We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited the restaurant only”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Woking
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Visited the restaurant only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We only booked for a meal at the restaurant after being briefed by a friend. The food was very traditional English. I could barely finish everything but it was absolutely delicious. The staff was very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiara68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    66
    6
    12
    7
See reviews for
41
190
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is by far the best hotel I've stayed in! When I booked I wanted to stay in the main hotel, but was told it was fully booked, and was offered a room in the coach house, I wasn't keen but agreed. I expected it to be noisy from the road, what a surprise case we never heard a single vehicle. It was really quiet. The room was large, spotlessly clean and warm. The food at both evening and breakfast was delicious, and the Irish coffees are to die for. We will be back soon. Thank you x

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyshipHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

We've just returned from a three night break and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had room eight which overlooks the church; it is a very comfortable room with four poster bed, large bath with shower over it. Very comforting to hear the church bells chime every fifteen minutes. Comprehensive menu, food is excellent with generous portions, fillet steak on Saturday night was great. Good choice of wines including St Hallet and also Chateau Musar at only £40 a bottle. Service is very good and staff very friendly. The downside? Can't think of anything. Looking forward to visiting again next year. This was our fifth time and would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambrian31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I spent only one night here of the two we had booked because our rental car had a flat tire that partially derailed our trip (don't ever rent from Hertz in this area, they're well-known for flat tires and leaving people stranded -- which we only discovered after it happened to us). However, we would have liked to have stayed longer. The hotel is charming in an old-fashioned, very traditional sort of way, and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. We were very grateful to them, under the circumstances.

The entrance and grounds of the hotel are really beautiful and it abuts a lovely churchyard with an atmospheric old church. You can see the famous church door, framed by its yew trees, from the windows of the hotel bar. Even on a cold, rainy night, we enjoyed walking around the very charming town of Stow, which has many beautiful shops and restaurants and is within handy reach of the train connections in Moreton-in-Marsh (which, since we had lost our car, we used to go to Oxford).

The hotel has a lovely, cozy, welcoming bar as well as a very beautiful, more formal stone-walled restaurant. We originally booked dinner in the dining room, but once we got settled in the bar we found we were too comfortable to move and we had a very enjoyable dinner there. I'm a vegetarian and it was nice to have so many vegetarian options. My husband and I both agreed that the food was excellent and it's served in very generous portions.

Our room was #2, upstairs in the main house. It was old-fashioned and perhaps even rather stodgy in terms of the decor, but it was spacious and comfortable and had a large, very functional (though perhaps not terribly chic) bathroom. The view over the front gardens was lovely.

I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel as a charming, comfortable, hospitable base for touring the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Room #2 is quiet, comfortable, and spacious, and has a nice view over the front gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janicetj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds ,UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We happened upon the Lodge by chance and were attracted by the vegetarian dishes on the menu. We enjoyed both very much and for under £10 thought it was excellent value. Portions were generous and vegetables cooked to perfection.
The hotel is traditional in its decor but spotlessly clean. Most diners were over 70 and i would guess that reflects the style of the hotel and most dishes on the menu aim at that age group. But they had really thought about the vegetarian dishes and made an efort to try something different.
Service in was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford on Avon
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is the sort of hotel that my parents would have loved and many pensioners are clearly still enjoying it. It is olde worlde charm and the sort of solid food that suits its clientele very well. Service is good and the welcome is friendly. There are electric heaters in the bedrooms which can be cold. There is a big car park and the hotel is well situated towards the top of the town. Its a good hotel that plays to its audience.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Edw0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
264 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

My wife and I have visited England 18 times since 1989 and while on a bus tour from London in 89 we were introduced to Stow on The Wold. We liked the town but unfortunately were limited to a 1 hour visit. About 3 years later we decided to return and book a room at the recommended Stow Lodge for 3 nights. That's all it took to get hooked on the absolutely fabulous Inn. Since that first 3 day stay we have returned, with friends and family about 10 times usually for a full week. Why, you may ask. The Inn is a family owned lodge and the Hartleys are a friendly, caring hands on family who work very hard with their staff to make sure their guests are well taken care of. The accomodations are great. Very clean, comfortable and well maintained. The breakfasts are tasty and filling but the true dining experience is at dinner. The chef, Steve, is the son of the owners and does a fabulous job of producing fine offerings. My favorite is the roasted chicken but everything on their extensive menu is great. The only down side to the dinner which is included in the room, breakfast/dinner package is the meal they serve is too much for my wife and I so we usually dine in the bar area which serves the same entrees but with an al a carte menu. The gardens are well kept by Mrs. Hartley and the entire staff are pro active and do their best to make our time spent with them like we are part of the family. Now the one person who always amazes me is Chris Hartley. He is the hands on day to day manager who sometimes works in the kitchen when needed and also works the main dining room, in the evening, as a server. With all he does I have never seen him down in spirit. If and when we need assistance from the front desk we can always depend on Nicky, Amanda or possibly Chris, Mrs. Hatley; well you get the picture either a family member or a very trusted member of their staff is always on hand to assist you. Finally, we have just booked 4 nights for this November and we can't wait. We are so looking forward to the entire experience and one of the most comfortable times spent in our day is after touring the scenic towns in The Cotswolds and after enjoying our dinner we retire to the lounge where the fireplace does its magic. The aroma of the wood fire while enjoying a sherry is intoxicating. Now you know why we love the Stow Lodge and consider that Lodge our favorite holiday location.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but if you have difficulty climbing stairs the coach house is perfect. No sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Property: Stow Lodge Hotel
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing