We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made to feel at home”
Review of Stow Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stow Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Unfortunately I cannot give this the excellent I would like to as we didn't get the best two nights sleep. I'm afraid that the bed just wasn't comfortable enough and I did suffer a little from back ache. This is of course a personal opinion and many people might love the extremely soft mattress. The other issue was with it being room 7 at the rear of the hotel it overlooked the churchyard. In itself this isn't a problem but the bells are. I'm afraid we did hear most of the chimes through the night.
I have dwelt quite a bit on this as I do feel it is important that people are aware of it when booking.
On the plus side; the staff were excellent, friendly, welcoming and always willing to help. The bedroom was clean and spacious and attended to daily. The Bar and restaurant were excellently presented and staffed. The lounge was cosy and homely. The location was excellent, niceley hidden away but in the centre.
We were told by different locals without prompting that the food at the hotel was excellent and rather than eat out we stayed and ate in both nights and weren't dissapointed. The only downside was the price of the wines which I felt were a little excessive compared to the reasonable meal prices.
All told I would certainly recommend others to try the hotel and we would stay again if in the area albeit in a different room.
If looking to eat out then definitely put the restaurant on your list.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Stow Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2010

Service was very friendly. Location is great, right on the square in Stow. The overall feel of the hotel is warm and comfortable. Grounds are beautiful and carpark is very convenient. Rooms are very dated and very floral, could use some general updating and still keep the old world feel. Mattress and thread-bare bed linens need some attention. We have rooms 17 & 18 up a very steep staircase but they were good about giving us advance warning that this would be the case. It was a great set-up for parents traveling with a teenager. Behind it's own door were both rooms and a shared bath. Restaurant is average for dinner, breakfast was typical English style breakfast. Would return if visiting Stow in the future, would try a different restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karabolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Just returned from a fantastic 4 night break at the Stow Lodge Hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location just off the market square of this beautiful village. It is surrounded by attractive and very well kept gardens and has ample parking space. It is a great base from which to explore the rest of the Costswolds.
Our room was in the coach house annexe- traditionally decorated, very clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant several times both for breakfast and evening meals - there was a wide choice on the menu and the food was delicious. The hotel staff are all absolutely fantastic - with a speciial mention to Antony and Alan who went out of their way too be friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Will not hesitate to return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Routhy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We have just returned from the best ever holiday in the Cotswolds with our friends, the hotel is truly magnificent, the friendly staff and cleanliness of the hotel made our stay very memorable. The food was outstanding and so delicious, we shall be certainly going back for a holiday again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggy22york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We had 3 rooms for 3 nights at the Stow Lodge and couldn't have been more pleased. The hotel, restaurant, bar, and cleaning staffs were all friendly and helpful. We even got to know the gardening lady a bit. Her work makes staying at Stow Lodge like staying in a botanic garden! Just a beautiful place, right on the main square of this perfect Cotswold village.

Before settling on Stow we'd considered staying in Chipping Campden, Broadway, Bourton on the Water, and all the other major Cotswolds towns. I'm so glad we picked Stow. It was much less congested with traffic than the other towns, much easier to move around and just as picturesque.

Clean place, great staff, free wifi, good restaurant, beautiful old building. Absolutely no negatives.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick_Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My husband and I just finished a wonderfu stay at the beautiful Stow Lodge Hotel. It's a very traditional English place, which has been owned by the same family for 40 years. The hotel has a beautiful garden--perfect for enjoying tea or coffee, and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. We had a large room with a king-size bed overlooking the church, so we got wonderful sleep every night. We didn't realize before booking that the hotel has a restaurant and a bar, and the food was very good as well. Highly recommend Stow Lodge if you want a comfortable place to stay with excellent service and good food. The location is also fabulous--right off Market Square--very convenient for touring the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidsonProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

My niece and I had dinner at this hotel's restaurant. They offer a fixed price dinner where you can either have appetizer and entree, or entree and dessert. The food seemed to be traditional English, and isn't that what you want when you are in England. My beef and yorkshire pudding was suberb, and niece reported her entree yummy too. But the icing on the cake was dessert. We were asked if we wanted dessert "on the lawn." Where upon, we found a charming table outside on a well-maintained large lawn. A gentleman came and served dessert. I felt like a princess. It was the perfect end to a day in the Cotswalds. Yes, absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llarsLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow-on-the-Wold
0.2 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
246 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#4 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
4.2 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stow Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stow Lodge Hotel

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range: £107 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stow Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stow Lodge Hotel is situated in its own picturesque grounds overlooking the market square of the historic town of Stow-on-the-Wold. The hotel has been family owned and run for over fifty years and has built up a fine reputation for its friendly hospitality and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Stow Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stow Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold
Stow Hotel On The Wold
Stow Lodge Hotel Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing