We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
262
87
12
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
262
87
12
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresidents loungechurch bellsthis family run hotelcoach housecomfortable leathertown squarereal firelog firefour posterno liftan excellent hotellovely groundsthe main squareolde worldeold world charmtwo nightsthe main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2009

It''s so nice to stay in a hotel where the staff are very friendly, service is great and they all look like they enjoy working there.
It's in a great location in the town centre with excellent parking.
Rooms are very clean and spacious, but have a cosy feel.
Lovely open fire with nice comfy sofas.
we also found it great value for money

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amelia640xford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Stow Lodge Hotel for a week in late May 2008. Situated by the village square and the churchyard, the hotel used to be a building occupied by nuns. It is pleasantly "Old World" and was well run. Our bedroom was clean and fresh, looking out over the churchyard. The chiming of the clock wasn't a problem. Food was excellent; too much, if anything. Certainly, the puddings are not recommended for those with a weight problem. The staff were very helpful and friendly and they made our stay very comfortable. The large residents' lounge, which had a fire in it most evenings, enabled the guests to have long chin-wags until late into the evening. The garden, which is tended by one of the owners, is large and well maintained, excellent for sitting in the sun drinking tea or something stronger. The garden opens out onto the village square. Stow on the Wold is a most pleasant centre, with lots of antique shops. Car parking is in a secure walled car park.

The hotel is a very good centre for exploring the Cotswolds, with all the normal tourist locations being within easy reach. Particularly recommended are the mechanical music museum at Northleach and the church at Fairford. That church has the unly surviving set of late medieval glass in the country and it is well worth a visit. The tourist shops in the villages surrounding Stow sell the sort of tat which comes by the container load from China, but they can be ignored. There are lots of antique shops at Morton in the Marsh, at Chipping Campden and at Broadway. There is a decent antiques centre outside Chipping Norton. Hidcote gardens are good. Sudeley castle was disappointing, with none of the main castle being open to visitors on the day we went there. There are excellent National Trust properties in the area, partcularly Upton House.

In summary, we recommend the hotel as a base for a comfortable stay while exploring the Cotswolds. We will return to it.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank Michael K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

This was a lovely place; we came for a little walking and family time before heading to London on business, just the 3 of us (husband, self and 8-year-old son). This lodge is absolutely charming, the grounds perfectly groomed and inviting. The breakfast was the best we had in England, the staff was very friendly and the town had lots for us to enjoy (the walking was excellent). We stayed in the upstairs adjoining rooms (the stairs are steep--you wouldn’t want to have a small child on them). The rooms were very sweetly decorated, nice and clean (reminded me of my grandmother) and the bathtub ended up being a lifesaver. The church bells were not a problem for any of us, and I’m not a heavy sleeper.

Our son got very sick while we were in Stow (a bad prawn eaten in town), but the folks at Stow Lodge were very kind to us (gave good advice on pharmacy assistance) and found us a taxi to Chipping Campden. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magpie-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

My husband and I spent one night at this property. Our room was in the upstairs of the carriage house, with a window that faced the main building and the town square. We immediately noticed a lot of traffic noise and, upon investigation, found a main road runs behind the carriage house. We did hear the church bell which other reviewers speak of, but it was not nearly as troublesome as the noise from the vehicles whizzing by all night. We did sleep with the window open because it was quite a warm night (no air conditioning.)

The exterior of the property is lovely, with beautiful gardens and charming architecture. The driveway opens onto the village square, which is very picturesque. Our room was small but adequate, with a larger bath than some of the other inns we have visited. The bed was rather soft and the spread was too large for the bed. The room was reasonably clean. Overall, the room seemed a little tired.

The main building houses both a restaurant and a lounge. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and found it to be very good. The lounge was lovely--a fire was burning and we found it a great place to read the paper and have a quiet drink.

We would probably stay here again, but would request a room in the main building or on the ground floor of the carriage house where the shrubs might screen the noise a little better.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miguelado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2007

Returned to Stow Lodge with my parents who have been visiting the hotel for over 25 years. Very clean comfortable rooms; fluffy white towels which always make a difference ! The food was good and I can definately recommend the roasted parsnips. I particularly enjoyed our coffee served in the lounge where a log fire seemed to be continuously burning, The staff were the friendliest that I have encountered in any hotel and went out of the their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bets56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews