We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We spent 3 1/2 weeks in the UK, starting with Stow-In-The-Wold at the Stow Lodge Hotel. The staff is friendly, kind and extremely helpful. The hotel is right on the village square.

I always like it when reviewers tell what rooms they had. We had room 8 and our friends had room 10. Both were in the original part of the hotel on the second floor over looking the church and the old grave yard. (In most of Europe this would be considered the first floor, but being from the states, we call it the second floor). The rooms and the entire hotel are clean and well cared for.

We were skeptical about dinner so we planned on only the first night. Everything was so good and the presentation so perfect, we changed to the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast plan and ate in the hotel dining room all four nights we were there. (Although I would not order the steak again. Way over done for my tastes). Breakfasts were unbelievably hearty and very good.

We especially enjoyed the lounge before dinner and coffee in the lounge after dinner. All the other guests were friendly and talkative, not like so many other B&Bs. I believe this is because they all felt the same as we, the experience could not be beat.

The only problem the oldest member of our party had was getting in and out of the tub/shower. A note to the hotel: Add additional hand holds for us "older folks".

Would we go back? Absolutely. Would we recommend the hotel to others? Without question.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very romantic with the 4 poster bed and the night view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOMnLYNNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

We had a room in the building behind the Lodge - the old carriage house. They accomodated our request for a room - though one wasn't ready when we first got there. The help was great, very attentive to our needs, friendly and welcoming. The food was very good and cooked fresh and the portions were generous. I believe that most nights we ate at the Lodge... the food was just too good to pass up. Though the bath in our room as a bit dated, it was clean and the room was nicely decorated. I loved the drawing room with the big fireplace (which is where I had to go for internet access). The Town is lovely - charming in rain or not. Just out of the gate for the Lodge - to the right is probably the BEST scone I have ever had. The grounds of the Lodge were very nice - I would love to see it in full bloom. I would most definately go here again. (btw - the folks at the tourist bureau were terrific too!)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteMtnsFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My Husband and i had an evening meal in the bar area. From the moment we booked the table to the time we had finished eating and left the hotel, the staff we exceptional and made us feel so welcome. The food was delicious and portion size was VERY generous, It was that good that we would definately stay here for a weekend! It was such a lovely evening we were disappointed that we were not staying :-(

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabitha1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were delighted to stay at this wonderful Inn in the historic village of Stow-On-The-Wold. The exterior and grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the interior rooms of the main building excellent including the comfortable Resident's Lounge, stylish restaurant and expansive bar area.

Our room was in one of the out buildings just across the common area on the second floor. It was large with 2 overstuffed sitting chairs and loads of counter-space along with flat screen TV. The separate bathroom was of good size and enlarged "L" shape counter space above the sink for all the bottles, viles and containers we American's like to take with us when we travel.

The food served in the restaurant is excellent with many main course choices with set prices for two and three course meals. Cloth tablecloths and napkins make for a nice upscale experience---although reasonably priced. For more casual dinning, the bar is comfortable with excellent service, with a less item menu than the restaurant---but still plenty of choices.

Full English Breakfasts are served in the restaurant, and I suspect are part of your quoted hotel fare. Breakfast's are of excellent quality with hearty helpings to get your day started well. The wait staff is outstanding. Friendly, efficient, well mannered and eager to please. Great service!! Our main servers throughout our 4 day stay were Shirley, Anthony, Lewis, and Ruth. While I don't know the names of the other waitstaff professionals---they were all excellent.

Two of the owners (the inn has been with the same family for 40 years) are Chris and wife Amanda. Both doing a fair share of the work including reception, cooking, billing, reservations, property maintenance. They work long and hard hours, yet are very receptive to mixing with the guests to provide needed information and advice, such as recommended routes (for the new to other side of the road drivers) to other villages and tourist sights. This is a well run hotel with a staff that is unified in making your stay pleasurable. The teamwork and camaraderie is most evident.

Step off the property and you're in the square of the delightful Stow-On-The-Wold with excellent shops, pubs and tearooms and an easy self guided tour. The hotel is right off the main road thru the city. The WiFi is at no cost and is easily accessed in the bar and resident's lounge (I couldn't pick it up in our out building---but no issue). The car park is on site and is "no-charge". Easy in and out.

Having visited many of the other villages in the Cotswolds, this is the one you want to make your home base for your day trips---as well as perhaps just for the night as you're passing through.

Room Tip: Not sure. We made no special effort or requests and were awarded a nice second floor room. I had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at the Stow Lodge for one evening. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel is very well appointed, the rooms spacious and clean and the staff very friendly. I highly recommend the 3 course dinner in the dining room as well. We are somewhat difficult to please, but I must say that our stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

What can I say but an excellent hotel! The very best in everything including the marvelous food in their very nice dining area together with very friendly and professional staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KPBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Scrumptious food in their restaurant, accomodation very nice.

Room Tip: ask for the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
356 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
975 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,270 reviews
4.2 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £108 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing