3 stars we have stayed, the room was spacious, and the view great.
Nice breakfast and a great dinner.
The hotel was fairly empty because it was a Monday night, so we were given an even better room than we booked, at no extra charge.

All good stuff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    80
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
173
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2010

I booked this directly with the hotel as a romantic break for my partner's birthday. I booked a week in advance at "best rate" but was surprised to find the price on their website the day before our stay was £50 cheaper. No joy with haggling on the 'phone or on check in, so this took the shine off things a bit as I felt a little ripped off from the start.

I had requested a quiet superior room and the hotel certainly delivered on that, putting us in a very large room in the old hay loft. It had a large comfortable bed, a sitting area with TV, and a very large bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower cubicle with a power shower. The room was warm despite the weather being quite cold for an early May weekend.

As far as the room was concerned, the only faults I could comment on were a) very poor TV reception with limited channels, and b) the interior of the wardrobes could do with a bit of tidying. The TV reception was not a huge issue as we didn't watch much other than breakfast news.

Breakfast was very good although "last orders" at 9.30am on a Sunday is a bit early in my view. We had dinner on one evening which was excellent, no faults whatsoever with either the quality of the food or the service.

In summary, a very pleasant stay, but for the price I would expect a little more attention to detail with the accomodation, and satelite TV to overcome the poor terrestial reception.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
174 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

This is lovely old hotel about a ten min drive from Stow centre.The rooms were fine, beds comfortable,yes it could do with a bit of a refurb to the windows and the bathroom but it was only for one night and it is an old hotel.
The breakfast was lovely,we didn't have dinner there but the menu looked good and not overpriced.
I would agree with other reviewer there was an air of pomposity and we did feel they were slightly sneering at the quests,but who cares - let them if they want to !

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

We stayed at the Fosse Manor Hotel on the evening of the 12th February 2010. The whole bill came to no small amount, just over £200.00 including evening meal.

We were not advised what time breakfast was and we got to the restuarant at 9.45 only to be turned away and advised that breakfast finished at 9.30 "On a Sunday"!!!!!! On Valentines day??????

We then checked out and they had the front to charge me for the breakfast they refused me a few minutes prior to this.

I emailed them afterwards and they not only refused to accept I was annoyed they sent me an email almost calling me a liar.

Complete rip off and very overpriced for a level of service that is very pompous and frankly downright rude.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Traveller1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Fosse Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Breakfast is served until 9.30am every single day, as advertised in the room information.
Guests are also told the time for breakfast on arrival.
This guest actually came for breakfast at 9.55am. All the other guests had left and everyting had been cleared away. Despite being late they were offered Cereals, Fruit, Juice, Coffee and Toast, but refused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abruzzo
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,343 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

Ww were fortunate enough to have been invited to luncheon with a friend - who I am told frequents this establishment a lot. The lunch was superb & we opted for the inclusive set 3 course - very good value. The food was of good quality & beautifully presented. The staff were attentive. We shall put it on our list of possibilities and I would consider staying there - following on from our experience. Also we found it very airy & light for a day time venue.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caporciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

We arrived after a few days of snow, yet no one had cleared a route to the way in, and given the reception is through a side entrance and not the obvious front door it makes you wonder what they had been doing having been snowed in all day.

An enjoyable stay and we would go back but I do wonder if the owners ever stay in their own hotels. things that desperately need to be addressed are:-

Lounge area out of what must be 60 seats at tables for diners thee are a total of 10 lounge places so don't expect to find a private or even comfortably quiet corner to sit in.

The rooms (ours was I hope a standard) are little better than a well used travelodge, with seriously drafty windows, no lights above any mirrors a wobbly toilet seats and shower heads that were last serviced never and were so blocked it was difficult to tell if it was a shower or mist generator.

Food is enjoyable although they gave a tendency to overcook, rock hard bacon at breakfast. The skills in the kitchen sit a notch below those of the menu author, but not terrible, just could be better with a bit more thought.

The other guests were enjoying their stay as we did but it would not take much to make it so much better, starting with giving people more lounge space which may be the one reason we don't go back, we go to sit and talk through our work year and need the space and privacy.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanaHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

The service on reception& in the bar & restaurant was polite and friendly. The reception staff also obtained any directions we needed plus had lots of information on the road conditions in different areasas we were visiting on the snowy 2nd wkend in Jan. Room was a good size and clean. However, we did upgrade to a superior room after checking the hotel website and realising that the standard room (which we had booked via a Last Minute offer) looked extremely small. Glad we made the change as the room we got was what I had been expecting as standard! The major plus with this hotel is the restaurant, the food is outstanding and very reasonably priced, well worth a visit even if you're not staying at the hotel. Minor grumble, the rooms are slightly overpriced. Great location for both Stow (1 mile away) and Boulton-On-The-Water (about 5 min drive). The Hay Barn spa in Daylesford is also only 10-15mins drive and definitely worth a look if you find a couple of hours to pamper yourself, an oasis of calm & the staff are lovely. We also went to the Curry Corner in Cheltenham (20-25mins drive) which served the best curry we've ever had, a must if you are in the area! All in all would happily stay at the Fosse Manor again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMD39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Property: Fosse Manor Hotel
Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing