We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class & Friendly”
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First Class & Friendly”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stayed here many times. Always very friendly staff, and helpful with luggage and special celebrations as Birthdays etc.
Whole place is spotless and clean, rooms very comfortable and well kept
Do try rooms in the Coachouse....superb!
Food great and special diets no problem
Thoroughly recommend for a great break in a quintessential Cotswold Town

Room Tip: Try the Coachouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    69
    6
    12
    8
See reviews for
41
196
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have stayed at the Stow Lodge on numerous occasions......and eaten in the restaurant even more and can honestly say it is superb in every aspect. The staff are courteous, respectful and will do anything for you. Rooms & Food are excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

We normally stay there during the Cheltenham Race weeks.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJHall56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton,middlesex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have been visiting this lovely family run hotel for 15 years, best hotel in Stow.Lovely gardens, staff are great, nothing is too much trouble, food is fantastic and beautifully presented with an extensive wine list.Excellent value for money, the rooms are of a very high standard and housekeeping is really good, the towels are particularly soft!A real cosy retreat which we will always return to and recommend to friends and acquaintances.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the gardens and the square, they also have some rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaguar10-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay on a DB&B basis. Stayed in room 25i in coachousethe annexe. Our first stay here.
Firstly the location, excellent right in the heart of this typical Cotwolds town. Easy parking. Simply walk down the drive of the hotel and you enter the main town square. Also it's a great location from to which to explore the many nearby towns and villages.
Now the hotel itself, very clean throughout. Extremely helpful, polite and friendly staff, reception, restaurant and domestic staff were a credit to themselves and the hotel.
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. Evening meals a dinner were even better, excellent quality food, prepared and presented very well indeed.
We found room 25 nicely spacious, very clean with every facility you would expect to find, including a room fan, to help with the warm weather we enjoyed.
Finally you will have read a number of reviews here concerning the nearby church bells chiming every 15 minutes. Well yes they do,and you can hear them but unless you are a very light sleeper, they just ARE NOT a problem, in fact they are very pleasant. (a visit to the church itself is well with it, wonderful stained glass windows).
Bottom line an excellent hotel, in an excellent location, with excellent staff.
It was our first visit, but we will return, as clearly from our experiences during our stay any of the hotel guests do.



Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pete2257England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stow on the wold is a very pretty town and a great base to explore the Cotswolds. The Stow Lodge Hotel is well located in the towns main square. The hotel has a great ambience with loads of old world charm. The staff were very friendly and service was good. The room was comfortable however, as other reviewers have mentioned, the church bells can be a little disturbing and the main road near the annexe is busy. Only dined in the restaurant for breakfast which was OK. The only complaint was that we did not have wifi in our room. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KMcL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This was our sixth visit to this hotel and it is still one of our favourites. The location in Stow is ideal for a wander around the village and yet has a wonderful secluded garden to relax in and enjoy lunch or a drink (or two). The rooms are very comfortable, we had room number 4 at the front of the hotel overlooking the garden. The restaurant is excellent with breakfast served to you rather than buffet style. Evening meals are excellent with the menu changed every day, portions are generous and there is a comprehensive wine list at very reasonable prices. Staff are very friendly and obliging and always willing to help. Highly recommended and will definitely be visiting again when we can fit another visit in between cruises!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambrian31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Stow Lodge Hotel was absolutely everything you would expect from a traditional historic lodge. We booked at the last minute so were not in the main lodge, but in what was probably once the stable or servants quarters--and yet our room was absolutely charming, conveniently situated across the drive from the main lodge. It was a bit like being transported back in time, or starring in your own historic British drama. We enjoyed cocktails on the large lawn, surrounded by gardens, and had a lovely very traditional English dinner in the formal dining room, followed by sherry in the parlor. I was glad that we had packed some dressier clothes, because people did "dress" for dinner here and, surprisingly, most of the men also wore jackets to breakfast. It feels like you are in the middle of nowhere, and yet the charming town is just down the lane. We felt a little like we had been cast in Downton Abbey--it was just that perfect.

Room Tip: Some of the other reviews mentioned being bothered by the church bells--since we were on the far sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Property: Stow Lodge Hotel
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing