We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“julie & simon charming place to stay”
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“julie & simon charming place to stay”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

had two nights at lodge in a first class room very clean bathroom lovely size brilliant shower easy to use loads of hot water big fluffy towels well positions right in the square lovely staff are great nothing was to much trouble for them we are returning some time in the near future

Room Tip: try for room on first floor best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    74
    8
    13
    8
See reviews for
45
205
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We spent one night in the Stow Lodge Hotel and it was delightful. We were in the separate building (the Coach Building, maybe?) and it was perfect. The room was large enough, the bathroom big and spotless, with a great shower. The room had lots of storage - could have stayed longer - and even a vanity for makeup!

We ate a delicious breakfast in the very English dining room. Great service, very nice staff. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We were upstairs in the separate building - quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

After ten days of cycling, 3 hectic days in London - the Stow Lodge was just what we needed. We wanted a well-positioned location to explore the Cotswolds - but also a quiet place to just enjoy! We found it all. We were able to take lovely day walks with wonderful directions and a loaned trail book from Chris, find other nearby Wool Churches with the help of Shirley - and to sit and enjoy a cider or beer in the warm cozy living room with a fire and other guests.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main lodge which we chose or the carriage house. We were over the kitchen, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevfromcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby OH
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Absolutely beautiful. Bed was comfortable, plenty of hot water. Small bathroom but usual for Europe. The Lodge is just gorgeous--both common and private rooms. Only complaint was that I could smell the cooking from restaurant in my room (and it wasn't all that agreeable). Staff (especially Shirley) was very helpful. Everyone was polite, friendly, nice. Left a birthday card for my husband in room--nice touch. Bar meal (lasagna) was one of the best. Had dinner in the main dining room as well and it was good. Breakfast that is included in price is substantial as is usual in UK. The town itself is cute and lots of good antique stores. The Queens Head pub next door was great for lunch--best bangers & mash I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyWilloughbyOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, NC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I, and another couple, stayed for six nights at the Stow Lodge in September. The accommodation is somewhat of a cross between a hotel and a B&B. It is basically a small hotel that provides a fantastic cook-to-order breakfast, and has a nice restaurant also available for dinner. We had dinner in the bar one night and in the restaurant on another. I would classify the food as good to very good. There can be a rush of reservations and orders in the 7:00 range. Either get there early, pick a later dinner time, or be prepared to wait.

We had rooms 23 and 25 in the upstairs of the coach house. Both had large king beds, adequate space for storage, two easy chairs, and a quite large bathroom. While the rooms themselves look somewhat dated, they are comfortable and functional. There is no lift to the second floor, just steps. Noise was not a problem at all. A major roadway is on the backside of the coach house and some reviewers have complained about the noise. During the warm season with the windows open, I can understand how this could be a problem. The bathroom is on the backside of the building and uses a double set of windows (inner and outer). By closing both, road noise is not an issue. Also, by using the provided fan for “white noise” we couldn’t hear anything. We did leave a front window open for fresh air. Even with this, we would have try to hear the church bells ring if we wanted.

The building and grounds are really something to see and enjoy, as is the neighboring ancient church and its grounds. Staying in Stow-on-the-Wold is a great central location for visiting the Cotswolds.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was never an inconvenience for them to get ice, arrange for laundry, or make a recommendation for another restaurant in town. While there was a rack with advertising pamphlets for area attractions, we were a little surprised at the lack of knowledge by many staff members to help tourists (such as “Where can I go to see thatched houses?”) However, all were eager to help (some even did research on the internet to get an answer to a question).

Our group was in their mid-50s to mid-60s. Maybe it was the time of the year, but we were by far the youngsters of those lodging. There was not a lot of late-night partying going on resulting in a pretty quiet place.

Also, the water controls for the tub/shower were unlike anything that we had ever seen. You may want to ask the staff for instructions on operation to prevent someone taking a cold shower. (Once we figured out how to operate the controls, my wife and I both had more than enough hot water.)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hi4head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Having read the review of this hotel posted in October 21, 2012 I should have heeded the warning about Hertz. Like the couple from South Carolina, our Hertz rental car had a flat tire shortly after we picked it up. We spent 2 hours waiting on the road for Hertz but they only put on the spare "donut" tire from the boot instead or replacing it with a regular tire. Consequently we arrived too late for the dining room but the hotel graciously accommodated us in the bar. We had purchased full coverage from Hertz so we called again only to be incorrectly told that full coverage did not cover tire issues. Eventually, Hertz agreed that we were covered but we spent most of the day awaiting the repair vehicle. They replaced the "donut" with a standard tire but when I got the Hertz bill on our credit card, I discovered that Hertz had added substantial charges for this as well as other bogus charges, thereby more than tripling the originally contracted amount. We disputed the charges and they were eventually removed.

The hotel commented that they were familiar with similar issues with Hertz.

The hotel was charming and the grounds were spacious. The location could not be beat. I appreciated the help they rendered in providing information to make our brief stay in the Cotswolds memorable. I especially enjoyed feeling young again because although I am 71 years old, I was one of the younger people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Stow Lodge is in a wonderful location and has a beautiful exterior. The rooms however are dated (1970s??) and need some upgrading. Our original room was advertised with a "king" bed- the bed was much smaller and very soft. The room too was very small. One of us has a bad back so we asked for another room. The staff were accommodating on switching rooms. When we return to Stow-on-the-Wold we will look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shenandoah32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.1 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
212 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,415 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,189 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Property: Stow Lodge Hotel
Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing