We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant place to stay.”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place to stay.”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Stayed at the Fosse Manor for 2 nights, was pleasently suprised with the experience.
We stayed in a standard room and I was a little worried before we arrived because of all the reviews about tiny rooms. In fact, even though I think we had one of the smallest rooms at the top of the hotel it was quite big enough. It was nicely decorated, very clean and quite big enough to fit the bed a wardrobe, dressing table and a small seating area. The bathroom was large and well equiped. We found the staff helpful and friendly, The restuarant is the star of the show. We ate there both nights (hadn't intended to but we were so impressed on the first night we went back for more). Food was lovely and not overpriced for the standard. The deserts are just fantastic so make sure to leave some room. My suggestions for improvement would be better TV's and WIFI in the rooms (there is a small lounge by hotel reception that has WIFI but a bit pain to go downstairs with the laptop). Also, forget about the cafetieres in the rooms and stick to instant coffee. They look very pretty but are a bit messy. Only minor points which didn't spoil the stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    80
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
43
173
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Agree with those who felt disappointed. The approach to the annexe was shabby and needed some attention. If new Tarmac is out of the question, a yard broom, garden shears and some large,well planted containers would give the place a facelift. Satellite TV, flat screen televisions and sheer blinds instead of net curtains would bring the place into the 21st century. Would suggest management stay in the rooms to experience the lack of the specialness anticipated at these room rates. Dinner, however, was truly excellent. Staff were fine , if not quite as crisp and on the button as the quality of the food would suggest.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We've just spent a night at this hotel as a stop-over and had a very pleaant experience at this hotel while touring the Cotwolds.
1. Very friendly, polite staff on all occasions.
2. Pretty vine leaves covered the building
3. Standard rooms are pretty, yet quite small, but from experience, I find this rather typical for the UK.
4. The room itself and the bathroom was very clean with a big window, a shower and a bath tub.

Overall I felt very much at home.

Maybe things to improve: I didn't find the bar seating area very inviting, more like a waiting room. Maybe it was just how the furniture was arranged in front of the modern bar.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theeternaltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The first thing I will say is ignore the previous negative reviews on here. We looked at the reviews the night before we were due to go and were absolutely dreading it. Our romantic weekend away was doomed before we even got there because of the comments we had read. But we were delighted!
We stayed at Fosse Manor through the Tesco voucher scheme so our actual stay cost us nothing for B & B. We had a standard room which was situated up in the loft area. Yes, the bedroom was smaller than we expected but was cosy for just us two. Yes it was quite noisy from the main road as it was a front bedroom so we couldn't have the window opne at night so was a bit hot. However, the room was clean and nicely decorated. Service for check in was polite friendly and quick. Yes the reception on TV is not great, we couldn't watch the football on 3 as no signal but they do explain this fully in the information folder and it is a situation beyond their control. We felt the hotel was beuatifully decorated, not in need of modernisation at all as it has recently been done. The people were not pompous but hugely friendly and chatty. My husband had dealt with the chef through his work and we had the chance to meet him personally as well as get some free canapes! The food was absolutely EXCELLENT. Best meals we have eaten in ages and beautifully presented. Location was great, directly between Stow and Bourton on the Water, beautiful places. You will love your stay here so don't worry about recent reviews. We were in Room 21.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike17Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Our room was in the building behind the main manor, it had its own courtyard, which was nice, but would have been nicer if had more plants/flowers and the old cigarette butts were picked up. The overall room was clean and tidy and had everything in there that you needed. Even a cute teddy on your bed that you can adopt. The bed was VERY soft and comfortable, the only thing that stopped me from having a nice sleep-in was the noise from the other rooms when they used the shower/toilet. I think there was something wrong with the plumbing as we couldnt get the hot water working in the shower. The breakfast was really good and service was attentive. The gardens were lovely and the main eating areas were nicely decorated. Its just a shame that not everything was up to scratch.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eza84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This is a typical small hotel in the cotswolds. It is clean and fresh.

1. This hotel is not in Stow on the Wold. It is a 5 min drive or 20 min walk into the town centre.
2. The standard rooms are pretty small. We tried to book beauty treatments which were advertised on their website, but due to the size of the room we could only have one treatment at a time which was rather annoying. The hotel also did not help in the booking process and we were told to organise it of our own accord even though they were receiving a hefty commission from the outside company providing the service.
3. The standard room does not have a bath and only a small walk in shower.
4. Our TV and DVD player didn't work.
5. We found one member of staff rather rude. Seeing as she checked us in and out she proved to be rather influential in the overall perspective of the hotel. She tried to negotiate an extortionate amount of money from us for an upgrade and when we made our feelings known to her about some issues on checkout she wasn't understanding at all.

Overall we were a little disappointed and would hold back from recommending the hotel. Sometimes the small things make all the difference.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_wisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My wife and I went back to celebrate our wedding anniversary having spent our honeymoon there 32 years ago.
We were disappointed with the general decor of the hotel. Our bedroom (32) - a superior room was in need of a good clean and some refurbishment. The price charged did not reflect the quality.
We had dinner on the first night and that was very good.
The staff were extremely pleasant and generally service good.
Value for money overall was pretty poor - apart from their Champagne which actually was very good and reasonably priced !!!!
Not sure we would rush back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomanticsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Fosse Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2010
Thank you for taking time to write your review.
However you seem to have posted it to the wrong hotel, as we do not have a room 32. Please can you amend this review to the correct hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Property: Fosse Manor Hotel
Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing