We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable stay - well done to all the staff”
Review of Fosse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fosse Manor Hotel
Reviewed 2 March 2011

All the hotel staff looked after us very well during our recent wonderful stay. We realised that neither of us had completed the questionnaire but it wouldn't have said how much we enjoyed ourselves. The members of staff that we encountered and those that we never saw because they were behind the scenes all seemed to work together so well and they really were a good team. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We were particulary impressed that they source food and drink locally where possible. The fish 'n chip evening really made the hotel buzz and we'll be keeping an eye open for the other special evenings that they do e.g. Jazz Night

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

Took some friends away to spend a relaxing weekend break in the Cotswolds at our favorite hotel. Recommending somewhere to friends can be worrying, but the Fosse Manor did not let us down. From the moment that we stepped out of the car to the moment we left, we were given a first class experience.
We stayed in room 38 situated in the Old Coach House, which was very spacious with views across the cotswold countryside and the added bonus of a very large modern bathroom , and a very comfortable bed.
The quality of the evening meal and breakfast were of the usual high standard, and the staff were attentive throughout.
Overall another very enjoyable experience in this classic Cotswolds hotel

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WiltshirePartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed at the Fosse Manor Hotel for a celebration and had a great time. The hotel is ideally placed for exploring the scenic Cotswolds. Our welcome was warm and friendly from the dedicated and wonderful staff. Even though we went in the winter we were pleased to find the hotel wonderfully warm (without being uncomfortably hot as can happen), and comfortable throughout. Our room overlooked the wonderful countryside and it was a great pleasure to spend time looking through the mullioned windows of our room at the views (we had room 20). We were pleased to find that the dinner allowance (we stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis) was enough to allow us to have a most enjoyable 3 course meal with coffee. What a brilliant change from other places we have stayed where the allowance is a complete rip off.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BQ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

A beautiful looking hotel in the Cotswolds with open views of the surrounding countryside. The rooms are spacious but do need modernising, especially the televisions, only had about 5 channels on our TV and no ITV.
An excellent menu in the restaurant with a very good selection of wines. Backed up with a top quality breakfast where we were actually asked how many sausages & rashers of bacon we wanted, the bacon was proper thick cut bacon as well.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EyewhyBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 March 2011

Thank you very much for your feed back. We have struggled recently with our signal from the transmitter in Oxford, however we have now invested in new Flatsceen TV`s for all the bedrooms, and they come with all the freeview channels (inc ITV!!)
Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Fosse in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We had travelled down from Blackpool where we had not had a great expoerience and wre looking for a quiet B&B when we came across the Fosse Manor... The welcome was great, the prices reasonable and room was very comfortable - We stayed two nights and used it as our base for our last 3 days in England before heading back to Australia. As a base for the Cotswolds it was brilliant with the staff assisting in providing maps and directions to the best areas to visit in our limited time. The Game pie we had for dinner one night was exquisite and we ended buying and taking home the Teddy Bear in our room that they sell for Charities. We are looking forward to using the Fosse Manor as our base for a week or more when we visit England in a few years.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simplyus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We stayed on the 30/11/2010 for our wedding anniverary & the welcome we recieved at the hotel was very warm. The room was loverly & warm {outside temp-5C} Our meal in the evening was excellent along with the service. . The fruit cake which the hotel had arranged was for our anniverary was beautifully iced & i can say it tastes very good.
Our overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pension186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Had the pleasure of staying in this hotel for two nights, as we are newly weds our room was upgraded to a superior free of charge, the staff are warm and friendly, very home from home, we ate here both nights and the food is 1st class,could not fault in any way,breakfast was lovely and plentiful, anyone wanting a relaxing,away from it all break should go, we feel sure you will not be sorry, thanks again Fosse Manor we will see you again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
374 reviews
1 mi away
Stow Lodge Hotel
Stow Lodge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
345 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosse Manor Hotel

Address: Fosse Manor Fosseway, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £76 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fosse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Fosse Manor
Fosse Manor Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing