We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We have been using this hotel for 28 years and have always been completely satisfied with our stays. If u want modern and boutique hotels stay away! It is olde worlde cosy and comfortable. Spotlessly clean. Ee stayed in a room in the coach house it was lovely. The bathrooms were clean and have been updated since our last visit . The food was lovely freshly cooked nicely presented english food. Theres only one place for us to stay when visiting Stow and thats Stow Lodge!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    66
    6
    12
    7
See reviews for
41
191
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We always prefer to stay in privately owned hotels as you nearly always get better personal service. This was definitely the case here. We booked for B/B and Evening Dinner and it certainly surpassed our expectations. We could not fault the food. It was so nice to be served individually even for breakfast rather than buffet style which many of the chains of hotels provide. The hotel has great character and warmth. It was just the place to go with its welcoming log fires. A sign of a good hotel is retaining its staff. Many of the staff here had worked for the owner's for many years and spoke highly of them. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We stayed in a four poster bedded room. It was extremely comfortable. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelfiends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tri-Cities, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

I had booked this hotel with such high expectations...maybe that was my fault. I liked the idea of it being a former rectory, a historical building and gardens. It seemed so charming on paper, and from the outside it was. But it is a bit-run down and shows it age and not in a good historical sense either. It might seem trivial,but our bed was too soft...I mean like marshmallow soft. But they did have large fluffy towels. I think they cater to an older clientele (and we are in our 50's and were the youngest ones there by decades). When we asked for restaurant recommendations (after being told that their restaurant was full that evening) we were told that they couldn't recommend any place else in Stow on the Wold. They could tell us other restaurant names, but they all had mixed reviews from other guests. We did eat in their restaurant another night of our 3 night stay. And the food was good. I had the chicken curry and my husband had the haddock. I think our interaction with the staff just seemed so impersonal, that it affected our stay. I think we will look for another village in the Cotswold to stay in next time.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 23louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed at Stow Lodge for 4 days from 1st of March. The weather was chilly but the welcome from the staff, the log fires in the lounge and the bar and the general ambiance and charm of the hotel certainly warmed us up.
We were in room 5 and our friends were in room 2. Both rooms, although slightly different in design were clean comfortable and the radiators were very effective. The bed was traditionally made with sheets and blankets but a duvet is available on request if that is your preference. We both can attest to the comfort of the bed and I personally slept all night, a luxury I rarely enjoy in my own bed. The bathroom and toilet were clean and the shower was good and maintained a constant temperature.
We ate in both the restaurant and bar and easily found dishes to our liking. Breakfast was good.
All of the staff we came into contact with polite and keen to help. We only found out two of their names, Jonathan and Debbie but all were excellent.
Overall we had very enjoyable time. The location and hotel have an "olde worlde" charm that provided for a relaxing break and I have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pejay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Lovely Hotel with character located right in centre of town with ample car parking. Our room in the stable block had all the necessaries, including a hair dryer and tea and coffed making facilites, it was compact but comfortable and very clean. Longer stays (we booked for 2 nights) are allocated rooms in the main house. Staff very friendly, breakfast plenty of choice and happy to take bespoke orders. Dinner excellent and good value considering the quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Had a meal here and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and cost. Robert, the bar man on duty at the time of our visit was very pleasant and courteous when serving our drinks and food, would definitley recommend anyone to come here for a home cooked dinner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazduck_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Firstly i would like to thank everyone at Stow Lodge for making our stay so lovely . my husband and myself have been visitors at this lovely hotel for the past 20 years . We try and visit 3 to 5 times each year .Its like home from home
The staff are so friendly ,Nothing is too much trouble .
The rooms are warm , Clean ,The beds are so comfatable .We stayed in room 16 this time , its quite small ,but has loads of charm .
The Breakfasts are fit for a king , and set you up for the day .
We love sitting in the lounge ,with a glass of wine , around the log fire .
I cant wait for our next visit
Julie and Peter Masterson , Nottingham .
I would recomend this family run hotel ,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Property: Stow Lodge Hotel
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing