We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stow lodge”
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Firstly i would like to thank everyone at Stow Lodge for making our stay so lovely . my husband and myself have been visitors at this lovely hotel for the past 20 years . We try and visit 3 to 5 times each year .Its like home from home
The staff are so friendly ,Nothing is too much trouble .
The rooms are warm , Clean ,The beds are so comfatable .We stayed in room 16 this time , its quite small ,but has loads of charm .
The Breakfasts are fit for a king , and set you up for the day .
We love sitting in the lounge ,with a glass of wine , around the log fire .
I cant wait for our next visit
Julie and Peter Masterson , Nottingham .
I would recomend this family run hotel ,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

I would start by saying the staff were really sweet, especially the young man who seemed in charge in the restaurant, but, and its a very big BUT, the hotel is really dated, the beds do not have duvets they have pink blankets and a sheet (very basic), the room was cold when we arrived and we had to put on the radiators. Bathroom also very basic and small. The most important factor however was as vegetarians who ordered a vegetarian meal in the restaurant we were presented with potatoes cooked in lard. We were not told this and only after taking a bite, when it was obvious and we asked were we told this was the case. Furthermore the bakewell tart pastry is also made with beef lard. I appreciate we may be a minority group as vegetarians but to not make the ingredients clear seems to me really bad practice.
Upon arrival there was an overwhelming smell of air freshener and in the room bleach.
It felt slightly like a care home!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stow Lodge Hotel has it all - comfortable, clean and well equipped en suite rooms, a bar and a restaurant serving tasty food and its right on the market square in beautiful Stow on the Wold. What really makes the hotel are the staff - so friendly and welcoming. they really can't do enough for you. we were mainly looked after by the Fab Four - Shirley, Debbie, Nicky and the truly wonderful Anthony. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Stow Lodge is a wonderful hotel. Everything about it is just lovely. You get such a warm welcome, it's so comfortable and clean. The food is excellent. The staff are so professional, friendly and attentive. You are so well looked after. Anthony is our favourite and we will look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suelovespurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Despite the risk of a snowy journey we arrived to find the hotel warm and welcoming. Having just re-opened after a short break the hotel was spotless and ready for visitors. Our room, number 2, was a toasty haven after our slightly delayed journey. The service during our evening meal was excellent but we did not expect anything else and the food matched it! As others have said it is an excellent base to explore both the town and surrounding area. We hope to have more than 2 nights here very soon.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 2, 4 and 5. We recommend all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We travel to the Cotswolds quite often always stopping, during our visits to various places, at the Stow Lodge Hotel for Sunday lunch. Well seen this is a family run hotel. The staff remember us are always pleased to see us and make us feel most welcome. The food is beautifully presented, there is certainly plenty of it and delicious. Take coffee in the comfortable lounge after with its log fire and comfy sofas.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

The Cotswolds is such a pretty place and this hotel fits in beautifully. Situated in the town square you barely have to walk a few yards before coming across the delightful little shops and tea rooms. With a wonderful log fire and very friendly staff and great food we will be back for more next year.
Our room was generous and overlooked the church. The only downside were the church bells that ring every quarter of an hour. This was solved by closing the window and secondary glazing which cut the noise out completely. I now know why there was a fan in the wardrobe as in hot weather you would need it.
All in all a perfect place to relax and recharge your batteries.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
301 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,332 reviews
4.2 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £89 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing