We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My three night stay at Stow Lodge.”
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My three night stay at Stow Lodge.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here with my sister-in-law for three nights in April 2012.Stayed in room four which has a large bed and very comfortable and very quiet room.I have stayed at this hotel many times before
with my now late husband.The food in the restaurant is excellent and plentiful,although now i am
older i tend to eat in the bar,which is also very good.Breakfast is superb and staff are very
pleasant and helpful.I just go for the rest,and enjoy the comfort of the quiet lounge with log fire.Will definately be booking again soon,its like home from home.

Room Tip: we stay usually in room four facing the front gardens,I have stayed in most rooms except the chalet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magantCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    72
    6
    12
    8
See reviews for
43
199
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We only stayed here for one night but was very impressed with Stow Lodge. superb location for the town and ample parking. All staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had room 2 overlooking the garden and it was lovely. nice comfy bed and spotlessly clean.
We had a bar meal and that too was very good. All other guests we spoke too said how good the Resturant was. Breakfast was superb with, juice,toast,porridge,a full english tea and coffee.
It was hot and very tasty.We will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask to Overlook the Garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paultriple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Tried the rest, now I've found the best! Had a wonderful stay once again. The Chalet was fantastic, along with everything else. Beds were to die for! Thanks.

Room Tip: Chalet is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyshipHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Lodge was exactly as pictured on the internet the staff were extremely friendly and could not fault any thing. Only wish we had the opportunity to stay longer and enjoy the surroundings, sit in the beautiful gardens and relax in the guest lounge. Tasted our first kippers. The children were made welcome. Highly recommended. The Aussie Auntie travelling with family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Visited Stow-on-the-Wold this weekend with friends and had lunch in the Bar of the Stow Lodge Hotel.

Reception was friendly with a good choice of bar meals.

The Hotel is located in a corner of the Market Square and looks a little unassuming from the entrance.

The Hotel itself is, however, far from boring and expresses a beautiful old world charm dating back to the 17th century.

Our bar meal was delicious and very reasonably priced especially as compared with other eateries in Stow.

Whilst we were not stopping at the Hotel itself, we would not hesitate to recommend the Stow Lodge Hotel for its menu

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r_smith640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

My husband & myself recently stayed at the Stow Lodge Hotel. The room in which we spent
3 nights was a converted barn, the room was large, the bathroom included a bath & too had
lots of room to move about. It was very clean & the bed comfortable. The b/fast first class, the staff very attentive & helpful with further enquiries as to where to go now. We would return at the flash of a winning lotto ticket. We also had our evening meal there- you must book the evening meal. We were very happy with our choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: We did not have a problem here with noise, the room was close to the main road. Yes we are sensitiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethRivertonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights just before Xmas. Stow is an ideal place for a Xmas break, shame it didn't snow to set of the overall festive feel. This hotel is right in the centre and you can pop in and out to wander around the wonderful shops in Stow or stay in and sit around the large open fire. We love Stow, it has great shops, cafes restuarants and pubs.

This is one of those genuine family run hotels with sincere friendly accomodating staff who really care about your stay and are happy to have a chat with you. Ok, its not a modern contemporary hotel that all look alike, this is a real VFM hotel. We couldn't get a room in the hotel and stayed in one of the coach houses. This was very comfortable and quiet.

The key question we always ask ourselves is 'would we stay again?'.....most definately yes. We will probably visit again in the run up to Xmas and probably in spring or autumn to catch the different seasons.

No problem in recommending this fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54BJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
186 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,396 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Property: Stow Lodge Hotel
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing