We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special hotel”
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A special hotel”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We have just come back from a lovely break at the Stow Lodge hotel with family and friends. It is in a great position in the village with plenty of parking. We had four bedrooms in the Coach House. All were to a high standard and the beds were very comfortable. We had a dressing table, chairs & table, full length mirror, and large wardrobe for our clothes The bathroom had plenty of space for toiletries etc. Shampoos & shower gels were provided and it was good to see that face flannels were provided as well which we have not had in other hotels. The hotel has a large lounge with a real log fire and a separate bar area with seating. We had seen the large lovely gardens in the summer on a trip to Stow on the Wold. Breakfasts were excellent with a range of fruit juices, cereals, fruit, kippers, and traditional cooked breakfasts. These are served at your table by the staff rather than self service which we have had in other hotels which is a nice touch. Evening dinners were excellent as well with a wide choice of food including some for vegetarians. The staff were special as well - very friendly / helpful and some have been the hotel many years. One of us was celebrating a birthday and the staff sang happy birthday and brought out the cake we had provided. It was obvious that this was a family run hotel because of the attention to detail and the friendly atmosphere. We will all be staying here again.

(By the way the place does not smell of beer / smoke - it is all non smoking inside and you can of course sit in the garden if you are actually staying at the hotel. It is a hotel not a pub!)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiptreeJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    72
    6
    12
    8
See reviews for
43
199
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

just got back from a reunion which was held at this hotel it was a brilliant stay everyone from reception to bar staff and others was excellent nothing was too much trouble,the meals were excellent as was the choice,the beds were the best we have slept in ,everthing was clean and everything was catered for,it was our first visit and it will not be our last.well done everybody we will be back,thanks once again..

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothyn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Enjoyed our short stay here. It was absolutely wonderful. The staff are really friendly, the carpets did not smell of beer or smoke. Our room no 12 was really large and clean. The beds are to die for, better than mine at home. The hotel was so good we've rebooked for easter next year!

Room Tip: Room 12 or the Chalet are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyshipHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I've never been anywhere in my life so unfriendly and seen such unbelievable rules! Id been to this hotel before for Sunday lunch and it was kind of OK. Beautiful building on the outside bu the inside is very very tired. Carpets just smell of beer and smoke. Its a real members only working mans club / hotel.

No dogs allowed in the garden. No drinks served in the afternoon unless youre a resident. Asked if we could sit on a bench outside for a while and was told no. Honestly, I feel like im making it up but never had such a surreal (bad) experience. It was just like Faulty towers! in fact i think they were filming the next episode!

Room Tip: Find another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthewmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I have been coming to stow lodge for 11 years,we try to stay at least 3 times a year .
Its such a chilled out hotel,we go home all relaxed :-D
roll on February when I go for 3 lovely nights in our lovely room 8

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grasam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We spent 3 1/2 weeks in the UK, starting with Stow-In-The-Wold at the Stow Lodge Hotel. The staff is friendly, kind and extremely helpful. The hotel is right on the village square.

I always like it when reviewers tell what rooms they had. We had room 8 and our friends had room 10. Both were in the original part of the hotel on the second floor over looking the church and the old grave yard. (In most of Europe this would be considered the first floor, but being from the states, we call it the second floor). The rooms and the entire hotel are clean and well cared for.

We were skeptical about dinner so we planned on only the first night. Everything was so good and the presentation so perfect, we changed to the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast plan and ate in the hotel dining room all four nights we were there. (Although I would not order the steak again. Way over done for my tastes). Breakfasts were unbelievably hearty and very good.

We especially enjoyed the lounge before dinner and coffee in the lounge after dinner. All the other guests were friendly and talkative, not like so many other B&Bs. I believe this is because they all felt the same as we, the experience could not be beat.

The only problem the oldest member of our party had was getting in and out of the tub/shower. A note to the hotel: Add additional hand holds for us "older folks".

Would we go back? Absolutely. Would we recommend the hotel to others? Without question.

Room Tip: Room 8 is very romantic with the 4 poster bed and the night view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOMnLYNNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We had a room in the building behind the Lodge - the old carriage house. They accomodated our request for a room - though one wasn't ready when we first got there. The help was great, very attentive to our needs, friendly and welcoming. The food was very good and cooked fresh and the portions were generous. I believe that most nights we ate at the Lodge... the food was just too good to pass up. Though the bath in our room as a bit dated, it was clean and the room was nicely decorated. I loved the drawing room with the big fireplace (which is where I had to go for internet access). The Town is lovely - charming in rain or not. Just out of the gate for the Lodge - to the right is probably the BEST scone I have ever had. The grounds of the Lodge were very nice - I would love to see it in full bloom. I would most definately go here again. (btw - the folks at the tourist bureau were terrific too!)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteMtnsFolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,398 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,160 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Property: Stow Lodge Hotel
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing